We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you haven't been, you haven't lived” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northwest Point Resort

Save Saved
You added Northwest Point Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Northwest Point Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Northwest Point, Providenciales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunny Easter Getaway
Ranked #35 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
“If you haven't been, you haven't lived”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

If you haven't been to Turks and Caicos, this is a must see!!!!! Northwest Point resort is the spot.
Imagine never having to fight for a spot at the pool. That is Northwest Point. Seclusion Seclusion Seclusion!!!!! We were looking for a spot where we could kick back and relax with a few of our friends. We found it. It was our own private resort. The accommodations were great, the staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant was great. I had the Lobster pasta and it was the BEST pasta dish I have ever had. We have found our paradise, and can't imagine ourselves going elsewhere.

Room Tip: We were in unit 303 building 2. Very spacious, spectacular view. No elevator so you have to use stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten v, General Manager at Northwest Point Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the secluded and private experience we offer at Northwest Point. We will definitely pass this message onto our staff and your compliments to our chef. WE hope to see you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    64
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
57
122
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked our room here since it was Christmas week and almost all other places in Grace Bay were booked already. We are a family of four so we figured a two bedroom Condo/apt will do nicley. We paid premium for the beachfront on the first floor, thinking this is a beachfront where you can hear gentle waves and have a terrace looking at the ocean. Once we got to our room, we found out you can hardly see the ocean and we were way away from the water, so I don't know why the charge extra for that?
By reading other reviews I knew I had to drive there on a rocky, unpaved road, so that was not a suprise to me.This place has been portrayed online like a private secluded sanctuary, which is completey misleading. The resturant was just a bunch of plastic chairs and two emplolyees. The first day we ordered from the limited selection of food they had on the menu .Everything was below average quality and high priced. As for the 16 miles of white sandy beach with a gentle breeze they claim to have,in actuality, for whatever reason this resort ONLY was VERY windy, cold, and the sand was completely covered with seaweed. They had a few permanent beach umberellas and 3 working chairs. This place may be near the 3rd best reef in the world or national forest as they call it, but it won't do you any good because you need a boat to get there, as well as scuba gear to see the reef. We drove everyday to Grace Bay and stayed on the beach there since it wasn't windy at all and was much cleaner and the water was warmer.
As for the room, I think they gave us the worst unit in the complex. The washer and dryer was not working and the main drain in the kitchen sink was clogged so we were not able to wash any dishes. Also, because of that the dishwasher was backing up and the water was leaking on the kitchen floor. We had no mop, broom or garbage can in the room. They fixed the sink 2 days later, and since it was the holidays and I can understand that. However, the appliances and the rooms were all worn out and the whole condo was in a bad shape. The washer was never fixed, so no laudry for us during that week, and the last 2 days we could not use the sink, since the fauset just FELL OFF.Also the SAFE inside the room had no lock, so I had to carry my passport and anything of the value with me, every where we went. During our entire stay we did not use any of the facilities including the hot tub, since it was mostly either cold, or broken during the last three days of our visit. I have attached some photos.
As for the service, God forbid you ask for towels from the front desk. Lisa (I think the manager there) will give you a whole song and dance about water conservation and nature, which I am not used to hear from a place that I pay for to stay. By the way she knew that our washer and dryer was not working, so who was she preaching to? Anyway I am not mad, I am glad it is over.
I have nothing positive to say about this place, and it is not nice, the way they have this place advertized all over the net. This is not a RESORT or A HOTEL. It is an apartment that belongs to some one, who is just making money of us.

