We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waves at Cane Bay

Save Saved
You added The Waves at Cane Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waves at Cane Bay
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   112C Cane Bay, PO Box 1749 | Kingshill, 00851, St. Croix   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 St. Croix B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This was our second time staying here, and it's everything you want if you're looking for gorgeous views, the sound of the waves, a great gourmet restaurant on the premises, and a local feel. A very short walk to the beach and dive shop. The rooms are clean and simple, a full kitchen, a comfy bed, a balcony with waves and the view couldn't be better. It's exactly what I want when I travel. Laura, Dennis, Brandon, thank you again. Hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
20
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southington, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Laura greeted us as if she'd known us for years. She was amazingly attentive to our needs and she made sure that we felt more welcome and at home than ANYWHERE we have ever stayed. Her hospitality was shadowed only by the breath taking view from our deck. The Waves is exactly what this ocean front hotel was destined to be named. The crashing of the surf into the ocean fed wading pool was a lullaby of relaxation I have yet to experience and the short 2 minute walk to the beach made our stay private when we wanted it to be and socially accessible when we needed it to be!

The room was very comfortable and exceeded our expectations for being a beach front hotel. The oceans salt and breeze can really put a hurting on these structures but The Waves was a testimony to vigilant upkeep and the needs of their guests. Down to the beach towels ,fridge,coffee pot , microwave and plenty of hangers to keep us happy .

The upkeep of our room was fantastic even though we advised that all we needed were fresh towels . We still came back from our adventures daily to see that our bed was freshly made and room cleaned.

Dennis the barkeep was FANTASTIC! We were lucky enough to be a part of his homemade basil infused vodka (one of the most savory martini's ever consumed) and his mint cucumber infused gin (which was to die for). His personality made you feel incredibly welcome and matched is specialty drinks superbly.

Chef Brandon was a master at his craft, serving up a stuffed lamb chop that was melt in your mouth perfection. His seafood entrees were delectable and the view from the restaurant/bar was picture perfect.

I can not put into words the amazingness of our stay at The Waves and we cannot wait to return to what we consider our newest home away from home...

Thank you so much,
Steven & Rebecca Grayson

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The waves at cane bay is truly the most relaxingl place on the north shore of St Croix. the rooms have balcony that overlooks the beautiful colors of the Caribbean Sea.The room was also newly renovated with a full kitchen. The bathroom wasvery well maintained and clean with good water pressure and plenty of towels. You can also tell the beds were new and very comfortable. there is a saltwater grotto pool down on the beach that is my favorite feature of this hotel. The hotel also has a restaurant right about the grotto that serves dinner with pick your own lobster and fresh catch of the day fish specials. This is a must try! Great service and food with a fully stocked bar. I give the waves at cane bay an A+ for value and location. Looking forward to coming back next year... Thank you to the owner Laura and her two cute dogs.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a few days and couldn't have asked for a better location, service, and experience. The owner was so accommodating, the views were picture perfect (every room is on the water), and everything was nice and clean. Don't forget to make reservations at the restaurant literally ON the water and pick your own lobster. The waitstaff boys will joke and make you feel at home, not to mention are easy on the eyes ;-) I would absolutely stay there again. As a matter of fact, I'm going to!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place has so many positives, the best being the one from which it gets its name. The sound of waves all night was so soothing and the views over the water were great. Rooms were big and clean and bed was comfy. Kitchen was pretty well equipped- only thing missing was spoons- we had to eat our cereal with forks until we smuggled out some plastic spoons from a restaurant! Bathroom was clean and water pressure was decent. We arrived late on a sunday due to delays in our flight to the island, which meant it would be hard to shop for breakfast suppliers. Our host gave us a very thoughtful basket of goodies with cereal and enough milk for the first day, granola bars, a bag of microwave popcorn and a couple of other snacks.

The main downside for us was that the AC was way too small for the room. We actually were put in 2 other rooms before the one we finally stayed in, both of which had broken AC units. The one we lived in for a week had AC but not enough to make the room truly cool. It was better than nothing but we didn't have a sheet over us at night any night we were there b/c we were so hot. Other things that were not as great was that the host did not give good local info. For example, the night we arrived there was a weekly pigroast at the restaurant nearest the hotel, but when we asked about places to eat that evening she didn't even mention it. We didn't find out til the next day and were not there a week later when the next pig roast party happened. A similar thing happened the next night in which again we missed a once a week event b/c she didn't think to let us know it was an option. I guess its not her job to be our tour guide, but as the nearest thing to a concierge, it would have been nice to have a good hold on the events in the area and to share that information with guests. The other thing I guess was more my error was that reading the site description I got the impression that you'd walk out of your room and onto cane bay, where in reality cane bay was a 5 minute walk down a rather busy road. Its certainly walking distance, but not as easy when schlepping mask, fins etc for snorkeling as I had hoped when booking the trip. Overall though, I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a room away from the crowd.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our stay at the waves was amazing! we felt like we were on Fantasy Island. Laura, the owner, couldn't have been more attentive, making sure that our stay was everything we wanted. The room was great...large enough and very comfortable. THE VIEW OFF OUR BALCONY WAS BREATHTAKING!! we saw beautiful sunsets. Laura recommended several local places for lunch that were some of the best food we have eaten. in addition, the food at the Waves restaurant was right up there with the best restaurants we have eaten at in the States. Chef is very talented. Fresh fish dishes were to die for! Nearby beach was perfect for sunbathing. we couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hideaway not far from Cane Bay is worth the drive. Overlooking the moonlit sea, we were greeted by Laura, the young proprietor who seated us at this romantic restaurant.

Service was excellent, as our drink orders were taken very quickly. We enjoyed our appetizers, a unique salad special, as well as a conch dish that were both delicious, as we gobbled them with fresh bread.

With an eclectic menu to suit any taste bud, we opted to go with lobster and the fresh catch of the day. After walking down to the water, we marveled as we watched the chef haul in a lobster trap. It is here where the lobster stay until one puts in his order for what turned out to be the freshest Caribbean
Lobster cooked to perfection. The wahoo, too, melted in my husband's mouth, as it was prepared with a fruit sauce. Both served with fresh vegetables and risotto, we had ordered two winners.

The portions were large, and we had to pass on desserts. However, they sounded so delicious that we were tempted!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Waves at Cane Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves at Cane Bay

Address: 112C Cane Bay, PO Box 1749 | Kingshill, 00851, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waves at Cane Bay 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Waves at Cane Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves At Cane Bay Hotel St. Croix
The Waves At Cane Bay St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waves at Cane Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.