We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Condo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Madeleine Resort Condominium

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Croix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Madeleine Resort Condominium
Save Saved
You added Villa Madeleine Resort Condominium to your Saves list
8 miles east of Christiansted at Teague Bay, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very Nice Condo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Villa Madeleine is a bunch of individual condos (homes) on a hillside that are privately owned and then rented out. They all look the same and have the same layout. They all have individual pools that are fairly private. Most of them are 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom. The second bedroom is in a separate structure as is the second bathroom, so not ideal for real small children because they could access pool area without your knowing even though the two structures are VERY close.

Most of the condos have a great view of the ocean off in the distance. They are not on the water, but provide a nice ocean view. The condos are located on the East end of the island, quite a ways from Christiansted. You should rent a vehicle if you are staying here.

The condos are starting to show a little age. They are still nice, but don't expect perfection. Seeing as they are owned by private party, all decorations, beds, kitchen items, and the like vary from unit to unit as does the view, parking, and condition. Also, don't be surprised if when you show up, if your unit is lacking even some basics like TP or paper towels which has happened to us.

There are some bugs and geckos, but not any worse than anywhere else. The landscaping is always nice, and the units are in a gated area.

Some units have window air conditioners and others have central air, but there is almost always a great breeze here, They all share cable and internet. While most have TV's, some are in better condition than others. The internet here is VERY slow and very unreliable. Don't expect fast speeds or any connection at all from time to time.

There is a tennis court on grounds at the bottom of the hill which is quite a hike from the top units. The tennis court is in fair condition. There is only one court and no lights.

The Divi Casino is at the bottom of the hill and is not a bad place to see. It has a cool lit up dome at night.

The kitchens are very small, but adequate for making small meals. Again, the kitchen items will vary from unit to unit. Most of them have a small microwave, full size fridge, small oven, and a small dishwasher. A big plus is that the units have a small washer and dryer in a closet so you can do some laundry too.

The showers in the condos are awesome. They are tiled and open air feeling. The water pressure leaves something to be desired and the hot water is solar.

Most of these units face the Divi Casino, but others do face Buck Island if that is your preference.

The prices for rental vary depending on the unit you are looking at.

This is a nice place, but remember that the units are very close together, and noise does travel.

TIP- Be very careful on the tile around the whole property, While it does look nice, it is VERY slippery!

Room Tip: Ask for one that looks over Buck Island for a view of Teague Bay and Buck Island. The water is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is our 2nd time staying in this extremely well equipped villa, everything from Ralph Lauren bath towels to 3 flat screen tv's, the kitchen lacks nothing, tastefully decorated via Pottery Barn, Both bedrooms include temperpedic king size beds, washer and dryer nice touch to leave the island with clean cloths, totally private pool & terrace, if use of a cell phone is important you may find yourself walking down the hill for connection, as for us no cell phone is a blessing,there is a router great for you laptop or iPad. So searching restaurants and beaches is helpful. Unfortunately the microwave is on the fritz however it's clear the owner takes very good care of this unit and I am sure it will get repaired or replaced, we didn't complain, the entire package supersedes this minor inconvieance. FYI our connecting flight got us here a day late and the host aloud us to stay an additional night apparently no one was coming in our scheduled day to leave.
Our ages, 47 & 49, we perpetually travel the islands this is by far one of the nicest places we have stayed and we will return! thank you to our hosts! John&Steve

Room Tip: Living space is a bit small, best for 2 people 4 a might be 1 to many
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Two Perfect was the name of the villa where we stayed in Feb, 2012. It was fabulous! Private pool, wonderful views of the ocean and Buck Island. It was the perfect size for the two of us. The villa was clean and neat. It had all the amenities that we needed, kitchen, bath, king size bed. Plus it was very quiet. Loved it and can't wait to go back!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at Villa Madeleine # 1 in September 2011. We chose this property because it had a/c through out the house. I have submitted a review for this property before but it has never been published and I feel that I should at least let future guests know what to expect. It does have a beautiful, private pool with a beautiful view. However, the property does need some updating. The front porch was cluttered with a cart and a gas tank for the bbq grill (that was in the back). The refrigerator had rust on it, so did the dish rack, for drying dishes. The inside front door frame had water damage. There was no wifi, just broadband in the master bedroom. The master had no tv, the tv in the living room was a smaller, older style. The surge protector in the master was also rusted, which one would think is a fire hazard. The living room furniture had a small loveseat and two small chairs, not a lot of room for two couples. The outside pool area had some dirty areas next to the bbq and a potted plant. The plants were dead and someone had broken a pot and put it in another flower pot to hide it. Under one of the bathroom sink was some gel like substance. The second bedroom was seperated from the rest of the house, so it would not be good for a small child to be in that room because they could easily wander into the pool area. This property has real potential to be beautiful and comfortable but I guess I expected more for the $$ we spent.

