We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed and Angered! Waste of Time and Money!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Northwest Point Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Northwest Point Resort to your Saves list
Northwest Point Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Northwest Point, Providenciales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed and Angered! Waste of Time and Money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The website is a complete misrepresentation of the hotel!

The rooms are completely outdated. Still with 1980's colours and designs. The appliances are rusty and old.
The staff are hard to find, and once found are rude and unhelpful. They seem to have had no training.
Although the ocean and beach look appealing. There is lots of sea grass stuck in the sand, that cut up your feet. There are few beach chairs, and the ones that are available are beat up and need to be replaced.
I normally feel very safe in resorts, and do not have to even think about my safety, however I was continuously paranoid about my safety. There is no gate or guard, anyone could walk in. The hotel's maintenance staff do not wear uniforms and therefore could get confused as street guys. After the first night, we saw these maintenance guys YELLING at a guest. How is this acceptable?!?! I've never seen behaviour like this.

We ended up leaving the resort after the first night, because we did not feel comfortable or SAFE at the resort. We found a room at Grace Bay, although it is more money. I would pay more money to feel safe. The beaches at Grace Bay are clean and pristine.

Do NOT stay here, it will be a waste of your money. Spend the extra $$$ at Grace Bay or another resort to feel safe and enjoy the beach.

Room Tip: They are all outdated!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodgesatbluemountain, Owner at Northwest Point Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hana, thank you for you email and sorry your experience was not as planned. We have stressed our concerns about the Property Manager to his supervisors, but have yet to see a solution. Unfortunately this is not the first complaint we have received. We had still tried to work around this but became increasing difficult. We are glad you were still able to enjoy your vacation in Grace Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    76
    23
    11
    11
See reviews for
63
139
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not a fan of this place and do not suggest it to anyone! I cannot believe the experiences that others have had as well!
I apologize for my brutal honesty on this resort, but it has to be said.

Number 1: Rooms are outdated. 1980's colours and design. Appliances are old and rusty.
Number 2: Very windy and ocean is rough, couldn't enjoy the water at all. Also beach is full of sea grass and for many meters out you can feel it under your feet in the ocean, the pictures are deceiving!
Number 3: Very limited beach lounges and most are old and beat up, we didn't even use them
Number 4: Being with a group of girls we didn't feel safe being out at night because the property wasn't gated and the area was so secluded.

We had no choice but to leave and forfeit our money because after the first night because we were do disappointed and also we saw maintenance guys yelling and screaming at a guest - so unprofessional and scary!!!
I have never seen anything like that at a resort or anywhere and I just a few months ago I got back from travelling Australia for a year in all sorts of hostels/hotels.

STAY AWAY from this place!

FYI We our experience was totally saved when we went to grace bay - for a few dollars more the beaches are pristine clean and water is clear you can see for miles. I couldn't believe the difference in the two resorts!!!

Hope this helps you all!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let me preface this review by starting at the end; on the Saturday morning of our Tues thru Sun stay, we found out the entire hospitality staff, including the restaurant, had been fired because of some business dispute between owners. So what awaits visitors at this resort in the future is hard to tell.
As far as our stay, the facility itself was OK - not great, not bad. More of an issue was the location - 8-10 miles away from the main tourist areas of Provo, and maybe 3 miles from the nearest restaurant - the last 3 miles of which is over an unsaved road. The ocean at the hotel's location is not the beautiful blue in other parts of Grace Bay; there is a lot of seaweed/Seagrass which colors the water greenish. There are some clear areas but it's a very different experience. There is no resort help at the beach, there are kayaks etc but it's all self- serve.
The bottom line: If you want somewhere to get close to TCI's nature, to see stars with almost no light pollution, or to be solitary, this is the place. If you're looking for a more classic resort experience, then I'd look further east in Provo's hotel strip.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked a three bedroom at the northwest point Resort and when we showed up to check in, the property management company had quit that day (and allegedly stolen a bunch of money). This was this past Saturday April 11, 2015. There was noone working the reception. The reception/office had been ransacked: phones ripped out of the walls, the drawers were stolen out of the desks, cushions removed from the couch, it honestly looked like they had been robbed.

There was one man on the resort, Charles, who was trying to help us. The poor guy woke up and there was absolutely no staff on the resort. He brought us to our assigned room and it was absolutely disgusting. There was food on the floor- pasta, cereal in the sink with ants everywhere.I know its the Caribbean and bugs can be an issue, but these bugs were around because food had been left on the floor for days. A pile of dirty linens were sitting on the living room furniture, but there were no linens on the beds, or clean linens to be found. The bathrooms were not cleaned, and the whole place smelled so stuffy we could not stand to be in the Condo, even Charles commented how badly the place smelled and what condition it was in. Oh and most of the lights did not work! The bathroom sink was rotted out and there was wood all over the bathroom. The white floor tiles were grey with dirt. I have done a lot of traveling and have stayed in cheap dormitory style hostels that looked like the Ritz compared to this.

Charles tried to accommodate us, but there was absolutely no staff (cleaning people, anyone at all in the restaurant, reception) on the resort. He was in charge of the pool and maintenance so he couldn't really help us check in, cancel our reservation, or find someone to clean up. He said he would try to get someone in to clean the room so we could stay there, but didn't know if it would be that day. We weren't taking any chances. We really appreciated the effort from Charles, but he was in way over his head. Luckily we found another place to stay- Villa Del Mar in Grace Bay. Yes it was more expensive, but saved us.

When I told locals about what happened to us at Northwest Point they were not surprised. Apparently this is the second time in the last year or so where a property management has either quit and/or stolen from them. As our snorkeling captain said- there are always problems at that resort.

