We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkelers Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buck Island Cove

Buck Island Cove
St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 59 Attractions in St. Croix
Type: Reefs, Outdoors
Activities: Scuba diving, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: About two miles northeast of St. Croix, Buck Island Cove, with its large and spectacular reef, is a snorkeler’s dream.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Snorkelers Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

After traveling much of Caribbean, and snorkeling at every beach, key, and cove possible I would have to say Buck Island is probably in the top three of my favorite spots. The underwater trail is neat and I enjoy how much variety of sea life you see. Go out with Tommy.. He's your go to guy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    10
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Buck Island with Captain Heinz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We really enjoyed our trip to Buck Island with Captain Heinz and his crew. The trimaran was fun to go out on the water in. The snorkel tour was great and we saw a bunch of fish and even a small nurse shark. There was time to go to the other side of the island to relax on a beautiful beach and do some more swimming or snorkeling. And the return trip was a peaceful sail back. We definitely would do this again.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't expect beautiful coral when snorkeling.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I did an afternoon trip here expecting to find some great snorkeling, but discovered that hurricane Hugo destroyed all the coral and it has not come back. There is a lot of marine live to view, however. And the beach is pristine at the other end of the island. It's still worth the trip.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Snorkeling experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband & I just returned from a week long trip to St Croix. We took a snorkel trip with Big Beard and had an amazing day on the ocean. We enjoyed the sail out to Buck Island, the snorkeling in the reef where we saw two 3-4ft lemon sharks, the bbq on the beach and the ever flowing rum punch along the sail back. What a great experience I would recommend to anyone looking for an adventure.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A must see adventure when in St. Croix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a national monument and can only be visited by boat. Please respect it and its beauty when here. We took a tour that let us snorkel an hour and say a school of blue tang (at least 200) lots of other fish and coral. I felt like I was swimming in a giant aquarium. Coral is mostly dead, but with concerted efforts it has begun to grow again. That was wonderful to see as we have snorkelled the Great Barrier Reef and hope that st croix could become that pretty a landmark of live beauty. Afterwards we went to the island, no landing the boat so we had to swim ashore. Softest sand I have ever felt. Don't miss this one.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buck Island Cove also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Buck Island Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buck Island Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.