We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buck Island Cove

Buck Island Cove
St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 66 Attractions in St. Croix
Type: Reefs
Activities: Scuba diving, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: About two miles northeast of St. Croix, Buck Island Cove, with its large and spectacular reef, is a snorkeler’s dream.
Dexter, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We did the 8 hour tour with lunch on the beach. Captain Mike and his crew were very nice. The beach lunch was very good. What can beat a BBQ on a tropical beach!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This was borderline for me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Buck Island is an interesting place to visit, but as the title says I was torn between a 3 and 4 star rating. The reason I bumped it up to a 4 star was Captain Carl and Dana on the Teroro. They made it a fun day and would highly recommend their charter. Don't get me wrong, the beach is very nice, but I must say there are a number of beaches just as nice, if not nicer, on some of the other islands in the USVI.
Don't let that hold you back from going though. Then you can compare for yourself.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful spots in St Croix!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband and I joined maybe 16 others on the Teroro II with Capt Carl and First Mate Dana over to Buck Island (highly recommended. $65 per person, bring your own lunch and drinks. Water and sodas available for sale on the boat). Both Capt Carl and Dana are friendly and they really love sailing, you can tell! What a fun trip! Plenty of wind to sail to the NPS underwater snorkeling park. However it was a really rough day and really exhausting to be in the water. Unfortunately most of the coral at the underwater park looked dead, but there were plenty of fish. After about 1 1/2 hours or so, we hit the beach, it is SO gorgeous. Looking right at the island from where we moored was very windy (it is pretty much wide open, and the sand was whipping all around so you were rather sand-blasted, but looking to the left of the island it was quite pleasant. There is some shade, plenty of picnic tables, grills and a vault toilet (make sure you bring some toilet paper in case there is none). The water was so warm. I did note that the beach drops off quite quickly so there isn't alot of shallow water so watch out for little ones. Also beware of the manicheel trees on the island, they have poisonous fruit that look like little apples and also the leaves and bark are extremely poisonous too. I would suggest you become familiar with what they look out and keep away from them!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You MUST GO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

You'll never see water so clear or sand so white. A photographer's dream. We took a snorkel/rum cruise out to the island. The snorkeling was great. The rum was great. Lunch was included and it was good (sandwiches).
We spent about 2 hours on the island and were served rum punch on our way back to St. Croix.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

11 of us chartered a sailboat boat (Teroro II ) with 2 wonderful captains, Heinz & Dana and sailed to Buck island. Fist of all the water was crystal clear blue green beautiful and living in Naples Florida, we have beautiful water and beaches but these waters are incredible!

Snorkeling was good but little rough and water is too warm for fish. We did see some fish, coral turtles, some of the group saw barracuda, baby sharks . Exhausting for papa and nana. Can't do what we use to! There is a fee for the charter boat that furnishes the snorkel gear, trip to and from, lessons and all information. Once on the the island we took a picnic lunch. There is picnic tables, restroom, and not much shade at all but a beautiful beach.

The 4 star rating is for my snorkeling experience and the rough waters otherwise I would have given a 5

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buck Island Cove also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Buck Island Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buck Island Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.