We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Love is now our love!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Madeleine Resort Condominium

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Croix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Madeleine Resort Condominium
Save
You added Villa Madeleine Resort Condominium to your Saves list
8 miles east of Christiansted at Teague Bay, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One Love is now our love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Villa Madeline is a cool spot. It is a group of villas all built into a hill side on the east end. We stayed for 2 weeks at #6 called One Love. I love that it was at the top of the hill because we had great breezes and total privacy. And our own private pool. The place was clean and we had everything we needed...big flat screen tv's, wifi and even a washer and dryer. The kitchen and bathroom are all first class. My husband has done building and is very picky with the quality of a place and even he was impressed.
We had to rent a car because it is out about 5 miles from Christiansted but still close enough to buy food or go to dinner. It was nice to have a full kitchen because we would have breakfast out on the patio and then pack a lunch for the beach. Many times we would just hike down the hill to the path way and hang out at Divi. You can use their beach just not their chairs. But our place had folding chairs we would bring along. The beach was great for snorkeling and really long for our daily beach walk.
They did come in and cleaned our pool while we were there. The staff keep the place really neat and clean. Everyone was very friendly and one important thing we felt very safe. There were people around but we still had out privacy.
This was one of our best vacations. We told friends and we are already planning on coming back with them.

Room Tip: this villa had a king size bed and great marble shower. And a quite split A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Unit 16, Bella La Vita, from December 20-27. Other than an initial glitch in locating the property manager to guide us to our villa when we arrived the evening of 12/20 (since we had no idea where we were going and no guide to drive us there and no keys yet for the villa), after an hour of attempting contact w/ the manager we finally opted for a night in a hotel (with a local cab driver, Joseph, guiding us to the hotel as we drove our rental car behind him). The good news is that 1) the property manager did make contact with us and was able to guide us to Villa Madeleine the next day and 2) the rental company reimbursed us for one night's worth of lodging, which we appreciated.

As for the villa, it was very beautiful and had an awesome view. If you rent at Villa Madeleine, make sure you rent one of the villas higher up on the hill, like #15, #16, or #17 (not sure if all of these are rentals), or the villas in the 40's. Lower level villas don't have much of a view and you are looking at either parking lot or tennis court or the back of another villa. Bella La Vita was VERY well maintained, despite some dated kitchen appliances and cabinetry. It was nicely decorated, has a washer/dryer combo; grill, table and chairs, chaise lounges on the pool deck. There were some minor issues in that the various remotes used to control t.v. and cable and dvd had some weak or dead batteries and there were no replacement batteries on hand, but we just switched batteries from other remotes and finally got things working (not that we were watching a lot of t.v. as we had a lot of exploring to do). Another small irritant was a the constantly yapping little dog that lives in one of the units down the hill. One evening the owners of that unit must have gone out and they left all their windows open so you could hear that little dog barking for hours on end (I have four dogs myself, but this was ridiculous and I ended up closing our windows because the way the villas are situated causes noise to travel very well). Beware of the small biting bugs that come out at sunset!!!! This is not a problem with the villa but with St. Croix in general. Make sure you wear insect repellant of some type or you will be covered in tiny, itchy bites (like me).

Overall, this was a great location. It is very near to Point Udall, overlooks the Divi Resort (the casino? well, don't waste your time. Las Vegas it ain't. One big room with mostly locals playing slots). If you go down the hill to the main road, Duggan's is right across the street and we went there 2 nights, and then the Blue Water Terrace is down the road towards Christiansted about a mile or so and we really liked the vibe there, despite it not being right on the beach like Duggan's. If you get a chance, take the hike up at Point Udall down to Isaac Beach. I can guarantee you will be one of only a few people there. We didn't get to snorkel there but I hear it is a good place for it. If you continue on that trail past Isaac Point, you get to Jack's Beach, but we didn't make it that far. This end of the island is mostly low brush and cacti. South Shore Road is flat and scenic and is a great drive until you eventually get to the abandoned Hovensa refinery (which sounds like a major debacle and caused the unemployment of about 3,000 people a couple of years back). BEWARE of wandering dogs!!!! I can't stress this enough if you are a dog lover. On South Shore Road we saw two dead dogs within 100 feet of eachother lying in the road (a German Shepard with a red collar and then another smaller dog). Three hours later we drove by and they were still there. A couple of days later I met the doctor wife of a local storeowner who had ultimately moved the German Shepard out of the road at least (coincidence!) This is the culture on the island, I've been told, and a lot of folks let their dogs run free and they are then left to rot on the side of the road (even though they make darn sure they cage their goats in!). Again, not a reflection on the villa itself, just something to be aware of if you are a fan of dogs or animals in general.

