We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous couples getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 NGHT FREE & $125 CREDIT
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Marvelous couples getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed at the Renaissance Carambola with my fiance over Memorial Day weekend and I must say, it was splendid! If you are looking for a place to get away from it all and soak up some natural outdoor beauty on a secluded beach then this is it. It felt as though we had the whole beach and resort to ourselves (even though there was a small wedding party at the hotel too). Perfect for a romantic couples retreat or a solo spa relaxation vacation. I don't know that I'd come with a party of friends though, as it is remotely located and not near shopping/sights bars/restaurants, etc. But we liked the peace and quiet as a couple just looking to relax.

The room was great. Very spacious with a kitchenette (full size fridge, microwave, stovetop, glass/tableware). Comfy bed. Huge bathroom. Loved the screened porch that looked over the grounds/beach. AC worked fine. Our room must have been recently upgraded. There were many other cabins on the property that were closed off and looked like they were a bit run down and still under renovation.

All in all, had a great time and would come back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the upper rooms which have beautiful vaulted ceilings. Really made the place fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    264
    72
    36
    20
See reviews for
164
419
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was my first trip to St. Croix. I love this island and definately plan on returning. Carambola is secluded and located on the North shore. This was perfect for us. We were looking for a get away without the hustle and bustle of "tourist stuff". Beautiful property, great beach, excellent golf just over the hill. It is unfortunate that the service is so poor. You will have to go directly to the bar to order your drinks, plan on asking for menus if you want to order food. Do not expect to be "checked on" during meals. We had a total of 3 meals at the resort during the week and this was consistant throughout. We would have eaten there more, but chose to avoid the frustration. If you stay here, venture down North Shore drive and have a wonderful meal at EAT, or enjoy some fabulous pizza at Off The Wall.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

From the moment you step onto this property, you know you are in a special place -- an unhurried peaceful environment where you can unwind from the life you are escaping on your vacation. Definitely spring for the slightly higher room rate for an ocean view room. They all come with screened lanais from which you will never tire of the ocean view, sound and trade winds. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, especially the mahogany king sized bed. The beach itself is uncrowded, with beach chairs both in the sun and also shaded by trees. The property is surrounded by mountains with verdant vegetation, adding to the idea of a resort in paradise. The staff was friendly, polite and always helpful. Since the resort is somewhat isolated, renting a car is recommended. We are already planning our return.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd Floor Ocean View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This resort is truly a paradise. The rooms are terrific,recently upgraded, and well- laid out with a screened-in lanai. The views of the ocean and the mountians are amazing. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. A dive shop is located on the resort, and you can enjoy excellent diving right off the beach. There are big hammocks located in the shade all along the beach where you can relax and enjoy the view and the cool breeze, or sit in a beach chair and soak up some sun. We visited in late May and the resort was not crowded at all. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Terrific rooms and a great deal if you are in the Marriott program. Loved the beach and the mountains that just drop into the ocean. Good snorkeling to the west of the beach and a pool that is great to relax around. This property has been updated recently and it really shows.

Room Tip: Get a remodeled suite. Very modern, large, and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We arrived on a Saturday and were pleasantly surprised that the hotel seemed quiet. We were greeted in the office by friendly staff members. Before even checking in we were greeted by Jackie in the hallway with a huge smile and she commented kindly on my pregnant belly. Throughout our stay, I looked forward to seeing Jackie each day. She was incredibly kind, funny and super helpful with anything we needed. Another friendly staff member, Angel, came with a golf cart to take us to our room. He was efficient and kind. Another staff member we loved was Justin. He took care of transporting us to our car in the rain on several occasions and helped with luggage when we departed. He was quick and nice in all situations.

The remodeled rooms were nice and very comfortable (they no longer use the old rooms). Though we had hoped for an ocean front room (it was not available) we were pleasantly surprised that our room had a distant view of the ocean from our screened in porch and was only a short walk to both the pool and beach. It appeared that most every room had a view in the direction of the ocean from the porch. Our room had 2 televisions which was abundant but the placement of one on the wall was extremely high and made watching it uncomfortable.

The ocean was a bit rocky and made entering without water shoes difficult for an unstable pregnant woman but my husband had no issues. The water was clear and lovely. We enjoyed the beach immensely (especially napping on the hammocks there). I spent more time at the pool and loved the quiet, relaxed atmosphere. There was no fighting for chairs - plenty for everyone - unlike in most other resorts we have visited. My only issue was that the girls working at the towel stand came in at random times each day. If they weren't there, you simply had to go to the office to get some - not a big inconvenience and is probably justified by the off season time we were visiting.

The food was not bad but there was no variety and service was very slow. One restaurant for breakfast and another for lunch and dinner. We suspected we would tire of this quickly so went to the store for breakfast and lunch items and planned to do dinner out. There was a full kitchenette (fridge, microwave, sink, stovetop and dishwasher) in our room so we were able to prepare these items easily. We rented a car (definitely a good idea) and were able to get to the local restaurants for dinner easily. Rowdy Joe's, Off the Wall (pizza and an awesome setting) and Salud Bistro were big hits (we went to Rowdy Joe's twice for their awesome bread pudding).

We did encounter a couple of staff members who didn't seem to enjoy their jobs as much as Jackie, Angel and Justin. One office staff member was a bit rude when I approached her for towels and others were just unbearably and unnecessarily slow. The kindness of the few far outweighed the negativity of others.

This was one of our favorite vacation spots ever. We travel quite a bit and never return to the same place twice - St. Croix and Carambola might be the exception.

Room Tip: Request an upgrade to a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlette, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This place is very secluded and away from all the busy action, yet only 20 mins. from Christensted. Sweet Bottom Dive Center is right on site, and they are the perfect dive shop to accommodate your diving wishes! Very sweet staff and beautiful layout!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Croix hotels
7.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
8.6 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#7 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#1 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#2 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.