We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing beach I've ever seen in my life!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Point

Sandy Point
St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 66 Attractions in St. Croix
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Beaches, National Parks, Reefs
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This three-mile long white-sand beach is largely populated by nesting turtles and birds.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The most amazing beach I've ever seen in my life!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We took the time to make it to this beach and it was so worth it! We had the whole place to ourselves and it was beautiful soft ocean sand and water with gentle waves that allow you to just back float and look up at the clouds. It's absolutely breathtaking! The water is crystal clear and is the softest sandy bottom for swimming. TRAVELING PLANNING TIP!!!We didn't pay attention before we planned our trip and thought we could go whenever we wanted...but IT'S ONLY OPEN SATURDAYS AND SUNDAYS and closed April - September EVERY day of the week for turtle hatching season. By far the very best beach in St. Croix if not the entire Caribbean.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wood River, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

White sandy beaches Seen lots of sand dollars while snorkeling Said hi to Red and Andy Dofrane. Its where they filmed Shawshank Redemption

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Great but no taxi would go there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just back from a cruise with one day on St. Croix. Sandy Point is great. However, we could not find any taxi driver who would take us there. They were saying it's closed (I knew it is open on Sunday as it is not turtle season) and the road is bad etc etc. We were not even bargaining about the money, just wanted to find anyone who would take us there. Then one diriver said he would take us there and pretended to do so. He left us at Coral Hotel and the walking distance to Sandy Point on the soft sand was too much for my friend with all the beach gear (towels, water, snacks, cameras etc). I went but had very little time to enjoy the gorgeous beach because of the long walk.
So either rent a car or otherwise make sure in advance you get there.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

yust go if you can. No review can really prepare you for how nice this beach is. Miles of deep, white, untouched sand. Most of the beach-goers are in one area. The rest of the beach (& it really does go on for miles) is deserted. It's only open on Sat & Sun & only when the turtles aren't nesting. Poor snorkeling as the bottom is all sand. No faciliies.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, New Hampshire, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“most beautiful beach ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This beach is what dreams are made of. Softest sand ever. Most beautiful, buoyant water ever. Crabs cutely scurrying around. Birds singing in the bushes. Peaceful and calm. A slice of heaven on earth.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy Point also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sandy Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.