We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural Beauty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 hotels in St. Croix
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Natural Beauty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from 5 nights at the Renaissance and we had an absolutely wonderful stay. I can not say enough good things about this resort. We were on the island primarily because a friend was performing at the Low Life Bar and Refuge in Christiansted, which he co-owns. John Eddie and his band are amazing and the restaurant is great, but that is a different review. As for the hotel, it is peaceful and has a natural beauty that can not be surpassed. If you are looking for a fancy, manicured resort and lots of activity, then this is not the place for you. If you are looking to relax, not have to fight for pool or beach chairs, or deal with the towel lady that goes out at 5 am to save 20 chairs with her room towels, then this is the place for you. There is a lovely pool with comfy loungers and a beach with hammocks and plenty of lounge chairs. The scenary is nothing short of spectacular and the beach with its powdery sand and blue water is amazing. Our beachfront room was just that, literally on the beach. The screened porch was Great. The king bed very comfortable and the shower is huge. Every single employee here is friendly and welcoming. They chatted with us and accomodated our every request. I have never been to a resort with such warmth and charm. Our room was clean and the staff were there every day in the morning to clean and replace toiletries. We recieved a wonderful friut and cheese plate with chocolate covered strawberries our first day, a very nice touch, I am guessing as a gold elite member. Also there was a refrigerator full of water at no charge. The food at the resort was very good in our opinion, and the cost was the same as other resorts. Get a Baily's bananna colada, it is fabulous. The spa is excellent. Now here are some warnings that really have to do with St Croix and not the resort itself. If you stay here and you want to leave the resort, you need a car or have to take a cab. There is nothing nearby. Cabs stop running about 11pm I hear. If you rent a car, beware there are very few steet signs marking the roads, you will need to take note of land marks. Also it is moutainous terrain and driving is on the left. But if you are careful about the left thing, after a day or two you will learn to navigate the island, after all it is small. It is fun actually if you just go with the flow here and not take anything too seriously. We travel a lot and have been to some incredible places, and this one of my favorites. We are planning to return a few time times a year when John Eddie is on island. Looking forward to many more visits to this hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    139
    39
    26
    16
See reviews for
82
231
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort is a beautiful resort. The rooms are gorgeous with comfortable beds, a large bathroom with walk in closet, ceiling fans throughout that eliminate the need for air conditioning, and a screened in porch which was a great place to relax with a morning cup of coffee or an evening cup of tea.

The hotel staff was very friendly. When we checked in, they upgraded us to an ocean front room because we were marriott rewards members and they served us a glass of rum punch.

The hotel is a bit secluded and its a long windy road to Christiansted so if you plan to stay here understand that you will most likely eat all of your meals on the hotel grounds because the roads are not well lit in the evening. The good news is the food is good at all of the hotel's restaurants. One thing I wish I knew about this hotel before checking in was that it has a fully stocked kitchen with a refrigerator, an electric stove, and pots and pans. This provides for a way to save money if you are willing to cook during your vacation.

The beach at carambola is pretty but the water is rougher on this side of the island. There were plenty of hammocks and beach chairs to accommodate the guests. There is also scuba diving that you can do on sight right from the beach.

There is also a hike that begins on the hotel grounds to the tide pools. Its worth spending a morning taking this hike. Its not too vigorous for those in good/average shape.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to friends looking for a romantic or relaxing getaway!

Room Tip: If you can get an ocean view room - Do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Suite was nice with updated bahama decor. Loved the screened in lanai with padded seats with view of the ocean. The pool and beach were very nice. It was quiet and peaceful. It is remote so if you are looking for action, go elsewhere. Food at the restaurant was just okay, overpriced and not much selection. We stocked our refrig and used the microwave daily. Decent sized gift shop with some food staples. Worth it to take a cab ride to EAT or Rowdy Joes (ask for "Hollywood's" van, he was excellent). The Friday PM Pirates buffet was excellent, pricey, but hated to pay the automatic 18% "service charge" when the service that night was horrible. Other times service was very good at the restaurant. WiFi was free and cable TV with a limited selection was a plus. There were 7 of us and we had a nice time.

Room Tip: Look at the hotel chart to choose a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you are from the east coast and hate flying a whole day and back to Hawaii with all the jet lag - think about spending a week at Carambola! This mountainous resort is right next to a private beach that is one of the nicest in the world. If you scuba - people literally walk out of their beds into the ocean and a 1000 feet drop off.

Beautiful views, right on the water, the rooms have a tree house feel, especially the second floor ones, with screened in porches. I started each morning with coffee in my room and read a book on the porch for over an hour listening to the surf and birds. It is very quiet here! The food is fabulous, we had 10 meals there and every one was good, especially the freshly caught fish.

