We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and eat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waves at Cane Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Waves at Cane Bay to your Saves list
The Waves at Cane Bay
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   112C Cane Bay, PO Box 1749 | Kingshill, 00851, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 St. Croix B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed at theWaves several times over the last few years. The property improves every year. Rooms are clean and sitting right on the ocean. Sunsets are magnificant and the restaurant is top notch!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Pros: This is a hybrid between a hotel, vacation rental and a B&B. It is owned and run by Laura who takes great care of her guests. The rooms are nice (get one on the 2nd floor).
The views are phenomenal and the food is fantastic. It is quiet and nice. On the water, breathtaking views of the endless ocean.
Cons: no breakfast or lunch facilities on site. Only dinner (did I say the food was fantastic). It does come with a mini kitchen if you care to make your own. No beach as such although it's on the water.
Other:
There's 3 places within walking distance that serve food (lunch, drinks and dinner)
Get a rental car - you will need it. Rent from Centerline (local, cheap, and convenient).
Plan your activities and book in advance.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

I'm going to include numerous photos because words aren't descriptive enough. We were pleasantly surprised by how relaxing and homey The Waves has become. You will see that the bad reviews stop when the new owner takes over, and it is now a very classy place.

Some thoughts: if you don't like the sound of never ending waves pounding against the rock...stay somewhere else. If you truly love the surf and watching it hit against rocks...this is your place.

The grotto pool is made by a cut out in the rock. Seawater surges in and occasionally brings in pretty little fish...charming and very different from the usual chlorinated resort pools. There is a little sandy patio to read and relax.

The kitchen is fully stocked with pots, pans, silverware, plates, bowls and glasses. A microwave, coffee maker, electric stove with four burners and a refrigerator --- you can cook anything! FYI There was a thoughtful basket of pretzels and cookies upon our arrival. But bring your own coffee set up, etc. pretend you are renting an apt....bring the food etc you want.

The mattresses were very new and comfortable with nice sheets and coverlet.

There were things one could fuss about --it would have been nice to have screens for the lovely porch doors. However, the owner has obviously done a lot of work and we appreciated her efforts.

Ironically the restaurant below, next to the grotto, is so good you won't want to cook in your room. See photos!

She gets booked up...make reservations early, we had to make ours on Expedia. You will like this small hotel property. But cautionary thought: don't go if you need golf, chlorine, noisy bands and a huge resort. We saw a lovely woman reading by the grotto early each morning. Saw a couple holding hands watching the sunset. And dolphins right outside our porch...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Background:
My wife and I stayed 5 nights at the Waves at Cane Bay while visiting St. Croix in December 2011. In summary, the Waves offered simple, clean rooms near an outstanding beach on St. Croix.

Rooms:
Our room was simple, offering a large bed (king?), TV, shaded balcony with two lounge chairs, refrigerator, microwave, coffee machine, small desk and full bathroom. Everything was freshly painted and clean. Linens were slightly worn, but clean and entirely serviceable.
Our room was on the second floor (top of the building) and our balcony seemed to be perched directly over the waves breaking on the coral beachhead on which the property is built. We never noticed noise from other guests while in our room.
The bathroom was very simple, but clean. Tiles and fixtures were older, but everything was in working order.
The room was cooled by an individual air-conditioning unit and a fan. Both easily kept the room cool during the evenings.

Amenities:
The Waves at Cane Bay is a small hotel, so property amenities are limited. There is a small restaurant with a small bar. Though we didn’t try the restaurant, we visited the bar for after beach drinks. All staff was very pleasant and accommodating.
The hotel is built on a small coral beachhead, so the hotel doesn’t have a beach on the property. However, one of the best beaches on St. Croix is a few hundred yards away (within a two minute walk).
You can access the water from the property via a small break in the coral beachhead or via a natural pool carved directly out of the coral. Ocean access via the coral break isn’t for the faint of heart and probably shouldn’t be tried unless the water is relatively calm. However, during our stay, we easily managed to enter the water and enjoy some outstanding snorkeling directly in front of the hotel.
There is a small sand sitting area directly in front of the restaurant with a small fire pit which was lit every night we visited. This was a perfect area to enjoy a pre-dinner / post-beach day drink each evening.
During our stay, the Waves offered free wifi.

Service:
Laura (the owner) was pleasant and accommodating. She was flexible with all of our small requests. She acted more like a distant relative than a hotel manager, ensuring we felt at home during the course of our stay.

Location:
The Waves is located within a few hundred yards of Cane Bay, one of the best beaches we visited while in St. Croix. Cane Bay is located about 20 minutes outside of Christiansted, which in my opinion was a good thing. There are a few restaurants nearby, including the Waves own restaurant located on the property. The hotel is literally squeezed between a road and the ocean. The balcony for each room seems to hang over breaking waves, offering outstanding sunset views. Even though the hotel is located directly next to the road, traffic was relatively light during the night and road noise was minimal to non-existent.
Cane Bay beach offers some of the best off-beach snorkeling on St. Croix.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Absolutely the best restaurant on the island with a view to die for. We were staying at the Marriott and the restaurant was recommended to us. The restaurant sits on the ocean with approximately 10 tables for guests. Carribean lobster is the house speciality and Wiley the chef is outstanding. You pick the lobster yourself from a lobster trap maintained oceanside. There is only 1 waitress - Karen - who is amazing. After eating lobster 2 nights in a row we were ready for a change and mentioned to Karen we wished they had some veal on the menu. She said come back the next night and she would make sure it was on the menu. Lo and behold the next night sure enough the veal was on the menu. The service and food were as good as any restaurant in the states - highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

The Waves at Cane Bay is the perfect place to stay if you're looking for a warm, down to earth, non commercial vacation. The hotel is charming. All rooms have porch that sit right on the ocean. The kitchenette is helpful for saving money on meals though you'll need a car to get to the grocery store which is at least 15 minutes away. The beach down the block is wonderful. The north side of the Island is the warmest and most relaxed. The beach reflects this atmosphere. Folks are nice, friendly and respectful. Additionally, there are three cool and reasonably priced eateries down the block. EATS is superb food excellently priced. The Wall is a fun beach bar with solid food and Tuesday night Bingo. Though famous for its brews, Rowdy Joe's has awesome ice cream.

Laura, the owner, is so nice, warm, friendly and helpful. It felt like we were staying at a friends beach house: she lent us chairs, a cooler, and gave us great recommendations for island activities. The Waves is a great off the map spot where you can get away from the ruckus of everyday american corporate culture.

St. Croix is a wonderful Island with an abundance of activities. You'll have a great time as well if you feel like lounging on the beach and in your lovely ocean front room. I would strongly recommend the Waves at Cane Bay and plan on coming back again on my next trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fun and individually decorated. All have ocean front balconies. You can't go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Thank God we found The Waves! My husband had fallen earlier in the week and had fractured his ankle. He was on crutches for the first time in his life and was very unsteady. Trust me, a 200 pound 6'2" man that is unsteady is scary! Laura, the gracious owner and host, offered to move a table to the upper balcony so he could avoid walking down the steps. We enjoyed the most amazing meal that night. We selected our own lobsters from the grotto in the ocean and we watched the sun set and sipped wine as they prepared our bounty. Laura showered us in special treats from the Chef and some amazing apertifs after dinner. We came back 2 more times on our visit. We stayed on the other side of the island in a oceanside villa but the drive was worth it. Laura gave me a tour of the rooms and we will definately stay at The Waves on our next visit. She has done an amazing job renovating them. Our favorite part of the island is the Cane Bay area and I cannot recommend this restaurant and inn enough! If you have never been to St. Croix - GO! You will not be disappointed! It offers jungle, ocean, RUM, amazing dining, amazing snorkling and diving and really friendly down to earth people. You may not come home!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waves at Cane Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves at Cane Bay

Address: 112C Cane Bay, PO Box 1749 | Kingshill, 00851, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waves at Cane Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Waves at Cane Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves At Cane Bay Hotel St. Croix
The Waves At Cane Bay St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waves at Cane Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.