We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Waves restaurant .....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waves at Cane Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Waves at Cane Bay to your Saves list
The Waves at Cane Bay
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   112C Cane Bay, PO Box 1749 | Kingshill, 00851, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 St. Croix B&B and Inns
Crystal Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The Waves restaurant .....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first visit to The Waves. We enjoyed a sunset dinner. We had heard through the grapevine that the food was quite good. This was our 6th visit to St Croix. We made reservations ... which for the most part is necessary as seating is limited. I counted 10 tables on the terrace. I chose the yellow fin tuna and the wife had the lobster pot pie. Without question it was the best yellow fin tuna I have ever enjoyed. The tuna was fresh and island caught. The wasabi was perfect. The portion was large. For St Croix this was fine dining. The service was unusually good. Before we left I had to meet the Chef's and see the kitchen. It's a small kitchen ... really small. The lead Chef was all about the quality of the food he plated. This is the best restaurant on the island. With the waves and the sunset and mind blowing food ... it was a sensory over load. A wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We did not stay at The Waves. We went for the restaurant.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
28
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are looking for something nearby the Renaissance Carambola. We ate at Waves with high expectations. Good service, delicious food and wonderful sunset view. Beautiful place to watch the sunset while enjoying your dinner. Tables are limited.

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Absolutely perfect 5 days and 4 nights of romance with my woman(now fiancé) at the Waves. We stayed from Monday through Friday. When we arrived there was no one in the office, so we walked out near the tidal pool to wait and listen to the waves crashing. I was going to propose to her that evening, but this setting was to good to pass up, so asked her close her eyes and I got down on one knee and put the ring on her finger. She said yes! Just after that Laura, the owner, arrived and showed us the room. It was room 12. The website said it was the superior king room and it was. It was actually a very large studio apartment with coffee and snacks provided. Laura then noticed the ring and congratulated us with hugs and sent a chilled bottle of champagne to the room! The room was a little warm when we came in, so we used the AC for awhile, but after that we just opened the balcony doors and windows and it was just right. Gentle breeze, the waves washing up on the rocks below, all day and night. AAAHHH!!! There's also an outdoor restaurant and bar downstairs with excellent food and drink. Taylor and Chris were wonderful waiters and the bartender makes a great rum and coke(Cruzan Rum, of course). I'm sorry I forgot his name. We both ordered the sirloin steak special at the restaurant and they were cooked perfectly medium rare. The beach is a couple of hundred yards down the road along with 2 beach bars and one just across the road from the beach. The Cane Bay Dive Shop is also there in case you want to do some scuba diving or snorkeling. The bars all specialize in many different kinds of gourmet burgers which were delicious. I can't say enough good things about The Waves and Laura. The rooms face west so you get a beautiful sunset every night. We're planning on going back to The Waves to get married next year. Now a couple of tips; We were extremely happy we rented a car at the airport(make sure you make a reservation on line before you go). The north side of the island where The Waves is located, is sparsely populated. The road there(route 80) is well paved, but many roads are not. Stay off route 58 unless you have a 4 wheel drive vehicle. We were almost swallowed up by pot holes and washouts. it was interesting driving on the left side of the road. we can't wait to get back to The Waves!

Room Tip: All rooms have a private balcony with fantastic views of the ocean and the waves crashing below. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
198 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

The room was great; spacious, private, clean and comfortable with a full balcony and just amazing views of the ocean.

The grounds are decent as well; the bar on ground level was staffed by a very friendly bartender and the lower restaurant looked as though it was pretty packed.

You can't go wrong with the room. That view...

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We stayed here for a week in March 2015. Loved Loved Loved it. Our room was quiet, big, full kitchen (but with the fabulous on site restaurant, we didn't cook), bath and the most private balcony you could ever imagine. The prices are very resonable. The views are out of the world. The bed was super comfy and it was a KING. More than thrilled with this property and hope to return many times. Thanks Laura. You are the best.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

If you are looking for a relaxing and calm atmosphere this place has it. If you enjoy listening to the waves while relaxing in your room or on the terrace, this is the place! It has beautiful views and very comfortable accommodations and it's clean and well presented. The owner Laura is very friendly and helpful and really cares about her guests and has plenty of beach chairs and towels for your use while visiting the island.
We loved listening to the waves every night with the patio doors open and slept very well as they soothed our minds to sleep, they can be loud at times but that did not bother us I found them to be calming. The bed is comfortable and the room was clean and had just enough space to relax yet cook something if you desired.
The restaurant is fabulous! The servers are top notch and make sure they take good care of you and that you enjoy your visit, we ate there almost every evening we were there because it was very good and we enjoyed the atmosphere and friendly staff and patrons, it's not cheap however but we felt so comfortable with the Waves we loved staying there and eating there. The lobster is wonderful!! The whole experience was perfect! If you like crowds and lots of people though plus hand and foot service like a resort it's probably not for you, we preferred a slower pace and being able to relax yet have great service for our evening meal. WE loved the Waves and would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view, you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

My husband and I have traveled a lot through the Caribbean. We are not fans of large resorts, we prefer guest houses and boutique hotels. The Waves is a small, lovely place on the north shore of St Croix. Our room was airy and light, and had a balcony which looked out at the Caribbean, with waves breaking right below on old coral. It was mesmerizing and we slept with the sliding glass doors open at night just to hear the sea. No bugs, as there was a nice breeze. Having that private view of expansive sea and distant headland with a lighthouse, and just the close sound of the ocean was heaven. Laura, who runs the inn, is very cordial and is a real hotel entrepreneur, and a world traveler. The outdoor bar at The Waves is a great hang out to chat with locals and other guests, and Laura in the evenings. The restaurant has extremely good food by anyone's standards, and it includes a wide array of fresh local seafood and local vegetables done in masterful dishes. Serious chefs at work here. The Caribbean lobster was amazing. The dining area is a sheltered outdoor space with a tide pool nearby and the beautiful waves crashing below. Incredibly romantic and unique setting. All the staff at The Waves were friendly and super competent. The whole north shore of St. Croix is lovely and has a vibrant local dining and bar scene, of which Waves is a gem. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Waves at Cane Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves at Cane Bay

Address: 112C Cane Bay, PO Box 1749 | Kingshill, 00851, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waves at Cane Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Waves at Cane Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves At Cane Bay Hotel St. Croix
The Waves At Cane Bay St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waves at Cane Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.