Room Tip: The property felt very secluded and private but the pictures on the websites do not show its flaws.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

My husband and I spent 10 wonderful days at the Villa madeleine for our honeymoon! It was the best experience! Beautiful views, fantastic staff, wonderful setting, very peaceful! I would recommend this place to anyone. We had the most memorable honeymoon anyone could ask for!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dingels75
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

My wife and I married barefoot at sunset on the gorgeous beach at Carambola Resort then honeymooned for two "perfect" weeks at Villa Madeleine's unit 40. I say perfect because our Villa lent itself to a perfectly idyllic honeymoon. The total privacy, the gorgeous views, the gentle trade wind breezes, a completely private pool, the romantic bamboo king-sized four-poster bed offering complete privacy even with the french doors open allowing in the view and gentle breeze, the open marble two person shower. If you're looking for a place to have a romantic, quiet, private and perhaps that "perfect" honeymoon or vacation, this is it! Villa Madeleine provided the privacy and was the backdrop to the best two weeks of our lives.

  • Liked — privacy
  • Disliked — can't think of a thing
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

My husband and I (late 30's) just got back from a week at Villa Madeleine (Caribe Villa). Villa exceeded our expectations- it was furnished beautifully in classic West Indian style and had everything you could possibly need to be very comfortable for a week: Dishware, pots/pans, a blender, a coffee pot, spices, beach towels, games, DVD players with DVD's, three TV's with satellite TV (Ok, we had to watch a New England Patriots game one night, even on vacation...), a washer/dryer, ironing board, you name it, this villa had it. Master bedroom and living room opened out to our private patio and full sized swimming pool; view was gorgeous! We overlooked Buck Island and Teague Bay and high on our perch, we had wonderful breezes all week long and were never sweltering. Our villa had two bedrooms and this would be a great place to vacation with another couple or with older kids. Bedrooms both overlook the pool, but are completely private/separate and both have full sized private bathrooms. Second bedroom was nice sized and had twin beds and french doors leading to the patio. Note: Washer and Dryer are in this unit in the closet (it took us a while to find these!).

I would recommend this location for independent minded travellers who enjoy privacy and beautiful views with spacious and lovely accomodations. You will not get room service here or have daily maid service, however, you have basically an entire house with pool to yourself (for the cost of a hotel room) in the loveliest location on this very lovely island. You will need a car if you stay here (I would recommend a car at any accomodation on this island- you must get out and explore!). Driving is on the left, but roads and signs are very good (most), especially compared to other islands we have visited.

There is a great gourmet store/deli/bakery at the bottom on the hill (Lori's) from Villa Madeleine and there is a very good restaurant, Duggan's, right across the street. We enjoyed the variety of dining on St. Croix - there is literally something for everyone in any price range: Brew Pub in Christiansted, Rumrunners, Cheeseburgers in American Paradise, Savant (our favorite), Duggan's, and Sunset Grill (West End- great spot for lunch, right on a pretty beach!). We enjoyed the beach and the beach bar at Divi Resort (down the hill from V.M.) and also liked the atmosphere at the Deep End bar at Tamarind Reef. We checked out Buccaneer one afternoon and the grounds were lovely and the beach seemed very nice, but the beach was filled with lots of kids, so not super quiet and relaxing if that is what you are looking for (maybe it was just the time we were there).

A few hints (after talking to a local bartender): Cheapest rum and spirits can be found at Kmart (yes....Kmart- there's one on the island). We're talking $3 something for Cruzan rum per bottle! We also used the extremely clean and well appointed Kmart to stock up on water, snacks, sun tan lotion, coffee, cereal, etc. It was really enjoyable having our own kitchen for morning coffee, breakfast, and afternoon cocktails and snacks.

Enjoy St. Croix! It's laid-back, easy going, and very lovely. It was hard to leave. We will definitely be back!

  • Liked — Beauty, privacy, pool, view, location
  • Disliked — Nothing, loved it.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Madeleine Resort Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Madeleine Resort Condominium

Address: 8 miles east of Christiansted at Teague Bay, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty Lodging in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Villa Madeleine Resort Condominium Hotel St. Croix
Villa Madeleine Resort Condominium St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Madeleine Resort Condominium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.