We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make time to the shack” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Reine Chicken Shack

La Reine Chicken Shack
24-I Estate Slob | Kingshill, Usvi, St. Croix
+1 340-778-5717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 118 Restaurants in St. Croix
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Description: very popular with the locals and gaining popularity with the tourists. they don't have their own website, but the link I provided above shows its listing.
Texas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Make time to the shack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This was my second trip to the island and this time I made sure to eat here twice! Super bargain and super yummy. Get the chicken and the johnny cakes. Very local experience. Great food!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    29
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great local spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Great chicken, great price, all local folks relaxing on an afternoon.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The food, especially the chicken, here is great. You can eat on the premises or take the food to go. I usually get 1/2 chicken and 2 johnny cakes for $5. You can't beat the food or the price.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Love La Reine Chicken Shack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We love this place. Sure it's street food; you eat out of Styrofoam at a picnic table if you stay there, although we usually get it to go. I love everything about it: standing in line with the locals, chatting with the wonderfully friendly staff (they're so damned busy, you'd have to forgive them for being terse, but they aren't at all), and eatin' up that incredible chicken with extra Johnny cakes. We loved it so much, we stopped on the way to the airport to take a chicken and cakes home with us. Don't expect a starred restaurant; go for the atmosphere, the authenticity, and the delicious chicken and ENJOY!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best deal on the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Not much more you can say, get half a chicken and johnny cakes for $5, great lunch. Mac and cheese isn't mad either.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Reine Chicken Shack also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to La Reine Chicken Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Reine Chicken Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.