We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the business traveller.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off in Paradise
Ranked #3 of 18 hotels in St. Croix
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location for the business traveller.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

The resort is lovely. I went for business and I must say the staff service was mixed. The gentleman who drove the golf carts Ronan I think his name was so young with customer service beyond his years yet the front desk was below average. The restaurant staff was amazing and the food delicious. I like the setting of the rooms and the view is so welcoming and relaxing. I would definitely recommend. You do need to rent a car as there is nothing close by and the taxi can be very costly . I also used the conference room which was great and again the staff was very accommodating. Thinking back I did not notice any children there but the rooms have a suite setting and kitchen amenities so I believe they welcome families.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    160
    43
    27
    17
See reviews for
102
266
13
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

the hotel, grounds and beach are perfect. If what you are looking for is quiet and relaxing, this is the right place. The downside is that you need a car. There is shuttle to Christianstead, but the last one back is 5:30, so you can't stay in town for dinner unless you taxi back. The hotel needs a more attentive manager to look out after problems which need to be repaired: seat cushions, beach chairs. The decor in the spacious room is monastic, but the views are beautiful. The brochure states there are four restaurants, but they are only open one at a time. The food is pricey and just adequate.

Room Tip: try for building 16. it is nearest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay in Carambola Beach Resort. Travel was in mid-January 2013.
The accommodations were fantastic and the service was wonderful. I found the staff to be very pleasant and overall were on top of things. No complaints about the service.

Pros:
The resort is secluded - one road in, one road out, no neighboring resorts
Scenery - beautiful beach, very dramatic forest/hills to the west
Pirate Buffet on fridays - Mocko Jambie dancers were quite impressive and the DJ/dancing was a lot of fun, also nice to see some local families come out (in droves) to the buffet. The food was...meh... but it's a buffet, what do you expect?
The room - our condo/room was very nicely maintained and included a comfortable king bed, marble kitchen/bath and a small kitchen with a full size fridge. More than enough space/equipment to cook a full meal (although we used it mainly for cooking breakfast). The room was quiet and had a wonderful screened in porch to enjoy the ocean sounds and breezes. It was cleaned every day while we were out at the beach, etc

Cons -
Secluded - just a heads up: rent a car if you stay here (stay Left when driving, mon!), it is not walking distance to anything really, but we were very pleased to be "away from it all" and found it pretty straightforward to get around on the island (although the signage is somewhat lacking)
Rocky beach - yes, the east side of the beach is quite rocky and you won't want to swim there. No biggie, just head to the western side and it has a great area for taking a dip

I would say the food and drinks were just so-so at the Flamboyant Bar and Grill and the room had a couple of bugs in the shower when we arrived (which were subsequently exterminated and did not return - what the heck, it's a jungle!). Really, I would give this place 5 stars (or circles) if the food and cocktails were better and the room was bug-free when we arrived. That is very nit-picky and I would certainly stay here again! We loved it and would recommend it without hesitation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We've been to STX and to Carambola many times in the past but not in the past 5 years. This is just a great spot in the universe. Davis Bay is a fantastic beach, the north shore is a place to relax and STX is clean, easy and fun. It's important that you check your stress at the door (it's the islands and everyone vibes to a relaxed beat). The rooms are recently revamped and they work well. We had a unit with a mini fridge, sink, microwave and screen porch. The room was clean and worked perfectly. Staff was friendly (especially if you extend them some friendliness too). Northshore makes eating easy with the Waves, EAT and Rowdy Joes all easy drives and great sunsets at Off The Wall a moment away as well. Check out Sandy Point for a great private beach experience and don't miss the RTJ golf course at Carambola as well (really nice pro).

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of the property nearer to the water treatment plant on the mountain will hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Carambola. We especially enjoyed the onsite Sweet Bottom Dive Center and spa. The secluded location and beach were a nice getaway. The grounds were attractive. The price was reasonable compared to comparable Caribbean resorts (e.g., Curacao and San Juan Marriott resorts) . Our room was attractive and had a nice view of the ocean through the plantation shutters. It wasn't perfection, but I'd still give it a high rating relative to other resorts.

The grounds are nicely laid out, with easy access to everything from the beach, spa, and scuba. Everything was clean and the grounds workers quickly attended to any trash that was left behind. We didn't see any of the signs of construction, as suggested in other reviews. Overall, it didn't feel big or disjointed. Just right.

My wife enjoyed her Swedish massage and I enjoyed my deep tissue massage.

As my review and the other reviews point out, the onsite Sweet Bottom Dive Center is fantastic. Though they are not technically part of the resort, they reflect very well on the resort.

It's off the beaten path, but close to Cane Bay where you can get some good meals. Once you get the hang of driving there (left-side driving, potholes, and many unmarked intersections), Christiansted and Frederiksted are doable in about 30 minutes if you're looking to get into town.

We had a kitchenette, which enabled us to skip breakfast. The dining is the weak spot of this resort. We missed out on the "famed" Sunday brunch because the brochures did not indicate that it ended at 12:30--we arrived at 12:40, thinking that if it opened at 11:00, it'd stay open a little later than that (and I think a brochure suggested it was open until 3). The food sounds fancy (truffles and sweet breads). Sometimes it was good; sometimes it was so-so. The service was usually abrupt and we were never asked if we wanted desserts, being handed the check without being asked if we were done. At least the drinks were generally quite good.

Everyone working at the resort was very friendly capable, with the exception of the previously mentioned dining staff.

There was a bit of a noise issue with some drunk people and kids who slammed the door to their room.

The two issues were not major ones for us. Hopefully management can resolve them. We very much enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I had a beautiful beachside wedding with 35 people on this property. It would have been perfect except that the property wedding coordinator accidentally booked another wedding in the same exact spot on the beach!!! Thank goodness for the property manager who ended up providing us complimentary food and drinks during the Friday buffet dinner (with entertainment) we had at the property later that week. Besides it was only a 45 minute delay...just enough for pictures. Service is slow...so beware with larger parties

Please note that you don't have to purchase an entire wedding package on the property to have your wedding on this beach. All beaches are public on St. Croix, therefore one only has to get permissions to use the beach

Room Tip: SUITE 142 was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This resort is beautiful. Love, love, love the location. I am now planning my wedding reception here. Staff was very friendly to us. Room were clean. We had a beachfront room. I enjoyed opening the all the windows and listening to the water from my bed or from the screened in room. I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.