We were actually considering perhaps buying a unit for ourselves and I understand one of the units in the 40s is for sale; however, the association dues (which cover quite a bit, I understand) are approximately $1,600 per month. This, on top of a mortgage payment for a $299,000 villa doesn't really make economic sense). Better off to rent at this location and I would definitely recommend Bella La Vita.

Room Tip: Views from upper-level units are better (we stayed in 16, but 15 and 17 on our side looked good too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snorkleboy00820, Owner at Villa Madeleine Resort Condominium, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for the good review of this property. As president of the board of directors, I want to correct one statement. Our monthly HOA fees are presently $1150 for a 2-bedroom unit, not $1600. This amount also includes all property insurance (except personal contents), cable with HBO, high-speed Internet access, weekly pool maintenance, and all operating costs from crew wages to utilities, supplies and materials. Given what is included, you may find it is actually quite competitive for condominium associations of this caliber on St. Croix or anywhere else in the Virgin Islands.

As for Issac's Bay it is too bad you didn't go snorkeling! It is indeed one of the best places to do so on the island and one can often see turtles, rays, lobsters, squid, and a variety of fish, corals and sea fans. I myself hike there and back frequently from Villa Madeleine just to go snorkeling.

Thank you again for taking time to review this property. Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

So happy we used Villa Madeleine for our week in St Croix. The East End to begin with is so quiet, undeveloped, and full of spectacular scenery, and Villa Madeleine's location takes advantage of all those things. The steep and narrow drive was a little nerve-wracking at first, but it's all worth it when you get to the top and see the ocean and hills below.

Can't say enough about the private pool. Just being able to lounge in peace during the day, and sit out by the pool watching the stars at night was a welcome treat.

The appliances aren't the most updated, but they certainly have everything you need on hand for making meals. The laundry machines were also appreciated. The bedrooms have AC units- we didn't use ours but the other family member we traveled with did, and it worked fine. Our only issue during our stay was the TV in the second bedroom only got one channel to begin with and then stopped working altogether (there was no TV in the first bedroom) but no big deal, we didn't come to St Croix to watch TV :)

Thanks for an incredible stay- here's to a speedy return!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Vermont
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very clean well maintained two bedroom condominium in a quiet development on the less developed east end of St. Croix. Enjoyed the large open rooms and the outdoor space and private pool.

I really liked staying here, went to the beach twice a day and totally relaxed. The east end is dry, not buggy, close to great beaches and great snorkelling, we often were the only people on an amazing beach.

The development is quiet, with nice gardening, and tennis courts onsite. Despite this Villa Madeline is a short walk or shorter drive to two good restaurants (Duggans and the BBQ place by the golf course, as well as the decent pizza place at the Divi casino. There is a private pool for each unit, I thought we wouldn't use it but was in it every evening before dinner enjoying a drink and the view of the ocean. The unit had large rooms, tile floors, high ceilings, a nice living room for socializing, 2 bedrooms and 2 private bathrooms (one with a pink marble shower). It's about a 20 minute drive

The only negatives I can think of is that the kitchen might be a bit small, though was completely functional for a vacation rental. The unit we rented did not have a remodeled kitchen but it was fine for us. Also for families with small children the pool (right there on each unit's terrace) would be a concern. It is essentially a condo rental so there is not much onsite service. The landscaping and pool were well maintained, however.