Room Tip: Save you money and go Grace Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten v, General Manager at Northwest Point Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
I am very sorry to hear you did not have a pleasant experience at Northwest Point. We appreciate all feedback from guests so we can be sure to upgrade, fix and renovate any condo on our property that is not in great shape. The unit you stayed in has since been removed from our rental program and will not be rented until upgrades and renovations have been completed to bring this condo up the same standard as all our other condos on our property. We hope that the state of this one condo will not jeopardize and bring down the reputation of all other 48 beautifully furnished condos at Northwest Point which our condo owners take immense pride in. We are always more than happy to move our guests to an alternative condo if they are not happy with the condo they have rented as it is our goal to make sure each and every guest is satisfied with their stay. All our oceanfront condos are situated no further than 40 ft. from our beach with unobstructed views of the ocean. We have had many compliments on our restaurant which was made up off brand new furnishings and renovated right before our season started. We do not own any plastic chairs in our restaurant. December is a windy month for the whole island of Turks and Caicos with an average of 13 knots of wind. Depending on the wind direction this affects different sides of the island. Due to the nature of our location (right on the point) we have the advantage of utilizing both sides of the island having access to Malcom’s beach just around the corner. We apologize for the limited access of beach chairs and beach umbrellas during the season and have taken your comments to our board which has been approved for building more beach umbrellas and putting out brand new beach chairs for our guests to enjoy. We have great unspoiled coral reefs right off the shore which are unfortunately not marked with buoys however our staffs are always willing to show guests the designated snorkeling areas. Once again I am very disappointed by the state of the condo that was rented out to you and your family during the season and by no means acceptable, this condo will not be rented to any future guests until renovations have been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

First off this is a condo complex, not really a resort ..it has a small restaurant with limited choices and is only open at certain times, prices rather high...the rooms were nice except for 2 screen doors that fell apart on the first day when we tried to open them to the balcony(they were never fixed, despite repeated calls so basically your on your own in this place) ....maid service is an extra charge so we washed our own sheets and towels.... the staff was friendly, grounds were very nice along with the pool and hot tub....the beach pictures you see are misleading, you have very limited swimming area because a slimmy green reef starts about 6 feet off of the shore.. tried scuba diving but all you see is green slime....this part of the island was quite windy , Im talking about 20 to 30 mph winds constantly for 6 of the 7 days we were there, it made it quite chilly for swimming so we mainly hit the hot tub.... lastly this place is in the middle of nowhere, quite far from shopping and restaurants...the road getting to this complex is like 3 miles of very rough ,rocky potholed filled dirt road...I strongly suggest you rent a car if your going here and make sure the spare is there

