We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try to visit if possible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Point

Sandy Point
St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 66 Attractions in St. Croix
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Beaches, National Parks, Reefs
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This three-mile long white-sand beach is largely populated by nesting turtles and birds.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Try to visit if possible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My wife and I joined a turtle-watch sponsored by the park service. We met in the nearby parking lot at dark and walked out to the beach where we hung out until about 12:30 when we packed it in without seeing any turtles. The purpose of the activity is to watch egg-laying and then relocate the eggs inland where they are safer. The area is patrolled by the park police to prevent thefts of the eggs by people and dogs.
Although we did not see any turtles during this visit, it was well worth the time. An extremely knowledgeable young park ranger talked non-stop for about 3 hours about turtles, the environment in the area, and anything else we asked. Hats off to her because we learned a lot, she was super interesting, and everyone was enthusiastic. If you have younger kids, they will also enjoy this free lesson.
AND, we got to see the Southern Cross constellation - first time for me!
If it matters, this is the beach used in the final scenes of the Shawshank Redemption movie.
I'm not sure how to arrange a trip as some friends who are residents on the island set it up, but you could call the park service and ask.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mvkate
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This beach is so so so amazingly beautiful. The sand is perfect and soft, the water is crystal clear, and its a little hard to get to, with no bathrooms or food nearby, so it's not super crowded. They ask you not to use umbrellas, so we didn't stay for too long, since there is no shade at all. No coral or rocks here, so the snorkeling isn't supposed to be good, but we threw our masks on just for fun, and I saw a bunch of parrotfish and a lion fish. We enjoyed walking the beach and looking at the humongous holes left from turtles who had nested the previous year. Would love to go back during nesting season and see the baby turtles.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
overland park, ks
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Go! Just go! Park by the public pool and walk the mile. It is so worth it! No one was there when my husband and I went, so we had the entire beach by ourselves. It was absolutely beautiful. I believe this to be the best beach on the island!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Turtle Watch at Sandy Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We joined up with the SEA and attended a turtle watch on 7/8 at Sandy Point. This is one of the coolest thing I have ever experienced. Sandy Point is closed to the public in the summer due to leatherback turtle nesting. They are very endangered. There are several people doing research on the turtles down at the beach. We met up at 515pm at the gate. We were briefed on the "rules" of the watch and what we would be doing. We all caravanned in and parked at the furthest beach. As we arrived onto the sand, the nest we would be watching was actually already hatching!! We rushed down and all sat in a circle around the nest. We counted all the hatchlings and then they were passed to NOAA for record keeping. We cleaned our hands and passed a hatchling around, we actually got to very carefully hold one! It was quite an experience, all as the sun was setting over the ocean. Our guide was very informative and answered all our questions. We then moved down to a more protected area and released the hatchlings into the ocean. If you are here during the summer, this is something you should definitely look into doing. It is a perfect activity for all ages.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best beach anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We LOVED everything about this beach and it was the final scene in the movie Shawshank Redemption and is worth the walk out to the point.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy Point also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sandy Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.