We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carambola Golf Club

Carambola Golf Club
72 Estate River | Kingshill, 00851, St. Croix
340-778-5638
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 66 Attractions in St. Croix
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Perhaps the best golf course in the Caribbean, Carambola is a par-72 course with lots of uphill and cross-water shots.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

If you want to feel like you have your own private course all to yourself. Beautifully manicured and a great course. Then Carambola's a must if your visiting St.Croix.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have played this course many times in the course of 6 visits to the island, most recently in 2/14. I always look forward to the experience and my last trip did not disappoint. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It features 4 or 5 sets of tees and accommodates players of every skill level. I had a very different experience than the reviewer who found the course "soggy and battered." Although there had been recent rain, the fairways were firm and closely cut. There is a distinct reward for keeping the ball in the fairway. The greens were fast, exceptionally true and able to hold approach shots. Regardless of where you stay on the island, the effort to reach the course is well worth it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Four star layout held back by two star maintenance and amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

One of only two 18 hole layouts on the island and the only one of championship length is a Robert Trent Jones, Jr., design that has plenty of challenge for low handicaps, but requires a substantial amount of forced carries over gaping ravines and water hazards that will have higher handicappers reaching for reloads. Unfortunately, the maintenance was uneven when we played with shaggy greens, spotty stone-laden bunkers and an apathetic staff. See details at Tips Golf Tips. The course is pricey at $125 for a round with a cart and although there's a driving range and a practice putting green, that's about it in terms of amenities besides the superb clubhouse with a bar overlooking the #10 tee and #18 green, but you couldn't buy a bottle of water at 10:00am as it wasn't open yet. I was told to talk to the starter, but I never saw him or the pro. It's a great track, but not worth the price under current conditions. Rumor has it locally that a sale may be pending, so things may improve down the road, but as of now, it was a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Soggy and battered”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The course is well designed and scenic. But it is in a rainforest, and it has grossly inadequate drainage. Conditions ranged from soggy to submerged. The fairways were rutted because there are no cart paths over much of the course. Greens were shaggy-- about what I'd expect from a "Scotch green" used for winter play up North.
Traveling to the course requires a long but scenic drive.
Of the two 18-hole courses on St. Croix, this one is worth much less than you pay, and Buccaneer is worth much more.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great layout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This golf course was a nice change fo me to play. Being from Florida I tend to play flat courses. Carambola has some nice rolling fairways and some challenging water holes.
The rental clubs were pretty good but a little pricey.
Definately worth the play.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carambola Golf Club also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Carambola Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carambola Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.