We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice laid back resort and island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in St. Croix
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice laid back resort and island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at the Renaissance in St.Croix. Our second floor ocean front room was lovely. The lanai was perfect for watching and listening to the sound of the ocean while reading a good book. Never a problem to get a chair at the beach or pool. In fact for it being spring break we felt like we had the place to ourselves. My daughter loved her beachside massage. Great on-site snorkeling and dive shop. Off the beach snorkeling was great and we even saw a sea turtle. Food and drinks were good. Staff was friendly. Resort could become more upscale with just a few tweaks like bar staff to provide drinks and food directly to you on the beach/pool. Definitely get a car. Nice local restaurants eat@cane and Off the Wall. Head to Christiansted and take a boat cruise to Bucks Island. Really great snorkeling. We went on the Big Beards tour and and did a wonderful job. Christiansted is cute. Nice lunch at Rum Runners. The ocean is beautiful on this island, the people were friendly. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    193
    50
    27
    18
See reviews for
115
310
16
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Kentucky
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

St Croix and the Renaissance are permanently removed from our vacation list. Run-down best describes the island and the hotel. The bloom is off this rose for sure. Beds are rock-hard. Room pricing is probably 4 or 5 times more than it should be. The hotel menu is limited and the food is terrible - consistently over-cooked - and service is strained. This is the first time in 30 years we've vacationed on a tropical island and found no redeeming qualities to bring us back. Prices are as high as you'll find anywhere in the world. Be careful driving around the island - even though all of the vehicles are left-hand drive, they still drive on the left side. As a consequence, driving the narrow, winding, poorly maintained roads is insane. It seems most of the locals live in Housing Authority slums. At gas stations and grocery stores we were frequently approached by crack addicts looking for a handout. Go to St John or Aruba or Barbados.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hello,
I just wanted to let you know that we have read your review and are very disappointed that you had a less than stellar experience. We do appreciate that you took the time to let us know your feelings and experiences. You sound like you would be a good fit for other Renaissance or Marriott properties if you do choose to return to the Caribbean.
You did mention Aruba, there is a fabulous Renaissance property there, centrally located within walking distance to tons of shops and restaurants. Might be more your cup of tea! Anyway, we're sorry we underwhelmed you and do thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience.
Warm regards,
Nancy W.,Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were there for a wedding over Easter and were concerned that it might be an obnoxious time to be there. However, it turned out to be a relaxing stay and was not a noisy place at all except for the screaming, crying three year old in the room across from ours. The room was relaxing and simple----though too simple: our phone didn't work and we only had one lamp and one night stand. But the room had a screened in sleeping porch with a ceiling fan which was heavenly.
Breakfast from the menu was better than the buffet. The drinks in the bar were wonderful. The staff is friendly. Had dinner only one time at the resort and it was good.
I would definitely go back if I really wanted to relax---but I'd ask not to be in the room across from a child!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We just spent a week here over Easter and our stay was no less than fantastic! I know some of you have read some negative reviews, as did we, but we experienced nothing negative on this trip. We traveled with another couple and occupied rooms 266 and 267 that are beachfront at at the end of the resort. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed with safes, refrigerators, and a full kitchen with a microwave. You could stock up at a grocery store and easlily eat in your room the whole week.
We stocked up with rum and snacks and enjoyed the week, while at the same time eating at the hotel and other restaurants around the island.
Be sure to rent a car and be careful driving on the left side of the road. This resort is secluded and a car will open the rest of the island to you. The staff was outstanding and met our every need. From the rum punch at our arrival to our easy check out.
The Pirate Buffet was fun but as some of the reviews have noted, not all of the food choices were outstanding. I had snow crab, shrimp, and Mahi that was very good. Our group of four sampled chicken and beef and found it to be pretty average. Yet the dancers on stilts were impressive and we had a fun time. For a family it may be a bit pricey so decide what is right for you.
The dive shop was outstanding and we rented boogie boards and had fun riding the waves. The wind made it a bit too rough for snorkeling at the hotel. The beach is very nice and we had no issues getting chairs. It was fun to watch for the small crabs running on the beach toward evening. The sounds of the waves could be heard easily from our rooms.
The pool is nice sized and we had fun swimming there. It is not heated, but that did not deter us or others from swimming.
There is a nice gift shop that has a nice variety of sundries, beer and rum, clothing and souveniers. The spa is nice with a very friendly staff. I had a pedicure that was very nice.
Don't leave food out and you will not have any bug issues. It is an island and a bit jungle like. We saw two bugs during our week, but as you know that can happen anywhere.
The grounds are well kept up and clean. The whirlpool was the only disappointing feature as it was small and a bit rough on the sides.
Do not let the negative reviews stop you from going to this resort. We recommend a beachfront room and a car. Room service was very good and the food at the restaurant was good too.

Room Tip: We liked rooms 266 and 267.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We just spent the long Easter weekend at the Renaissance Carambola Beach Resort & Spa in St. Croix where we had a very pleasant stay. As we arrived at the hotel (after quite a long drive from STX, reason for which a car rental is absolutely necessary) we were greeted by their amazingly nice staff (with rum punch and all). I must give a shout-out to Ms. Jacqueline Carr, whose hospitality and good cheer certainly stands out. The hotel grounds are very nice (a bit rough around the edges, immaculateness-wise) and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The resort's beach and pool are both very inviting and rather cozy. Overall, the Renaissance provided a great stay at what seemed to be one of the safe sides of the island.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that there are no elevators on the buildings, therefore if that does not work out for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brønderslev, Danmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Real nice place at the beach at Davis Bay. Some fine trails i the forrest. If you stays several days you need a car if you want to see St. Croix. There are some distance to shops and other restaurants.The rooms are exellent i small bungalows in at park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went there for destination wedding. Perfect setting for a romantic wedding on beautiful beach. Top staff very friendly and pitched in to help with all aspects of resort. However, resort seemed very understaffed. For example, too long of a wait for food in restaurant, limited amount of spoons?, no ice in minifridge, dessert came in ice cream carton.

Wedding reception was great, though.

Rooms and grounds beautiful. But, expected higher quality.

Room Tip: Rooms are a long way from oarking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.