We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Virgin Islands Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Event
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Virgin Islands Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We honeymooned at the remote and beautiful Carambola October 30-November 5 and were delighted with our stay. We slept in a well-apportioned 2nd floor ocean view room but spent most of our time out hiking, walking the beach, watching the waves, and staring at the stars. The highlight of our stay was the trip to the tide pools at Annaly Bay, a 45-minute hike perfect for the outdoorsy adventurous type. The front desk gave us a map, and we had so much fun the first time that we went back again a few days later. Bring aqua socks and a waterproof camera if you go, as there are sea urchins in the farther back tide pools!

I hear the snorkeling is incredible just off the beach at the resort, but we were there when waves from Hurricane Sandy were rolling in, which churned up the sand and surf so much that I can't speak to it personally. :( We didn't want to mess around with renting a car and trying to drive on the left side of the road, so we took a taxi to and from the airport. There's also a round-trip shuttle from the resort to Christiansted for sightseeing and shopping that's $16/person, which I recommend taking advantage of if you go the rental-less route.

The staff was friendly and accommodating, and we were pretty impressed with the food. The pirate buffet was good albeit expensive and offered quite the spread. The entertainment (fire dancers) that night was pretty cool too. My husband's only complaint was the service in the restaurant was on island time one night. I echo previous reviewers' sentiments that if you're all about the nightlife, you might want something closer to town or make sure to rent a vehicle. Otherwise if you're even considering the U.S. Virgin Islands, this is the place to go for the low-key-luxury-seeking traveler to unplug... if desired. There's Wifi for guests if you get the shakes and have to log on.

Room Tip: We were in bungalow 18, which is closer to the construction going on. If you're a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    251
    69
    33
    20
See reviews for
153
404
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Oh my, could not have picked a more perfect spot to have fun in the sun. The beach and reef were in perfect condition. We snorkeled or scuba all 7 days of our stay. The staff at the resort were our type of people. Cordial and helpful. The rooms were spotless and luxurious. Housekeeping kept our stuff tidy and clean. We sampled breakfast, lunch and dinner at the resort and we enjoyed everything. The rum drinks were excellent and plentiful. I am really fighting the urge to write a 20 treatise on how great our trip was and how having the Carambola resort as home base for our adventure was the secret to success. We are definitely going back!!
Love St Croix, Love the Carambola Resort.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms were amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
165 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We returned to the Carambola again this year. As always, we were not disappointed. We were warmly greeted and promptly checked in. The manager offered us delicious rum punch and we were taken to our room. We asked for a 2nd floor room as we love the vaulted ceilings. Within 10 minutes of arriving in our room, someone brought us a snack of nuts, fruit, and cheese, along with six bottles of water - what a nice surprise! The screened porch is an excellent spot to relax and read a book. At breakfast the first day, we were greeted warmly by Phillipsea, who remembered us from prior visits. She took good care of us! We love sitting on the terrace overlooking the ocean while eating our breakfast. Service is not fast, but that's ok with us. I do wish there were more choices on the lunch menu, but everything we had was good. We always rent a car so that we can explore the island. We snorkled at Cane Bay and at the resort. The water was especially calm, which provided great snorkeling. They are working hard to complete the room renovations. We also noticed newly resurfaced tennis courts and a basketball court. Again, the Renaissance did not disappoint us - we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms appear larger due to the vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I'll keep this short, just returned from five days at the resort in St. Croix and all I can say is WOW!!! The most beautiful scenery I have ever seen... the crystal blue water, the lush green mountains, the mahogany tree lined roads... beautiful. The service was a bit on the slow side, but remember, you are on island time and should not be in too much of a hurry. The staff was friendly for the most part and the food was some of the best I have ever had (the seafood is excellent)! Be prepared for spotty internet service and no cell service (although I heard if you have AT&T you could get service). The rooms were clean and nice, but be prepared for wild dogs and cats. They are pretty domesticated around the resort, but the staff does not like for you to feed them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

All meals were excellent. Dinners were gourmet, even though menu was rather limited. All services were friendly and very good, but, not fast. Meal pricing was in line with other upscale resorts. Clean rooms. Somewhat remote location especially because roads and road signage on the island is very poor. So, if nite life is desired, this is not the place. My visit was off-season and the hotel was not crowded. Entire atmosphere is laid back. Room decor is rather dark because of dark wood paneling. Only complaint is poor room lighting making reading in bed impossible, unless you use a tablet. I would stay here agin if I were to visit this island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Arrival experience: Arrived early evening just after sunset. Jacqueline Carr provide a fantastic welcome. She was pleasant and professional and even gave us complementary rum drinks at check-in.