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten v, General Manager at Northwest Point Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
I am sorry to hear you were not entirely happy with your stay at Northwest Point as we are always striving to please each and every guest to make sure they have an enjoyable experience. Our restaurant is open daily for lunch and dinner. We do ask for dinner reservations to be placed with our restaurant staff or front desk as we close the restaurant at 5pm if we have no one booked for dinner. Our chef is always eager to cook whether it is for a reservation of 1 or 30 people or more. I am glad you enjoyed your room as you will find our condos are very spacious, large and well decorated. I do apologize that the netting on your screen doors come out of the frame and not being able to be replace them during your stay. Upon being informed we ordered new screen doors for the condo which unfortunately takes several days to ship in from the states and have since been replaced with brand new ones. We do not advertise that we offer complimentary housekeeping service for any of our condo rentals at Northwest Point; all condos are fully equipped with washers, dryers and full size kitchen equipment for all your cooking and laundry needs. We provide beach towels, bath towels, hand towels, face clothes, bath mats and full linen supplies to all our guests and our housekeeping staff is available if you would like to have your condo cleaned and turned over with fresh towels and linens at a minimal fee. I am pleased to hear that our staff was friendly and will be sure to let them know you kind comments. Thanks for highlighting the positives along with your review and glad you enjoyed our lovely grounds and swimming pool area. Unfortunately when it’s windy on the island we do tend to get some sea grass in the ocean, between the sea grass we have beautiful unspoiled coral reefs and a large abundance of sea life. We are known for our great unspoiled shore snorkeling which hundreds of guests get to enjoy all year round. We are situated away from the “Hussle and Bussle” of town and the large resorts offering privacy and seclusion which is not for everyone. Even though we are remote remember the island is only 20 Miles long so no resort, shop, restaurant, or activity will be longer than a 15 -20 miles drive from the resort. We recommend all our guests to rent a car due to the nature of our location. Once again we do apologize for the maintenance issue with the screen doors and will be sure to have more in stock for all our busy seasons ahead. We appreciate all feedback and comments from our guests so we can continue to improve the overall experience of each and every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Visited Northwest Point Resort on a recent business trip to Turks and Caicos and would happily return again. Kirsten and Rachel created a personal, warm, and inviting atmosphere I cant imagine finding at bigger resorts. While visiting at near peak time, one barely notices other guests as the grounds are sprawling and buildings distanced far apart. The beach is pristine, pool and hot tub areas spacious, and restaurant just enough to satisfy you for an island meal. My room was a massive 3 bedroom / 3 bath which and incredibly well appointed with 2 private terraces, spacious living room, and a large kitchen. If you are looking for 24/7 pampering and a lively social environment, this is not the place. If you are, however, looking to escape the crowds and truly feel off the grid, Northwest Point is a great bet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten v, General Manager at Northwest Point Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind comments about your stay with us. You summed it all up in a great way. A place to unwind and stay away from the hustle & bustle. I have shared your review on our staff notice board for all our staff to read. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your three bedroom condo and took full advantage of our pristine and remote location. I am sure by now you are all settled back into reality and can take a look at some great photo's you took on your vacation to bring you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I traveled to Turks and Caicos with our 2 year old daughter for a week in January. We wanted to stay some where a little more remote and not overrun with crowds so we selected Northwest point and could not have been happier. We typically use services like AirBnb and VRBO (vacation rental by owner) to find other peoples homes to rent. In my opinion you get a lot more value than a mainstream hotel room. Plus we typically don't like to eat 3 meals a day in restaurants on vacation and a condo often has more amenities than a hotel room would have.

On that topic, our condo was very lovely. Very nicely furnished with a beautiful view of the turquoise ocean water from most of the condo (only the second bedroom was lacking the view). The kitchen was well supplied (just add food), and we used it often to make ourselves numerous meals. The covered private deck had a 180 degree view the water and was quite and wonderful for eating and reading after the sun (and our daughter) had gone down.

Northwest Point itself is also very nice. It is definitely off the beaten path, just like we wanted. There is a beautiful pool and warm hot tub, as well as several miles of pristine beach frontage. Given the quite end of the island it's on, we had much of the beach to ourselves and never had to worry about finding an open beach chair, or a spot at the pool. The restaurant on the property is convenient and the staff was friendly.

Given its remoteness you'll probably want to rent a car and there isn't much in the way of shopping in the immediate vicinity, but the island is only 15 miles across so every possible activity is easily accessible. A few reviewers have mentioned the gravel road. I wanted to point out that same road is also used to access the next resort over that has rooms upward of $14,000 a night. The road did not affect my experience in any way. It's a remote tropical island not Miami Beach.

Overall if your looking for a quite getaway on a remote tropical island where you and your family can family can relax without the throngs of other vacationers constantly in your space, Northwest point is exactly where you want to be. We will definitely stay here again and look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten v, General Manager at Northwest Point Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Northwest Point with everyone. We are happy to learn that you had a great experience. Thanks for mentioning every aspect that makes Northwest Point a very special location, completely different from the busy resorts you will find in Grace bay and the perfect getaway destination for those looking to escape the crowds. We hope we can count on you as our guest for many more years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Travelling to tropical destinations has one HUGE drawback - you are besieged by crowds of other tourists. Not at the NWP Resort. Far enough (car is essential) yet close to everything (20 minutes to cover any distance), it is a perfect place for the discerning traveler. Beach - pristine and almost empty, sea - turquoise as it only gets in these islands, constant trade winds that keep you cool (don't forget the sunscreen - it's deceptive, how you don't feel your skin burn!!!!) - this is the place to get away from it all. Don't come here if you need a swim-up bar, loud disco or constant din of hundreds of others. Also, if you enjoy fighting for space on the beach and "reserving" your beach chair with a towel - this may not be place for you. Oh, and no "all you can it buffets", so not recommended for Wal-Mart shoppers. Instead, a place for grown-ups to get away from it all. This is why the super-rich buy private islands. You don't have to, you can stay at NWP and get the same experience.