Room Tip: The condos are arranged in rows running down a hill. I stayed in Unit 17, which was great, a unit cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville NC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was our second stay at 2 Perfect, and once again, it was great! It's clean, has a great review, and is well managed. Meet Anne the manager we've dealt with online and Charlie the on site person, and they were both very friendly, willing to answer questions, discuss restaurants to eat, etc. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Villa Madeleine is a bunch of individual condos (homes) on a hillside that are privately owned and then rented out. They all look the same and have the same layout. They all have individual pools that are fairly private. Most of them are 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom. The second bedroom is in a separate structure as is the second bathroom, so not ideal for real small children because they could access pool area without your knowing even though the two structures are VERY close.

Most of the condos have a great view of the ocean off in the distance. They are not on the water, but provide a nice ocean view. The condos are located on the East end of the island, quite a ways from Christiansted. You should rent a vehicle if you are staying here.

The condos are starting to show a little age. They are still nice, but don't expect perfection. Seeing as they are owned by private party, all decorations, beds, kitchen items, and the like vary from unit to unit as does the view, parking, and condition. Also, don't be surprised if when you show up, if your unit is lacking even some basics like TP or paper towels which has happened to us.

There are some bugs and geckos, but not any worse than anywhere else. The landscaping is always nice, and the units are in a gated area.

Some units have window air conditioners and others have central air, but there is almost always a great breeze here, They all share cable and internet. While most have TV's, some are in better condition than others. The internet here is VERY slow and very unreliable. Don't expect fast speeds or any connection at all from time to time.

There is a tennis court on grounds at the bottom of the hill which is quite a hike from the top units. The tennis court is in fair condition. There is only one court and no lights.

The Divi Casino is at the bottom of the hill and is not a bad place to see. It has a cool lit up dome at night.

The kitchens are very small, but adequate for making small meals. Again, the kitchen items will vary from unit to unit. Most of them have a small microwave, full size fridge, small oven, and a small dishwasher. A big plus is that the units have a small washer and dryer in a closet so you can do some laundry too.

The showers in the condos are awesome. They are tiled and open air feeling. The water pressure leaves something to be desired and the hot water is solar.

Most of these units face the Divi Casino, but others do face Buck Island if that is your preference.

The prices for rental vary depending on the unit you are looking at.

This is a nice place, but remember that the units are very close together, and noise does travel.

TIP- Be very careful on the tile around the whole property, While it does look nice, it is VERY slippery!

Room Tip: Ask for one that looks over Buck Island for a view of Teague Bay and Buck Island. The water is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is our 2nd time staying in this extremely well equipped villa, everything from Ralph Lauren bath towels to 3 flat screen tv's, the kitchen lacks nothing, tastefully decorated via Pottery Barn, Both bedrooms include temperpedic king size beds, washer and dryer nice touch to leave the island with clean cloths, totally private pool & terrace, if use of a cell phone is important you may find yourself walking down the hill for connection, as for us no cell phone is a blessing,there is a router great for you laptop or iPad. So searching restaurants and beaches is helpful. Unfortunately the microwave is on the fritz however it's clear the owner takes very good care of this unit and I am sure it will get repaired or replaced, we didn't complain, the entire package supersedes this minor inconvieance. FYI our connecting flight got us here a day late and the host aloud us to stay an additional night apparently no one was coming in our scheduled day to leave.
Our ages, 47 & 49, we perpetually travel the islands this is by far one of the nicest places we have stayed and we will return! thank you to our hosts! John&Steve

Room Tip: Living space is a bit small, best for 2 people 4 a might be 1 to many
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Madeleine Resort Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Madeleine Resort Condominium

Address: 8 miles east of Christiansted at Teague Bay, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Villa Madeleine Resort Condominium Hotel St. Croix
Villa Madeleine Resort Condominium St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Madeleine Resort Condominium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.