We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkeling at Cane Bay, St Croix” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cane Bay

Cane Bay
St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 66 attractions in St. Croix
Type: Beaches, Bodies of Water, Reefs
Activities: Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located on St. Croix's north shore, the waters are not always gentle along this palm-tree-lined beach, but scuba diving and snorkeling are very popular here where less than 200 yards out is the drop-off called Cane Bay Wall.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Snorkeling at Cane Bay, St Croix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The next time you venture to St Croix, US Virgin Islands be sure and visit Cane Bay. On the north side of the island and a long taxi ride from Frederiksted, it is well worth the effort to go snorkeling. The day we were there the waves were calm and the snorkeling was effortless. Tons of fish and coral. There is a nice restaurant with plenty of items on the menu and of course beer. The beach is not the cleanest but there are trees for shade.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    34
    14
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling/scuba diving, okay beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Cane Bay wasn't the nicest beach, as there is debris from the reef all over the beach. It's a bit wavey so you'd have to keep kids on the shore. We laid out for 2 hours or so, and decided to cross the street to get snorkel gear from Cane Bay Dive Shop. We got 2 sets for $24! We are first time snorkelers, and the first round was fun but exhausting. There are marked bouys to show you how far it's recommended to snorkel to. We made it half way and went back due to mask issues. Then we ate Fried Pickles and Spratnet beach bar. The pickles were awesome! Our bartender, Eric, was our favorite the whole trip as he gave us a free drink and talked to us about many things.
The rented snorkel gear was good for 24 hours so we went back the next morning and snorkeled out to the bouys. We seen many fish, some stingrays, and even a shark!
There's also Cowboy Steve on this beach who has horses you can take in the water and out for a ride. The only real way to get ahold of him is to find him at this beach. Looked fun, though!
Great beach to go get drinks and snorkel, in our opinion!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“DINING IN CANE BAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have been here for a month
Best meal so far was at Rowdy Joes.
Best hang out is Off the Wall
Great Snorkeling

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColoradoMermaid
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great day at Cane Bay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We drove over from the East End just to check it out and ended up spending the better portion of a day here! It was gorgeous, nice sand, water was calm, good snorkeling close to beach, rented some beach chairs from the bar, and had a bite to eat across the street at "Eat".

It was a very cool day!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Fun beach, lots to do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We enjoyed a beach day here and wish we had done more. Cane Bay features great diving (dive shop across the street is excellent), nice snorkeling, good swimming, and a few places to get lunch and cold drinks. If you are lucky, you'll see the local man who brings his pretty horse for a dip in the sea. The area is lush and beautiful. At night, we've seen several deer on the road and by day, a gigantic iguana basking on the road - no, he will not move, so be careful!

Snorkeling here was very nice. You can swim to the wall (note the float in the water), but if you look at the dark areas nearshore, they are parts of the reef, so just snorkel around there for some beautiful fish, and lots of them.

Spratnet beach bar is wonderful. The staff is friendly, the beer cold, the food well prepared and leans toward West Indian as well as some regular things for those without an adventurous palate. They rent beach lounge chairs for $7.00 per day.

eat@Cane Bay restaurant is nice, too. I love the Sunday brunch there. Dinner was fine, as well.

I don't recommend Off the Wall. The bartender was very nasty to us, the only negative encounter we experienced in 10 days on St. Croix. She was unnecessarily mean and the bar patrons were beer soaked, ex-pat smokers who blatently disobey St. Croix's no smoking law and will toss snide remarks at you if you don't like it. Just avoid this place and you'll have a terrific time.

Remember to not leave keys, phones, or other valuables on any beach. This advice is applicable anywhere you travel, not just here. There are waterproof snorkel bags available so you can take your valuables into the water with you, probably available at the Cane Bay dive shop. I always use one.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cane Bay also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 

Been to Cane Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cane Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cane Bay to your Saves list