We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great adventure hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carambola Tide Pools

Carambola Tide Pools
St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 87 things to do in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great adventure hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My boys and and I stayed at carambola for a week and were told the tide pools were a must see...and they were right! We made the hike from our room to the beach in 30min. The trail was dry but tennis shoes, hiking shoes or something like Tevas are a must. Trail is steep in some sections but take your time and it's worth the reward. As the other reviews have said the pools are too the left once you reach the beach and it is a little tricky to get around the rocks. Water shoes would have been perfect then my tennis shoes would not have gotten soaked! Eat lunch before but take some water so you can enjoy he views for a bit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    43
    13
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well Worth The Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This trail is quite a hike thru the rainforest to a beautiful set of tidepools. About three miles thru the jungle, up and down hills and rocky terraine. Don;t stop or the ants will get you. It was well worth it and it took us about 40 minutes. Bring lots of water an d a sandwich to eat once you get there. The last set of rocks are tough to climb so take it slow.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tide Pools”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We visited this place & it was called Annally Bay Tide pools, it's near Carambola resort. We took a jeep tour with TanTan Tours & had a blast! Our guide helped us climb the rocks to make our way over to the tide pools. The place is amazing & a must do. Wear good water shoes & a bathing suit. I don't recommend hiking there from the resort. There was a couple there who had just done so & they were telling of the dangers of the trails.
If you get there, you will love it! Not for the elderly or frail.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I hiked to the tide pools every afternoon while staying at the Carambola resort. The hike is not difficult and rather short. With a little bit of trail running we made it in 20 minutes, without that it took about 30 minutes. We are both in our sixties. The hike is a little bit steep in the beginning, but nothing to worry about. We did not use any bug spray and were not bitten. Also, the ants don't do anything. Nice exercise after spending time at the beach. The tide pools are not that exciting. The views from the trail (when they are available) are very nice.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“How cool is this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

many people hike to the tide pools but we used Tan Tan tours which made it more of an adventure. Our driver was great and we loved the tour but the highlight was the tide pools. It is hard to describe so take my word for it and just go - you will not be disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carambola Tide Pools also viewed

 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Carambola Tide Pools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carambola Tide Pools, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.