We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Point

Sandy Point
St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 65 Attractions in St. Croix
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Beaches, National Parks, Reefs
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This three-mile long white-sand beach is largely populated by nesting turtles and birds.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Most amazing beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

gorgeous sand and beautiful pink shells. bluest water. Natural park only open on weekend or when cruise ship is in. Seculed. Where Shawshank redenetion was flim at end of movie.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beach, walk for miles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This beach is at the southwestern tip of the island. It is only open on the weekends and is closed during turtle nesting. White, powdery sand for miles, a beautiful beach to walk. No amenities provided. A must see!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
126 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Private beautiful beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I had the pleasure of going to Sandy Point...and it was amazing. Pristine sand and blue waters! My group lucked out as we were essentially the only people in sight! With Frederiksted pier/boats in the distance, I felt like we had the whole beach to ourselves. Yes access is limited to weekends only til 4pm, but little known fact, they open during the week when their is a cruise ship docked. That is in a sense how my group got lucky, it was during the week when their was a ship docked. A great way to enjoy the place to yourself!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“It's all about getting there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We walked all the way along the beach from Friederiksted to Sandy Point. Though sandy point is beautiful, walking all the way there had a very special charm. Make sure to take water, sunscreen and a hat with you, there is nothing along the beach. Some parts can get rocky. Use appropriate shoes. The walk is long but it's worth it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This beach is impossible to describe because it is so beautiful. It i only opened on the weekends and is pristine and unspoiled and the water is the most amazing shade of turquoise!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy Point also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sandy Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.