Room Tip: Ocean view or Ocean Front rooms recommended. Car rental is essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten v, Manager at Northwest Point Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Northwest Point is a very special place in a very unique setting. We are pleased to hear that your experience is exactly what we wish for all our guests. You hit the description for our location right on. Away from the "hustle and bustle" of the big crowds, if you enjoy remote, pristine, tranquil and unspoiled locations this is the spot for you. Thanks again for leaving a review as this is a huge help for any guest wanting to vacation away from it all and experience a private island feel. We hope to see you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Granby, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The condo we rented, and the our experiences at the resort from Christmas Eve until New Years Eve was wonderful! Their newly opened restaurant served a delightful grouper dinner with rice and "peas" which is actually black beans- we all loved it at this outdoor restaurant our first night there. After leaving the airport in a rented car from Thrifty Car rental which we booked October we picked up groceries at IGA before driving down to the resort. Groceries are a little more expensive than in some parts of the US, but we figured it would be less expensive to prepare our own food, than to eat out all the time , especially too because we like to cook. The kitchen was well set up for our cooking needs. We loved the beach theme decor of our rental condo with tropical fish, shells, ocean , and the wrap around balcony. Nice ocean breeze, no need to use the air conditioning. We noticed a sandy court space for setting up a volley ball net in front of our unit, but never got around to asking to use this. Coral reefs with beautiful fish were right in front of the condo!!! To the right of the white buoy and about 100 feet out, and another 50 feet out.... watch where other people snorkel and ask them to find good spots. Thrilled to see the reefs and gorgeous fish.Enjoyed the beach away from crowds.
. I would suggest visiting Malcom beach, Smiths Reef, and the Coral Gardens... Kirsten and her partner were very helpful in suggesting many activities. Gave us a cell phone to use while in the area but did not need it , (for local calls) . We would go back again... other places to see and experience that we did not do yet. This resort is great for people who want to experience the place on their own without all the regular tourist crowd. We brought our own kites.

Room Tip: no fitness center- swimming in the ocean and walking for fitness. kids can make their own fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten v, Manager at Northwest Point Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. It's always very satisfying for management and staff to hear from our guests and of course to hear that it was such an enjoyable stay. We appreciate all feedback from all of our guests as we are always looking at ways to make our guests stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We have a very special location. I will pass on your compliments to our local chef Eddy. The prices on the island for food are more expensive than in the states and its great you took advantage of your fully equipped kitchen in your condo to prepare your meals. We do indeed have great snorkel spots right off the shore to enjoy our unspoiled reefs and abundant marine life. I am pleased to hear you would like to return to the resort and we look forward to having you and your family stay with us again anytime to explore the rest of the island and to continue discovering more "secret "snorkel locations in our vicinity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northwest Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwest Point Resort

Also Known As:
Northwest Point Hotel Providenciales
Northwest Point Hotel
Northwest Point Providenciales
Northwest Point Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales
Address: Northwest Point, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#20 Romantic Hotel in Providenciales
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Northwest Point Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northwest Point Resort is located on 16 miles of white sand beach on the northwest marine park on the main island of Provo in Turks and Caicos. The resort is private, affordable and offers guests a relaxing vacation. With an oversized heated pool and jacuzzi tub the resort is ocean front. Condo's are fully furnished suites. Kitchen amenities include fridge, stove, washer dryer, dishwasher, King, Queen and single beds. Condos have multiple bathrooms and all of them have balconies with spectacular views of the ocean. The Caribbean inspired suites are spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Linens are included and any offsite activities can be organized by our staff at the request of our guests. Enjoy strolling our private beach or relaxing on lounge chairs pool side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Northwest Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northwest Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.