When we left the island 5 days later we ran into a couple who had the same thing happen to them, so the situation is still not resolved as of Wednesday the 15th. . We wasted a whole day trying to get out accommodations situated.

We initially booked the resort because it was in a remote location and were looking for a quiet place to stay. When you are staying in the middle of nowhere it would be nice to have a place to grab breakfast, or have someone clean in between guests. I don't mind picking up after myself but I'm not changing other peoples dirty sheets and dishes. It is really far away from everything, 10 minutes down a dirt road before you even get to the highway. You pay for what you get, but Grace Bay is a much better location.

Stay away! I have never seen anything like this.

Room Tip: Do Not stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had enough of the New York winter and just wanted to spend few days in a warmer place where we can have peace and quiet, away from the crowd. We always wanted to visit Turks and Caicos. By reading the reviews on hotels/resorts especially from TripAdvisor, we found out Grace Bay is where the crowds are so we did not consider it. We chose Northwest Point Resort. I thought when reviews mentioned about rough road, they meant the short road to the resort. It turned out to be from when the road split from Millennium Hwy. It was a total of about 15 minutes drive on a rough road on a 20 kms/hr. After we picked up our car rental we went directly to the resort because we don't want to be locked in. They closed at 5pm. When we reached the gate, there was no buzzer to let us in and we don't know how to get in. My husband got out of the car and squeezed himself in between the gates and went to the office and announced our arrival, came back to the car and they open the gate to let us in. Upon checked in, we found out that someone stays until everybody check in for that day. If you want dinner in their restaurant, you need to make your reservation by 4:30pm. We were in Room 201 in the building to the left facing the ocean. When we got there, there was a hole where the doorknob supposed to be. My husband notified the office and someone came around after half an hour but unable to fix it because they have to go to the store to buy the doorknob and stores were close already. He ended up taping the hole. After we explored the resort we went out to buy some groceries. Around 12:30 AM (got busy and did not realized the time) I decided to take a shower before going to sleep and found out there was no water. Around 1:30AM, I was awakened and used the bathroom and still no water. After breakfast, we went to the beach for swimming and snorkeling. The beach in front of the resort was full of sea grass so we walked towards the right till the tip of the cove but there was no spot where we can snorkel without venturing far towards the ocean. We did found a nice place to swim. When we came back to our room, the doorknob was already replaced. Around 12:30 PM, there was no water again maybe for only about 10 minutes. We had a two bedroom/2 bathroom condo. You can see the ocean from the master bedroom and the balcony. There's a French door from the living room to the balcony with 4 chairs and a table. The view was really awesome, so serene. The screen door to the balcony already came off the slider and needs to be replaced.The condo has comforts of home including a washer, dryer, microwave, coffee maker, phones, televisions with cable and DVD players (that needs to be replace, so outdated), free wireless internet (does not work well sometimes). The condo really needs a makeover. The day before we checked out, we tried to use the garbage disposal but it was broken. That evening the sink leaked. We called the office but there was no answer (that was already after 5pm). We tried to call the night manager but there was no answer either. They have an outdoor pool. They also have 3 kayaks that you can use free of charge. You just have to notify the office. They mentioned about paddle boards but we did not see any.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary,NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

As I am sure you have read with other reviews, the Northwest Point Resort is a great place to go if you want to be away from the crowds and have a great relaxing time ! The resort is beautiful and well maintained. The beaches and water is gorgeous, but do have to deal with seaweed. The resort does a great job cleaning the beach each morning. They also have a very nice pool. They have a great chef (Eddy) on site who we think made the best fritters ( conch and lobster ). The staff of Kirsten, Christine and Nicky are extremely helpful. You should ensure you have the gate code to get into the resort before going. We did take a short drive to Grace Bay for better snorkeling and to go to several very good restaurants. It was a quick ride from the Airport. You do have to travel about 3 miles on an unpaved road, which is not an issue. You definitely want to have a working cell phone in case you break down on the road.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

My husband and I spent a wonderful week at Northwest Point Resort the last week of February 2015. If you are looking for a secluded spot, away from the craziness of Grace Bay, clean, comfortable, yet within a 20-30 minute drive from everything the island has to offer, then this is the place for you. Part of the road to the resort is unpaved, but we had no trouble navigating it, and who cares if your rental car gets dirty. Yes, the ocean in front of the resort has more sea grass than in Grace Bay, but it is a short stroll down the private beach to find plenty of swimming spots. The pool and hot tub are well maintained, and oftentimes I was the only one in them! Our room was recently renovated with a beautiful view of the ocean. The breakfasts were made to order and price friendly. The fish “hamburger” was the best I had on the island. Kirsten was very helpful in the booking process, and Nikki was helpful during our stay. If we ever have the pleasure of returning to Provo, NPR will be our first choice for accommodations.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northwest Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwest Point Resort

Address: Northwest Point, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northwest Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northwest Point Resort is located on 16 miles of white sand beach on the northwest marine park on the main island of Provo in Turks and Caicos. The resort is private, affordable and offers guests a relaxing vacation. With an oversized heated pool and jacuzzi tub the resort is ocean front. Condo's are fully furnished suites. Kitchen amenities include fridge, stove, washer dryer, dishwasher, King, Queen and single beds. Condos have multiple bathrooms and all of them have balconies with spectacular views of the ocean. The Caribbean inspired suites are spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Linens are included and any offsite activities can be organized by our staff at the request of our guests. Enjoy strolling our private beach or relaxing on lounge chairs pool side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Northwest Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwest Point Hotel Providenciales
Northwest Point Providenciales
Northwest Point Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northwest Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.