Room (general): Nice floor tile and counters. Furniture was old and worn (e.g., couch was stained, bed kept falling apart) but not offensive. Room was spacious. TVs were very small by modern standards. Our remote for one did not work the first night, but the hotel staff fixed that the next day. Also, two windows were open and we could not close them. We asked the staff to close them, and they took care of the windows the next day. Walk-in closet off the bathroom was a nice bonus. Our room (#42) had a nice kitchenette including a cooktop, full-sized refrigerator, and microwave. The room had an outdoor screened in patio that had breath-taking views of the beach where you can relax. Tip- cook breakfast in your room to stretch your budget; hit the grocery store on your way from the airport.

Bathroom: clean and spacious, very modern and usable with a great view from the side window.

Bed: Good bed.

Housekeeping: Graded on a Caribbean curve, housekeeping was excellent. Compared to major US cities, it was a bit below average for a Renaissance. Daily tips with specific notes helped greatly.

Restaurants: Good on-site restaurants.

Bar: good bar and great bartenders willing to concoct wild drinks.

Grounds: Spacious, secure grounds. Walking around at night really made us feel like we were lost on a deserted island- the sky was clear, surf crashed in the background, and exotic frogs and bugs punctuated the night with loud sounds. Mongoose run all over the grounds.

Pool: Nice size pool but it could have been cleaned better.

Staff attitude/service: Graded on a Caribbean curve, out of this world! We’ve been all over the Caribbean, and this hotel had some of the nicest and most responsive employees we have ever met on the islands. However, if you compare the staff to the staff at the Renaissance at Times Square, you might be a tad frustrated. Remember, going to St. Croix is like going back in time in a third-world country.

Perks for status: Gift/points offered and Ms. Carr provided a room upgrade.

Parking: free parking

Misc tips: Cars- Rent a car if you stay here. It’s on an isolated part of the island. Workout area- decent little workout room. Store- The resort had a convenience store that offered snacks, drinks, clothes, and more. Diving- The folks at the on-site dive shop are great. John, Greg, and gang really took care of us. But insist on diving Cane Bay. It’s a little nicer than Davis/Carambola Bay, where the hotel is located.

Room Tip: Select a room facing the beach. Room 42 was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We just returned from our 4th vacation to Carambola. 7 nights was $2008 total.....we always stay in the high end ocean view suites.....this year we were in suite 36. We rented a Jeep Laredo....$391 plus $56 in gas from Budget. As usual we get all our groceries from Plaza Extra on Centerline/Queen Mary road.....it's real easy to find. Plus we buy from local roadside vendors....lots of good veggies available this year. The grounds at Carambola are in unusually good shape right now.....simply put it's beautiful. We had the beach to ourselves most days.....there was one Rasta-guy that groomed the beach every morning. Carambola is now generating their own power (110 alternating current)....which effectively ended any outages. We booked months ago at a much higher rate......the suite was going to cost nearly $2700......there has been a rate reduction and Carambola honored the new lower price. We ate the resort food twice (Flamboyant)....to be honest....it remains average. There is a problem with Food & Beverage that they just cannot seem to fix. I tried the Ahi Tuna, Crab cakes and blackened Mahi.....all three came up short. Housekeeping did an impeccable job!!! Security is still right up there.....no problems. We met a local that took me out on an open water snorkel west of Davis Bay.....we entered the sea at Carambola beach. The westerly current was mild and provided for an incredible 3 hour swim....turtles, an ancient anchor, being surrounded by hundreds of small blue fish. I've snorkeled all over STX.....this time out it was better than Buck Island. Sweet Bottom Dive does not offer snorkel trips......something about a liability issue.....all they do is dive. Sweet Bottom Dive has changed hands.....we really missed Gwen and Tony. The front desk was the usual friendly efficient staff. The resort has not completed the renovation in progress. Nine 6-plex bungalows remain gutted and unfinished.....these suites are in the area known as garden view. Carambola is operating on a really tight budget.....the real owner is now the Virgin Islands Government Employees Retirement System aka GERS. The island of St Croix is in trouble financially. The closure of HOVENSA has been devastating. With all that said.....know that we critique this 4th trip as our best yet and have every intention of returning next year. We only have one complaint issue which has nothing to do with Carambola......it's American Airlines. We experienced 4 delays on our return due to employee slow downs....it took all night to get home. In Miami people were actually "booing" American Airline employees. We'll use JetBlue next year.

Room Tip: Best suites are in buildings 3, 4 and 5 upstairs. You need to specify this request in your reservat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.