We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the local landmarks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Reine Chicken Shack

La Reine Chicken Shack
24-I Estate Slob | Kingshill, Usvi, St. Croix
+1 340-778-5717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 137 Restaurants in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: very popular with the locals and gaining popularity with the tourists. they don't have their own website, but the link I provided above shows its listing.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“one of the local landmarks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Ask anyone, they've been here. And everyone plans to come again, and again. I kind of take it for granted but it's always there when I need something, and need it on the cheap too!! There's many a time I've swung by for a quick half-chicken and Johnny cake... yum!!!

You get fantastic cuisine (maybe that too much of a foofoo word but boy is it good!), drinks, separate bar, even entertainment on occasion depending on when you come.

They have quite the operation, perfected over years and thousands upon thousands of repeat customers. If you haven't been, or someone you talked to hasn't been, then they're missing out on a special treat from St Croix.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wess_Tester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“a must *dont leave the island before with stoping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was the best chicken I every had,,, the johnny cakes are delicious .. ,price is cheap but the food is fantastic ..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachmocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Great island food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stopped for lunch on our last day on our way to the airport. Friendly service at the walk-up counter take-out only but there are lots of picnic tables and a pavilion to eat at. Service is quick. Food is great. Half chicken Friday special is unmatched. Don't get confused with the bar in the next building.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were brought here as apart of an island tour given by the Hibiscus Beach Resort. Its a nice Puerto Rican spot, and we were told that they're very popular around lunch time. Its a nice We were each given a half rotisserie/ smoked chicken with a couple of the most DELICIOUS johnny cakes! My boyfriend said that this was the BEST chicken he has ever had. I agree. When we come back to St. Croix next year, we WILL come back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tayler J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
141 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice little place, busy for lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went with a business associate. We ordered ahead. Food was ready within 5 minutes of getting there.. Had Pot fish and a johnny cake $9, (her recommendation). Was good definitely different. Sat outside at a picnic table. No inside to eat just patio. It's where the locals eat-also have lots of chicken dishes..

Give it a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank streykatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Reine Chicken Shack also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to La Reine Chicken Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing