We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buck Island with Captain Heinz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buck Island Cove

Buck Island Cove
St. Croix
340-773-2628
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 87 things to do in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Scuba diving, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: About two miles northeast of St. Croix, Buck Island Cove, with its large and spectacular reef, is a snorkeler’s dream.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Buck Island with Captain Heinz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We really enjoyed our trip to Buck Island with Captain Heinz and his crew. The trimaran was fun to go out on the water in. The snorkel tour was great and we saw a bunch of fish and even a small nurse shark. There was time to go to the other side of the island to relax on a beautiful beach and do some more swimming or snorkeling. And the return trip was a peaceful sail back. We definitely would do this again.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    13
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't expect beautiful coral when snorkeling.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I did an afternoon trip here expecting to find some great snorkeling, but discovered that hurricane Hugo destroyed all the coral and it has not come back. There is a lot of marine live to view, however. And the beach is pristine at the other end of the island. It's still worth the trip.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Snorkeling experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband & I just returned from a week long trip to St Croix. We took a snorkel trip with Big Beard and had an amazing day on the ocean. We enjoyed the sail out to Buck Island, the snorkeling in the reef where we saw two 3-4ft lemon sharks, the bbq on the beach and the ever flowing rum punch along the sail back. What a great experience I would recommend to anyone looking for an adventure.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A must see adventure when in St. Croix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a national monument and can only be visited by boat. Please respect it and its beauty when here. We took a tour that let us snorkel an hour and say a school of blue tang (at least 200) lots of other fish and coral. I felt like I was swimming in a giant aquarium. Coral is mostly dead, but with concerted efforts it has begun to grow again. That was wonderful to see as we have snorkelled the Great Barrier Reef and hope that st croix could become that pretty a landmark of live beauty. Afterwards we went to the island, no landing the boat so we had to swim ashore. Softest sand I have ever felt. Don't miss this one.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Natural Beauty Beyond Compare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

spectacular snorkeling - sea life galore and beautiful coral reefs - only accessible by boat and it is a wonderful boat ride to get there. Buck Island is a US National Monument and the land and waters are all protected - our captain on the Blue Beard tour was extremely knowledgeable we couldn't have had a better trip!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buck Island Cove also viewed

 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Buck Island Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buck Island Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.