We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Point

Sandy Point
St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 58 Attractions in St. Croix
Type: Beaches, National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Reefs, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This three-mile long white-sand beach is largely populated by nesting turtles and birds.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We went to Sandy Point on a Sunday afternoon. Stayed on the east end so it was quite a drive, but well worth it. Parking lots were full so we had to park on the road. Lots of people present, but most stayed by the entrance from the main parking lot and it was easy to find a spot to ourselves. As others have said, the sand and the water are perfect. Lack of snorkeling makes this the 2nd best beach on St. Croix behind Isaac Bay in my opinion.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merriam, Kansas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Most beautiful beach and sand I have ever seen. We took a picnic lunch and tent shelter for shade. Did some swimming and walking of the beach. Very few people on the beach. Limited hours but well worth it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The most amazing beach I've ever seen in my life!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We took the time to make it to this beach and it was so worth it! We had the whole place to ourselves and it was beautiful soft ocean sand and water with gentle waves that allow you to just back float and look up at the clouds. It's absolutely breathtaking! The water is crystal clear and is the softest sandy bottom for swimming. TRAVELING PLANNING TIP!!!We didn't pay attention before we planned our trip and thought we could go whenever we wanted...but IT'S ONLY OPEN SATURDAYS AND SUNDAYS and closed April - September EVERY day of the week for turtle hatching season. By far the very best beach in St. Croix if not the entire Caribbean.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood River, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

White sandy beaches Seen lots of sand dollars while snorkeling Said hi to Red and Andy Dofrane. Its where they filmed Shawshank Redemption

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Great but no taxi would go there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just back from a cruise with one day on St. Croix. Sandy Point is great. However, we could not find any taxi driver who would take us there. They were saying it's closed (I knew it is open on Sunday as it is not turtle season) and the road is bad etc etc. We were not even bargaining about the money, just wanted to find anyone who would take us there. Then one diriver said he would take us there and pretended to do so. He left us at Coral Hotel and the walking distance to Sandy Point on the soft sand was too much for my friend with all the beach gear (towels, water, snacks, cameras etc). I went but had very little time to enjoy the gorgeous beach because of the long walk.
So either rent a car or otherwise make sure in advance you get there.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy Point also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sandy Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.