We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cane Bay

Cane Bay
, St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 88 things to do in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on St. Croix's north shore, the waters are not always gentle along this palm-tree-lined beach, but scuba diving and snorkeling are very popular here where less than 200 yards out is the drop-off called Cane Bay Wall.
Wood River, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

cant wait to dive here. The beach was really nice and the water was inviting. Dive center was just across the street

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    57
    21
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Snorkeling at Cane Bay, St Croix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The next time you venture to St Croix, US Virgin Islands be sure and visit Cane Bay. On the north side of the island and a long taxi ride from Frederiksted, it is well worth the effort to go snorkeling. The day we were there the waves were calm and the snorkeling was effortless. Tons of fish and coral. There is a nice restaurant with plenty of items on the menu and of course beer. The beach is not the cleanest but there are trees for shade.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling/scuba diving, okay beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Cane Bay wasn't the nicest beach, as there is debris from the reef all over the beach. It's a bit wavey so you'd have to keep kids on the shore. We laid out for 2 hours or so, and decided to cross the street to get snorkel gear from Cane Bay Dive Shop. We got 2 sets for $24! We are first time snorkelers, and the first round was fun but exhausting. There are marked bouys to show you how far it's recommended to snorkel to. We made it half way and went back due to mask issues. Then we ate Fried Pickles and Spratnet beach bar. The pickles were awesome! Our bartender, Eric, was our favorite the whole trip as he gave us a free drink and talked to us about many things.
The rented snorkel gear was good for 24 hours so we went back the next morning and snorkeled out to the bouys. We seen many fish, some stingrays, and even a shark!
There's also Cowboy Steve on this beach who has horses you can take in the water and out for a ride. The only real way to get ahold of him is to find him at this beach. Looked fun, though!
Great beach to go get drinks and snorkel, in our opinion!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DINING IN CANE BAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have been here for a month
Best meal so far was at Rowdy Joes.
Best hang out is Off the Wall
Great Snorkeling

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoMermaid
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great day at Cane Bay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We drove over from the East End just to check it out and ended up spending the better portion of a day here! It was gorgeous, nice sand, water was calm, good snorkeling close to beach, rented some beach chairs from the bar, and had a bite to eat across the street at "Eat".

It was a very cool day!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cane Bay also viewed

 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Cane Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cane Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.