We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must *dont leave the island before with stoping” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Reine Chicken Shack

La Reine Chicken Shack
24-I Estate Slob | Kingshill, Usvi, St. Croix
+1 340-778-5717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 127 Restaurants in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Description: very popular with the locals and gaining popularity with the tourists. they don't have their own website, but the link I provided above shows its listing.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“a must *dont leave the island before with stoping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was the best chicken I every had,,, the johnny cakes are delicious .. ,price is cheap but the food is fantastic ..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    45
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great island food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stopped for lunch on our last day on our way to the airport. Friendly service at the walk-up counter take-out only but there are lots of picnic tables and a pavilion to eat at. Service is quick. Food is great. Half chicken Friday special is unmatched. Don't get confused with the bar in the next building.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were brought here as apart of an island tour given by the Hibiscus Beach Resort. Its a nice Puerto Rican spot, and we were told that they're very popular around lunch time. Its a nice We were each given a half rotisserie/ smoked chicken with a couple of the most DELICIOUS johnny cakes! My boyfriend said that this was the BEST chicken he has ever had. I agree. When we come back to St. Croix next year, we WILL come back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice little place, busy for lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went with a business associate. We ordered ahead. Food was ready within 5 minutes of getting there.. Had Pot fish and a johnny cake $9, (her recommendation). Was good definitely different. Sat outside at a picnic table. No inside to eat just patio. It's where the locals eat-also have lots of chicken dishes..

Give it a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hixson, TN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Eating Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We love eating at local places and this was the best pace we found.
The menu is limited and they do run out of specials sometimes early in the day. They close at 6pm, so try to go by earlier in the day for the best choices.
We had the roasted chicken and the mahi-mahi fish cooked with a butter sauce. Both came with rice and peas, small salad, and red beans. The Johnny cakes ae the best I have ever tasted. ( which you buy extra for .50 each). Our meal cost right about $23.00.

We got our meal to go and went back to our resort to eat. Well worth the trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Reine Chicken Shack also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to La Reine Chicken Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Reine Chicken Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.