Here is the downer - it is far from anywhere - you do need a car or catch a taxi around the island. There are two towns both 30 + minutes away. There is nothing to do there except for Friday night - which was a fantastic buffet and entertainment by stilt dancers called "maco jumbies" - really a big deal. It's a little different luau in the Caribbean....but if you want to rest and get disconnected from the internet and cell phones AND get there in a few hours.....go to Carambola!

It's the Caribbean - so relax - get on "island-time - sit by the pool - have a rum punch - scuba - dance- eat - drink and be happy, happy, happy :-)

Room Tip: The check-in is a bit formal so just tell them what you would like - maybe call before hand - make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We absolutely LOVED it here! This hotel is so nice and secluded and the perfect location to get away from it all. We stayed in room 206 (it was booked as a garden view suite) but to our surprise we could stare right out at the ocean from our giant comfy bed! Our 15 yr old daughter decided to sleep out on the padded benches on the screened in porch and listen to the ocean waves each night. (The maid even put sheets on her bench along with her pillows and blankets). The mahogany vaulted ceilings in the room are stunning! (We were on the second floor). There are small ants the size of pepper flakes that will get into the room if you leave food out...but they were not really a nuisance and I would rather have them than the smell of big spray. We also saw a couple beetles get in during our 7 night stay...but they didn't bother us. The place is surrounded by the Forrest and trees...so bugs would be almost impossible to avoid. If you love nature and privacy and peace and quiet, this place is for you! There were many days we were the only people on the beach. The snorkeling is great and there are many fish just within a few feet of shore.

Some things to know: food in St.Croix is way more expensive than other islands...we were really surprised by this. Almost every meal cost us at least $50 for the 3 of us....minimum. BUY GROCERIES and use the frig and microwave. Make sure to rent a car! There is literally nothing near the resort and you will want to drive around and explore. We were so glad we rented a jeep/listened to others reviews.
If you hike the trail to the tide pools DO NOT go right when you are in the grassland area or you will end up on a very dangerous hill (like we did). This trail is not for the faint of heart...so make sure you bring water, snacks, and are in good health.

We will absolutely stay at this hotel again and possibly even in the same room. It was the perfect place to relax and have some fun. (We dove with sweet bottom which was very good, road horses with cowboy Steve, and ate at wonderful places like eat@cane bay and Ace Roti shop.

Price for 7 nights with air from Louisville, KY for 3 people was $3,400 through Travelocity. Booked a jeep through Olympic for the week for $365

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

First, this hotel is literally at the end of the road. A long road that puts you squarely in the middle of no where. And what's here in no where is not at all that nice. In many ways this place reminds me of an out of the way military base camp. Our room in particular, and the others we've seen are just tired and worn out. All the buildings are. The food is just plastic, barely edible and terribly overpriced school cafeteria slop. One surprise...we didn't need a key to open our door! The doors were so poorly fit it just opened and closed all by itself. On check in you're met with a barely-caring receptionist while the bell boy (such as he was) offers a disgusting rum something like punch...clearly just poured some gunk from a jug. You're handed a poorly xeroxed copy of instructions for your fabulous stay at this dump....the entire presentation is like a real bad roadside hotel motel. stay away

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful hotel property. Clean well maintaned grounds. Jacuzzi was under repair at pool area. Never saw anyone working on it. The resturant needs a hostess. most people wait to be seated until a wait staff says help yourself to a seat. Ate breakfast twice there. Nothing impressive! The bar resturant had a decent menu only had apps here. A little pricey!!! The hotel has a Hawaian feel as it is islotated by mountains and beachfront. My room was set back from the beach. Would have enjoyed a room closer to beach to listen to the waves crash a night. Used points for a 7 night stay. Front desk was no help with upgrades. Went to relax and enjoy the quietness of the beach. Rejuvent the body after 5 months of chemotherapy. No sympathy upgrade either. Most vacationers I spoke with at hotel got and Upgrade of sorts. Our room was dark only one screened in wall in porch area. Saw a few other rooms which had the whole area open with screens. More light. There is not much around the area of Carambola. We had a car, was easy to navigte around the island. Hike to jacks bay for a snorkel. its beauiful. Head to the west side. Do not miss SANDY BEACH it is the most amazing beach I have been to and I travel alot. Go to Sandcastle resturant Frederiksted sit on the beach rent a chair and umbella from BRUNO (Boston native). Ask him anything about what to do on the island he'll give you the low down and even take you on a tour if you cant do it alone. watch him build a sand castle and have a cocktail from the bar. Scotts the Bartender. Good place to see sea turtles and snorkel. Don't miss Turtle's Deli. Big sandwiches fresh bread. Then is Christiansted the is Kim's, Brady's great local fish, chicken. Best meals and inexpensive. Rowdey's has the Best homeade Ice cream and dinner is great also. Jaccar for sorbets and smothies,organic, they use many of the fruits on the island which have medical benefits. The owners are the friendliest people. The island was quiet and most of time we had the beaches all to ourselves.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with all the porch walls screened in for more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands
Address: PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.