We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in the Carribean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #3 of 18 hotels in St. Croix
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“One of the best in the Carribean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here foir only two days over a weeekend. Live music on Friday night, great food, good service. You can learn to SCUBA dive here too. Everything was neat and clean. The beach is nice and surrounded by high rocks keeping out the people that usually come by to hawke their wares.
We stayed the end of October before the season got started, there was some renovating going on, should be done by now. Warm welcome and everyone was helpful. This is an older resort taken over by Marriott. It is not new but from what I saw the place is great. about 20 minutes by taxi to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    163
    44
    27
    17
See reviews for
107
273
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawnside, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I can't begin to tell you how much my husband and I enjoyed this resort. We came from November 15-20th for our anniversary. First, if you love peace and quiet this is the place for you. We were right next to the beach (absolutely gorgeous). When we first arrived yesterday evening we were greeted with wonderful hospitality. They gave us everything we needed. If you love beaches that are not crowded you'll love this place (It's almost like a private beach-no more than 4 people on the beach with you at a time). It was like we were on a private beach. The pool was fabulous. I think this place is for couples. Everyone is nice, (hello, good morning, etc). The food was scrumptious and the mountains meet the ocean. Literally, we are going hiking in the morning. I don't know what else to say, love it!

Don't rent a car. Pay for a taxi if you want to get around. They drive pretty fast on the left side of the road. Kind of freaked me out!!!! Our cab driver was very nice. It gets dark around 6pm in November!!!! Make sure when you go hiking you go a little earlier. Its about a one hour hike each way. When you get to the hiking destination you'll love what you find!!!!!!!! Oh my Gosh!!!!!!!!!!! I love this place!!!!

Tarik and Andaiye

I have a very stressful job and this is the paradise I needed. Thank God for St. Croix!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm 172. We are on the ocean!!!! We are also near the mountains and the food!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We honeymooned at the remote and beautiful Carambola October 30-November 5 and were delighted with our stay. We slept in a well-apportioned 2nd floor ocean view room but spent most of our time out hiking, walking the beach, watching the waves, and staring at the stars. The highlight of our stay was the trip to the tide pools at Annaly Bay, a 45-minute hike perfect for the outdoorsy adventurous type. The front desk gave us a map, and we had so much fun the first time that we went back again a few days later. Bring aqua socks and a waterproof camera if you go, as there are sea urchins in the farther back tide pools!

I hear the snorkeling is incredible just off the beach at the resort, but we were there when waves from Hurricane Sandy were rolling in, which churned up the sand and surf so much that I can't speak to it personally. :( We didn't want to mess around with renting a car and trying to drive on the left side of the road, so we took a taxi to and from the airport. There's also a round-trip shuttle from the resort to Christiansted for sightseeing and shopping that's $16/person, which I recommend taking advantage of if you go the rental-less route.

The staff was friendly and accommodating, and we were pretty impressed with the food. The pirate buffet was good albeit expensive and offered quite the spread. The entertainment (fire dancers) that night was pretty cool too. My husband's only complaint was the service in the restaurant was on island time one night. I echo previous reviewers' sentiments that if you're all about the nightlife, you might want something closer to town or make sure to rent a vehicle. Otherwise if you're even considering the U.S. Virgin Islands, this is the place to go for the low-key-luxury-seeking traveler to unplug... if desired. There's Wifi for guests if you get the shakes and have to log on.

Room Tip: We were in bungalow 18, which is closer to the construction going on. If you're a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Oh my, could not have picked a more perfect spot to have fun in the sun. The beach and reef were in perfect condition. We snorkeled or scuba all 7 days of our stay. The staff at the resort were our type of people. Cordial and helpful. The rooms were spotless and luxurious. Housekeeping kept our stuff tidy and clean. We sampled breakfast, lunch and dinner at the resort and we enjoyed everything. The rum drinks were excellent and plentiful. I am really fighting the urge to write a 20 treatise on how great our trip was and how having the Carambola resort as home base for our adventure was the secret to success. We are definitely going back!!
Love St Croix, Love the Carambola Resort.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms were amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We returned to the Carambola again this year. As always, we were not disappointed. We were warmly greeted and promptly checked in. The manager offered us delicious rum punch and we were taken to our room. We asked for a 2nd floor room as we love the vaulted ceilings. Within 10 minutes of arriving in our room, someone brought us a snack of nuts, fruit, and cheese, along with six bottles of water - what a nice surprise! The screened porch is an excellent spot to relax and read a book. At breakfast the first day, we were greeted warmly by Phillipsea, who remembered us from prior visits. She took good care of us! We love sitting on the terrace overlooking the ocean while eating our breakfast. Service is not fast, but that's ok with us. I do wish there were more choices on the lunch menu, but everything we had was good. We always rent a car so that we can explore the island. We snorkled at Cane Bay and at the resort. The water was especially calm, which provided great snorkeling. They are working hard to complete the room renovations. We also noticed newly resurfaced tennis courts and a basketball court. Again, the Renaissance did not disappoint us - we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms appear larger due to the vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I'll keep this short, just returned from five days at the resort in St. Croix and all I can say is WOW!!! The most beautiful scenery I have ever seen... the crystal blue water, the lush green mountains, the mahogany tree lined roads... beautiful. The service was a bit on the slow side, but remember, you are on island time and should not be in too much of a hurry. The staff was friendly for the most part and the food was some of the best I have ever had (the seafood is excellent)! Be prepared for spotty internet service and no cell service (although I heard if you have AT&T you could get service). The rooms were clean and nice, but be prepared for wild dogs and cats. They are pretty domesticated around the resort, but the staff does not like for you to feed them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

All meals were excellent. Dinners were gourmet, even though menu was rather limited. All services were friendly and very good, but, not fast. Meal pricing was in line with other upscale resorts. Clean rooms. Somewhat remote location especially because roads and road signage on the island is very poor. So, if nite life is desired, this is not the place. My visit was off-season and the hotel was not crowded. Entire atmosphere is laid back. Room decor is rather dark because of dark wood paneling. Only complaint is poor room lighting making reading in bed impossible, unless you use a tablet. I would stay here agin if I were to visit this island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.