We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkeling experience of a lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buck Island Cove

Buck Island Cove
St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 66 Attractions in St. Croix
Type: Reefs
Activities: Scuba diving, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: About two miles northeast of St. Croix, Buck Island Cove, with its large and spectacular reef, is a snorkeler’s dream.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Snorkeling experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband & I just returned from a week long trip to St Croix. We took a snorkel trip with Big Beard and had an amazing day on the ocean. We enjoyed the sail out to Buck Island, the snorkeling in the reef where we saw two 3-4ft lemon sharks, the bbq on the beach and the ever flowing rum punch along the sail back. What a great experience I would recommend to anyone looking for an adventure.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A must see adventure when in St. Croix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a national monument and can only be visited by boat. Please respect it and its beauty when here. We took a tour that let us snorkel an hour and say a school of blue tang (at least 200) lots of other fish and coral. I felt like I was swimming in a giant aquarium. Coral is mostly dead, but with concerted efforts it has begun to grow again. That was wonderful to see as we have snorkelled the Great Barrier Reef and hope that st croix could become that pretty a landmark of live beauty. Afterwards we went to the island, no landing the boat so we had to swim ashore. Softest sand I have ever felt. Don't miss this one.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Natural Beauty Beyond Compare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

spectacular snorkeling - sea life galore and beautiful coral reefs - only accessible by boat and it is a wonderful boat ride to get there. Buck Island is a US National Monument and the land and waters are all protected - our captain on the Blue Beard tour was extremely knowledgeable we couldn't have had a better trip!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dramatic coral reefs and idyllic beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A great day trip! We went with Big Beards' catamaran and had an amazing day. They also offer a BBQ complete with hot dogs, burgers, mahi and rum punch!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Went on a Big Beard Tour.. Great snorkeling ,beautiful beach, great little BBQ after with free rum punch.. Yummy.. A must see when in St. Croix

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buck Island Cove also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Buck Island Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buck Island Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.