We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Relaxing, Isolated...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in St. Croix
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Relaxing, Isolated...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for 7 days. We try to make the trip to St Croix every year, but this was our first stay at Carambola. Thanks to Marriott Rewards, I used my points for 5 of those nights. I had worked all year saving up points to make this trip to this resort. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised that we had been upgraded to ocean front upon arrival and were whisked off in a golf cart to building 26, the furthest west from the rest of the resort. While awesome, newly remodeled with a kitchen, granite, cabinets and fixtures, and with the best sandy beach in front of our suite, we had some technical difficulties inside the room. The telephone never worked our entire stay. This made it very difficult. With two kids and a business at home, we needed to be reachable. No cell service on this part of St Croix, and we made 9 complaints to the front desk about the phone, in person, because we couldn't even dial the front desk, room service, receive calls, etc. The front desk was accommodating when we needed to take/make calls in the lobby, but long hikes to retrieve phone calls or messages got tiresome. Apparently the "IT guy" had to fix the problem, who was only there for certain hours on certain days. It was still not working when we left. Also, we understand that water and electricity are at a premium on the island, but Carambola generates its own water and electricity. We found that if we used both stove burners at the same time, we overburdened the circuits and the entire suite would lose power. The blow dryer also flipped the circuits. We adjusted by learning how to do everything we needed to in just one pan.
Pros: location, suite outfit, awesome Marriott bedding, the dive shop. The free "Discover Scuba" class and dive was amazing, and they are top-notch instructors. Ask for Mel. The food was average.
Cons: location if you don't have a car, and it's pretty isolated if you're into day trips discovering the island, making long drives back on dark roads a little scary. The hike to the centralized parking lot got tiresome but the front desk would arrange a golf cart ride to your suite if you asked. We could never call for one due to our non-functioning phone. The only thing "pirate" about the friday night "Pirate Buffet" was the price, and a single jolly roger flag.
Service: I've come to expect amazing service from Marriott's, especially as a Gold member, but the staff here, while pleasant, seemed distracted and less than attentive, with some exceptions. Room was cleaned daily and adequately.
Overall it was a great vacation, despite the phone & electricity issues. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    176
    47
    27
    17
See reviews for
109
290
15
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is one of those hotels where you go to relax, spend time with family or friends and to enjoy the beautiful water of St Croix. It is scenic and relaxed. It is isolated, and that is the charm. I stayed here two separate times in the period of two weeks... once in a beautiful waterfront room (21) and once in an "ordinary" room (187). Both rooms have great bathrooms, kitchens or mini-kitchens and very comfortable beds. Both rooms have screened in porch rooms with cushioned benches... but oh my goodness, the "regular room" seemed like a dark cave of disappointment after staying in the waterfront room. Splurge for the waterfront room and fall asleep with the sound of the waves filtering in through your mahogany shutters via your screened porch. Nap on your screened porch almost like being on the beach! My waterfront room had two flat screen tvs... but no cell service as it was tucked into the far end of the resort, something I LOVED!

The food at the resort was good, though I found the breakfast buffet a huge disappointment... I would not return to the buffet, but order off the menu. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. I had no trouble getting a taxi when I went to town or to UVI or the airport, so the isolation did not bother me in the least.

Overall, a great escape... go for the waterfront rooms!

Room Tip: Choose the waterfront rooms in the "small numbers"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The resort was great. We had a mini family reunion here with brothers, sisters and their children. I was the perfect place to sleep a bit later than usual and then relax and play by the pool. The food and drink service pool side were excellent and the staff was very friendly.

The breakfast outside looking at the ocean each morning was an incredible experience. Overall great place, friendly and helpful staff make this a resort we would definitely go back to in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have visited this hotel for many years and through many different owners. The Marriott affiliation has only enhanced our vacation experience. We use to say this was a 3 star hotel with a 5 star location but now it is at least 4 stars and climbing. You definitely don't want to come to this hotel if you are looking for nightlife or excitement. The Friday night pirates buffet is about as exciting as it gets but the stunning views in every direction are more than worth it to us. Most of the suites have been updated with marble floors, granite counters, flat panel tv's and a small kitchen.

We try to spend between some time every afternoon on our screen porch (every unit has one), overlooking the coastline with the waves crashing right under us, and read while enjoying a glass of wine. No computer no phone!

They still have a few things to work on such as the consistency of the food (much better than it use to be), and they definitely need a activity person to help the guests find what is available in the area to do. There are several good restaurants close by, buy you do need to take a cab or rent a car. They do drive on the left. If you like golf, the Carambola Golf Club (not affiliated with the hotel), is just over the mountain is one of our favorite courses although it is pretty difficult for those of us that have a problem hitting over water.

.

Room Tip: Opt for a second floor room (threee in each building) with soaring ceilings for that West Indies fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

The resort is lovely. I went for business and I must say the staff service was mixed. The gentleman who drove the golf carts Ronan I think his name was so young with customer service beyond his years yet the front desk was below average. The restaurant staff was amazing and the food delicious. I like the setting of the rooms and the view is so welcoming and relaxing. I would definitely recommend. You do need to rent a car as there is nothing close by and the taxi can be very costly . I also used the conference room which was great and again the staff was very accommodating. Thinking back I did not notice any children there but the rooms have a suite setting and kitchen amenities so I believe they welcome families.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

the hotel, grounds and beach are perfect. If what you are looking for is quiet and relaxing, this is the right place. The downside is that you need a car. There is shuttle to Christianstead, but the last one back is 5:30, so you can't stay in town for dinner unless you taxi back. The hotel needs a more attentive manager to look out after problems which need to be repaired: seat cushions, beach chairs. The decor in the spacious room is monastic, but the views are beautiful. The brochure states there are four restaurants, but they are only open one at a time. The food is pricey and just adequate.

Room Tip: try for building 16. it is nearest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay in Carambola Beach Resort. Travel was in mid-January 2013.
The accommodations were fantastic and the service was wonderful. I found the staff to be very pleasant and overall were on top of things. No complaints about the service.

Pros:
The resort is secluded - one road in, one road out, no neighboring resorts
Scenery - beautiful beach, very dramatic forest/hills to the west
Pirate Buffet on fridays - Mocko Jambie dancers were quite impressive and the DJ/dancing was a lot of fun, also nice to see some local families come out (in droves) to the buffet. The food was...meh... but it's a buffet, what do you expect?
The room - our condo/room was very nicely maintained and included a comfortable king bed, marble kitchen/bath and a small kitchen with a full size fridge. More than enough space/equipment to cook a full meal (although we used it mainly for cooking breakfast). The room was quiet and had a wonderful screened in porch to enjoy the ocean sounds and breezes. It was cleaned every day while we were out at the beach, etc

Cons -
Secluded - just a heads up: rent a car if you stay here (stay Left when driving, mon!), it is not walking distance to anything really, but we were very pleased to be "away from it all" and found it pretty straightforward to get around on the island (although the signage is somewhat lacking)
Rocky beach - yes, the east side of the beach is quite rocky and you won't want to swim there. No biggie, just head to the western side and it has a great area for taking a dip

I would say the food and drinks were just so-so at the Flamboyant Bar and Grill and the room had a couple of bugs in the shower when we arrived (which were subsequently exterminated and did not return - what the heck, it's a jungle!). Really, I would give this place 5 stars (or circles) if the food and cocktails were better and the room was bug-free when we arrived. That is very nit-picky and I would certainly stay here again! We loved it and would recommend it without hesitation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.