We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad and the ugly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Northwest Point Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Northwest Point Resort to your Saves list
Northwest Point Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Northwest Point, Providenciales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Macedon, New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the ugly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

First off this is a condo complex, not really a resort ..it has a small restaurant with limited choices and is only open at certain times, prices rather high...the rooms were nice except for 2 screen doors that fell apart on the first day when we tried to open them to the balcony(they were never fixed, despite repeated calls so basically your on your own in this place) ....maid service is an extra charge so we washed our own sheets and towels.... the staff was friendly, grounds were very nice along with the pool and hot tub....the beach pictures you see are misleading, you have very limited swimming area because a slimmy green reef starts about 6 feet off of the shore.. tried scuba diving but all you see is green slime....this part of the island was quite windy , Im talking about 20 to 30 mph winds constantly for 6 of the 7 days we were there, it made it quite chilly for swimming so we mainly hit the hot tub.... lastly this place is in the middle of nowhere, quite far from shopping and restaurants...the road getting to this complex is like 3 miles of very rough ,rocky potholed filled dirt road...I strongly suggest you rent a car if your going here and make sure the spare is there

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten v, General Manager at Northwest Point Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
I am sorry to hear you were not entirely happy with your stay at Northwest Point as we are always striving to please each and every guest to make sure they have an enjoyable experience. Our restaurant is open daily for lunch and dinner. We do ask for dinner reservations to be placed with our restaurant staff or front desk as we close the restaurant at 5pm if we have no one booked for dinner. Our chef is always eager to cook whether it is for a reservation of 1 or 30 people or more. I am glad you enjoyed your room as you will find our condos are very spacious, large and well decorated. I do apologize that the netting on your screen doors come out of the frame and not being able to be replace them during your stay. Upon being informed we ordered new screen doors for the condo which unfortunately takes several days to ship in from the states and have since been replaced with brand new ones. We do not advertise that we offer complimentary housekeeping service for any of our condo rentals at Northwest Point; all condos are fully equipped with washers, dryers and full size kitchen equipment for all your cooking and laundry needs. We provide beach towels, bath towels, hand towels, face clothes, bath mats and full linen supplies to all our guests and our housekeeping staff is available if you would like to have your condo cleaned and turned over with fresh towels and linens at a minimal fee. I am pleased to hear that our staff was friendly and will be sure to let them know you kind comments. Thanks for highlighting the positives along with your review and glad you enjoyed our lovely grounds and swimming pool area. Unfortunately when it’s windy on the island we do tend to get some sea grass in the ocean, between the sea grass we have beautiful unspoiled coral reefs and a large abundance of sea life. We are known for our great unspoiled shore snorkeling which hundreds of guests get to enjoy all year round. We are situated away from the “Hussle and Bussle” of town and the large resorts offering privacy and seclusion which is not for everyone. Even though we are remote remember the island is only 20 Miles long so no resort, shop, restaurant, or activity will be longer than a 15 -20 miles drive from the resort. We recommend all our guests to rent a car due to the nature of our location. Once again we do apologize for the maintenance issue with the screen doors and will be sure to have more in stock for all our busy seasons ahead. We appreciate all feedback and comments from our guests so we can continue to improve the overall experience of each and every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    69
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
58
132
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Visited Northwest Point Resort on a recent business trip to Turks and Caicos and would happily return again. Kirsten and Rachel created a personal, warm, and inviting atmosphere I cant imagine finding at bigger resorts. While visiting at near peak time, one barely notices other guests as the grounds are sprawling and buildings distanced far apart. The beach is pristine, pool and hot tub areas spacious, and restaurant just enough to satisfy you for an island meal. My room was a massive 3 bedroom / 3 bath which and incredibly well appointed with 2 private terraces, spacious living room, and a large kitchen. If you are looking for 24/7 pampering and a lively social environment, this is not the place. If you are, however, looking to escape the crowds and truly feel off the grid, Northwest Point is a great bet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten v, General Manager at Northwest Point Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind comments about your stay with us. You summed it all up in a great way. A place to unwind and stay away from the hustle & bustle. I have shared your review on our staff notice board for all our staff to read. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your three bedroom condo and took full advantage of our pristine and remote location. I am sure by now you are all settled back into reality and can take a look at some great photo's you took on your vacation to bring you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I traveled to Turks and Caicos with our 2 year old daughter for a week in January. We wanted to stay some where a little more remote and not overrun with crowds so we selected Northwest point and could not have been happier. We typically use services like AirBnb and VRBO (vacation rental by owner) to find other peoples homes to rent. In my opinion you get a lot more value than a mainstream hotel room. Plus we typically don't like to eat 3 meals a day in restaurants on vacation and a condo often has more amenities than a hotel room would have.

On that topic, our condo was very lovely. Very nicely furnished with a beautiful view of the turquoise ocean water from most of the condo (only the second bedroom was lacking the view). The kitchen was well supplied (just add food), and we used it often to make ourselves numerous meals. The covered private deck had a 180 degree view the water and was quite and wonderful for eating and reading after the sun (and our daughter) had gone down.

Northwest Point itself is also very nice. It is definitely off the beaten path, just like we wanted. There is a beautiful pool and warm hot tub, as well as several miles of pristine beach frontage. Given the quite end of the island it's on, we had much of the beach to ourselves and never had to worry about finding an open beach chair, or a spot at the pool. The restaurant on the property is convenient and the staff was friendly.

Given its remoteness you'll probably want to rent a car and there isn't much in the way of shopping in the immediate vicinity, but the island is only 15 miles across so every possible activity is easily accessible. A few reviewers have mentioned the gravel road. I wanted to point out that same road is also used to access the next resort over that has rooms upward of $14,000 a night. The road did not affect my experience in any way. It's a remote tropical island not Miami Beach.

Overall if your looking for a quite getaway on a remote tropical island where you and your family can family can relax without the throngs of other vacationers constantly in your space, Northwest point is exactly where you want to be. We will definitely stay here again and look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten v, General Manager at Northwest Point Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Northwest Point with everyone. We are happy to learn that you had a great experience. Thanks for mentioning every aspect that makes Northwest Point a very special location, completely different from the busy resorts you will find in Grace bay and the perfect getaway destination for those looking to escape the crowds. We hope we can count on you as our guest for many more years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Travelling to tropical destinations has one HUGE drawback - you are besieged by crowds of other tourists. Not at the NWP Resort. Far enough (car is essential) yet close to everything (20 minutes to cover any distance), it is a perfect place for the discerning traveler. Beach - pristine and almost empty, sea - turquoise as it only gets in these islands, constant trade winds that keep you cool (don't forget the sunscreen - it's deceptive, how you don't feel your skin burn!!!!) - this is the place to get away from it all. Don't come here if you need a swim-up bar, loud disco or constant din of hundreds of others. Also, if you enjoy fighting for space on the beach and "reserving" your beach chair with a towel - this may not be place for you. Oh, and no "all you can it buffets", so not recommended for Wal-Mart shoppers. Instead, a place for grown-ups to get away from it all. This is why the super-rich buy private islands. You don't have to, you can stay at NWP and get the same experience.

Room Tip: Ocean view or Ocean Front rooms recommended. Car rental is essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten v, Manager at Northwest Point Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Northwest Point is a very special place in a very unique setting. We are pleased to hear that your experience is exactly what we wish for all our guests. You hit the description for our location right on. Away from the "hustle and bustle" of the big crowds, if you enjoy remote, pristine, tranquil and unspoiled locations this is the spot for you. Thanks again for leaving a review as this is a huge help for any guest wanting to vacation away from it all and experience a private island feel. We hope to see you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Granby, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The condo we rented, and the our experiences at the resort from Christmas Eve until New Years Eve was wonderful! Their newly opened restaurant served a delightful grouper dinner with rice and "peas" which is actually black beans- we all loved it at this outdoor restaurant our first night there. After leaving the airport in a rented car from Thrifty Car rental which we booked October we picked up groceries at IGA before driving down to the resort. Groceries are a little more expensive than in some parts of the US, but we figured it would be less expensive to prepare our own food, than to eat out all the time , especially too because we like to cook. The kitchen was well set up for our cooking needs. We loved the beach theme decor of our rental condo with tropical fish, shells, ocean , and the wrap around balcony. Nice ocean breeze, no need to use the air conditioning. We noticed a sandy court space for setting up a volley ball net in front of our unit, but never got around to asking to use this. Coral reefs with beautiful fish were right in front of the condo!!! To the right of the white buoy and about 100 feet out, and another 50 feet out.... watch where other people snorkel and ask them to find good spots. Thrilled to see the reefs and gorgeous fish.Enjoyed the beach away from crowds.
. I would suggest visiting Malcom beach, Smiths Reef, and the Coral Gardens... Kirsten and her partner were very helpful in suggesting many activities. Gave us a cell phone to use while in the area but did not need it , (for local calls) . We would go back again... other places to see and experience that we did not do yet. This resort is great for people who want to experience the place on their own without all the regular tourist crowd. We brought our own kites.

Room Tip: no fitness center- swimming in the ocean and walking for fitness. kids can make their own fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten v, Manager at Northwest Point Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. It's always very satisfying for management and staff to hear from our guests and of course to hear that it was such an enjoyable stay. We appreciate all feedback from all of our guests as we are always looking at ways to make our guests stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We have a very special location. I will pass on your compliments to our local chef Eddy. The prices on the island for food are more expensive than in the states and its great you took advantage of your fully equipped kitchen in your condo to prepare your meals. We do indeed have great snorkel spots right off the shore to enjoy our unspoiled reefs and abundant marine life. I am pleased to hear you would like to return to the resort and we look forward to having you and your family stay with us again anytime to explore the rest of the island and to continue discovering more "secret "snorkel locations in our vicinity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Windy and cold: this part of the island gets a lot of wind which makes it cold to use the beach or to sit on balcony. So remote that you will need to rent a car. 4.4 kilometer of rough dirt road after a 4 kilometers of narrow and dangerous road. You have no choice but to use these roads when coming to or leaving the place. This is not a resort! They are Individually owned condos managed by people who don't care. They don't like to give you towels or hear there is a problem. Not maintained well! Hot tub was out of order for a week. Broken glass in swimming pool cut my son's toe the first day. Sleeper sofa didn't work. Broken beach chairs. Three kayaks, but one set of paddles. Only six beach umbrellas. Restaurant is closed most of the time. Seaweed growth in the beach makes it unpleasant to go in the water.
Their advertisement is misleading. This place does not have amenities of a resort nor it has the service you expect to get. There is no "gentle breeze" as they claim. You get 50 mph wind that slams your door shut so hard that it shakes the building.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten v, Manager at Northwest Point Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
The weather we can't control, even though NWP is located on the point it is windy across the entire island during this time of year, it is no secret that we are located on a secluded beautiful, quiet pristine 16 mile ocean front property beside a marine park. We recommend all of our guests to rent a car due to the nature of our location on all our advertising sites. The registered name dating back to 1996 is northwest point resort, even though we are a condo rental property. We go to great lengths to provide bath, beach, hand,and face towels for every guest. Each condo is also equipped with a washer and a dryer. We do apologize the hot tub was not functioning during the time of your stay we had addressed the problem right away with property management. We were not aware of a guest cutting his toe in the pool had we known we would have investigated it right away. Had we been informed about the sofa bed not functioning we would have swapped it with another one right away, at no point were we notified. The restaurant is open for the majority of the day depending on the number of guests staying with us. The beach is groomed daily, and occasionally on a windy day sea grass does wash up on shore depending on the wind direction. Northwest Point is not for everyone, it is designed for those that like to relax away from the crowds, it is a beautiful by nature property located next to the third largest coral reef system in the world. World class snorkeling is located right off our shores. During your stay with us 200 other guests thoroughly enjoyed their vacation and many commented on returning next year. I am sorry to hear you and your family did not enjoy your stay with us.

Lisa Franklin
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

A great place to get away. My family and I enjoyed long walks past the northwest point and the osprey nest. We searched for shells, my 9 year old son and 11 year old daughter snorkeled in pristine shallow waters. We also used this location as a launching point to Malcolm Beach and Taylor Bay. The one thing that we do recommend is not to use car rental.com or budget for your car rental. We were given a reservation number, but there was no car. The cab fares to Northwest Point are ridiculous $65.00. We ended up getting a ride to Grace Bay from a local islander OBrien Forbes. Grace Bay rentals were able to get us a car, awesome company. Lisa and Kirsten from Northwest Point tried their bests to help us find a car and the restaraunt was helpful when we did not have a car. We went to Graceway IGA to pick up groceries as well as a little French bakery in Grace Bay for some wonderful, desserts. We chose a condo/villa for us to relax,cook and have the comforts of home base, it worked. Thank you Northwest Point, when we decide to return to a tropical island we will choose Northwest again!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten v, General Manager at Northwest Point Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review on Northwest Point. It was great having you and your family stay with us and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your vacation. The surrounding areas are truly beautiful and its great when our guests take full advantage of its private location for snorkeling, swimming and exploring. It is very unfortunate that rental.com over booked your car rental and I can definitely recommend Grace Bay car rentals for any guests coming to Providenciales, best car rental service on the island by far. Safe travels home today and we look forward to seeing you and your family back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northwest Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwest Point Resort

Address: Northwest Point, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Northwest Point Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northwest Point Resort is located on 16 miles of white sand beach on the northwest marine park on the main island of Provo in Turks and Caicos. The resort is private, affordable and offers guests a relaxing vacation. With an oversized heated pool and jacuzzi tub the resort is ocean front. Condo's are fully furnished suites. Kitchen amenities include fridge, stove, washer dryer, dishwasher, King, Queen and single beds. Condos have multiple bathrooms and all of them have balconies with spectacular views of the ocean. The Caribbean inspired suites are spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Linens are included and any offsite activities can be organized by our staff at the request of our guests. Enjoy strolling our private beach or relaxing on lounge chairs pool side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Northwest Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwest Point Hotel Providenciales
Northwest Point Providenciales
Northwest Point Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northwest Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.