We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find, great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Reine Chicken Shack

La Reine Chicken Shack
24-I Estate Slob | Kingshill, Usvi, St. Croix
+1 340-778-5717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 108 Restaurants in St. Croix
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Description: very popular with the locals and gaining popularity with the tourists. they don't have their own website, but the link I provided above shows its listing.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great find, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Found this place on St Croix magazine must place to visit. You must get there before 4:30pm or order and pick it up at the bar after "shack" closes (the bar patrons will tell you how). We got there late the first time and they were closed! Great food and they give you a ton (we ate leftovers for lunch and dinner the following day!). If you can read the map, it is on route 75 north, just before you get to rte 70 junction. And they seem to be open daily, unlike some restaurants on St Croix which are closed on Sundays. Loved the ribs!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    28
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Local must visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Cheap, tasty local favorite. Don't be scared off by its "Shack" look. The food is very good and very indicative of Crucian taste. Eat a johnny cake for me!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had been to several occasions where people brought delicious food and found they had bought the food at the Chicken Shack. Outstanding Johnny Cakes and chicken.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

OMG, this was the most difficult restaurant to find even with a GPS!. No one publishes addresses to their businesses it seems but they do give the telephone numbers. We were so lost and ended up near Captain Morgan's Rum distillery. We called the restaurant from there to get directions and they did not know where Captain Morgan's was! Long story short, we found it by error and wouldn't you know... it was right down the mountain from where we stayed.

But our reward was delicious local food with great homemade cookies to end the meal. It is so popular that there are lines of locals also. I am told that that is a great way to judge the quality of the food- if the locals like it then it is the place to be. Many of the restaurants where we dined, although they were great, was not a local favorite.

I had the stew fish with fungi. Perfect. I have friends from St. Thomas so I was familiar with the dish. Couldn't wait to get my order and it was not a disappointment. On our last night night on the island, we passed by Kim's late night and was surprised to see a huge party taking place on the property. Kim's was not open but the outside bar was and I wished that we could have stopped for a while.

The bottom line is put Kim's on your to-do list.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place server great chicken, and everything else on the menu is awesome. Low prices and fast service!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Reine Chicken Shack also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 

Been to La Reine Chicken Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Reine Chicken Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.