We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Somerset is Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Somerset on Grace Bay

Save Saved
You added The Somerset on Grace Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Somerset on Grace Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% off 5 nights
Ranked #22 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Austin, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Somerset is Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

The Somerset really does look like the amazing pictures on their website. When my husband and I arrived at the Somerset we were thrilled and felt like we walked into a post card. The water really is that blue & the pool is perfect. We love lounging by the pool and the beach so we expected a lot from both; The Somerset pool and Grace Bay delieverd! The grounds are gorgous and manicured. We loved the small luxury of the resort and prefer it 100 times over the large scale luxury resort.

The service at The Somerset was great! All of the staff were friendly and jumped to help with anything. They were prompt with any requests. I couldn't figure out how to use the entertainment system and the staff was patient and prompt with their help!

We were married in Turks and Caicos. We were married in the beach in front of the resort, with cocktail hour by the infinity pool, and the reception at the croquet lawn. After viewing the other resorts on the island, Craig and I picked the best place to hold a wedding. They olimit weddings to only 1 wedding per weekend. The wedding planner Diane from Island Harmony made the wedding perfect and worked closely with the Somerset to meet every request. Diane is highly recommended.

Our 1 bedroom ocean view suit was perfect and beautiful. It was large and well the views, as previously discussed, were priceless. The maids did a wonderful job cleaning even when we were messy. The room was clean and perfect for my husband and I.

The poolside bar was great, but I wish they had an extended food selection. Additionally, the restaurant for The Somerset is highly rated, but not overlooking the beautiful water.

Overall, I highly recommend The Somerset from everyone in there twenties through 70's. My husband and I loved it as well as our family!

There is not a spa at the resort, but they recommend the next door resort or can arrange to have spa services in your room.

The water toys were great. We kayaked and took out the hobby cat (the staff will show you how to use). The conceirge can help with any excurisions you may want & they are very helpful. --> the locals on Turks and Caicos are friendly and welcoming!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    53
    27
    15
    6
See reviews for
117
130
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

The Somerset is top notch. The staff is so accommodating and friendly, willing to do anything for you! The condo (3 bedroom/3 bath ocean front) we stayed in was beautifully decorated, clean and had amazing views. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathrooms were absolutely heavenly! The kitchen was to die for with all Viking appliances and everything you need to cook a meal if you wish. The terrace spanned the entire front of the building and was complete with a dining table for 8, a viking grill and hot tub. We loved waking up in the morning and having breakfast and coffee on the terrace while looking out at Grace bay which is just stunning.

Stay at The Somerset if you can and you WILL NOT be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

This is a beautiful hotel with luxurious rooms on one of the most gorgeous beaches in the world. The staff is always attentive and you can truly unwind and relax in a stunning setting. This is my second time at this hotel and I will return.
If you are looking for busy nightlife, however, this is not for you. It is very quiet here.
If you are looking for a beautiful locale to relax, unwind, and feel pampered on a gorgeous beach setting (also a beautiful infinity pool), then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

This is the second year we have stayed at the Somerset and we're sad to say that we had a much more enjoyable experience last year. The location can't be beat and the rooms are very nice and spacious. However, we had a few issues with the service and most likely won't return to Turks next year. We had move out of our first room at 11 pm our first night because the hot water heater was broken and we couldn't shower. They attempted to fix it for more than 5 hours and we asked to move earlier (mostly because we had young children that needed to go to bed) but were told that they could fix it and we needed to wait. It just wasn't a great way to start out the vacation. Last year the resort wasn't very crowded when we came so we didn't have to deal with issues like waiting for 1 1/2 hours for food from the pool bar or the lack of towels and umbrellas for the beach. Overall we still had a lovely vacation and the Somerset is a prime location. If you're more about ambiance than service this is your place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

beautiful hotel with great staff! The transfer from the airport to the hotel took about 20 minutes; upon arrival at the resort after a quick check-in I was given a tour of my one bedroom ocean view suite. Large living area with plenty of seating, state of the art electronic equipment (a bit confusing for a techno challenged person like me) for listening to Caribbean steel drums while enjoying your suite. A full kitchen with all high end appliances, the best of which (and the only one I used) was a large refrigerator and freezer for cold beverages. A ½ bath in the living area, and a full, large and well appointed bathroom with full shower and tub in the bedroom. Very comfortable king size bed in the bedroom
The entire staff is lovely, from the front desk staff, to the wonderful people at O’Soleil, the elegant restaurant overlooking the cricket lawn and Lunasea the FUN pool bar and grill! Do not miss the conch at Lunasea, it is delicious! The best part of all is the gorgeous white powder sand beach and the amazingly clear and warm water! Take plenty of sunscreen and enjoy the entire day on the beach. You will; not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed in one of the Garden View Garden Cottages for five days and found it to be a wonderful experience. The resort is a quick ride from the airport (about fifteen minutes). Upon arrival, the staff was very friendly, and our one-year old quickly made friends with Winston, one of the jack-of-all-trades at the hotel. Most of the resort's rooms have full kitchens with Viking appliances and washer/dryer, which made cooking and cleaning easy.

The main reason you'll come to the Somerset is the beach, of course, and this beach did not disappoint. The resort is right on the beach, and even our Garden View cottage was only a three minute walk to the beach (the entire walk was within the hotel property). The waves were quite gentle and our one-year old had no problems playing in the water and the sand. The hotel also has a sizable zero-entry swimming pool and a regular pool.

The grocery store is a short ride away, and the hotel staff dropped us off and picked us up free of charge when they were making trips to/from the airport, which was very generous.

Right next to the pool there is an on-site restaurant (the Lunasea) that serves typical American fare. It's good food but on the expensive side, although the convenience is good.

We did go to the hotel's main restaurant (O'Soleil), although our son nearly set the place on fire when he knocked over the candle on the table (the staff had a good sense of humor). The food was quite good and the staff was attentive.

The concierge arranged a snorkeling tour that included a conch dive and we found it to be very worthwhile.

The minuses were few - we did have a few ants in the room. They didn't mar the experience, but the hotel staff's response suggested that there wasn't much they could do other than provide some spray (which they did).

All in all it was a great experience and we would recommend it for couples looking for a romantic getaway or families looking for a good beach experience. We can't wait to go back, and we're sure our son will look for Winston again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

My wife & I just spent a wonderful week at the Somerset. We stayed in a one bedroom suite in the Stirling House---which was luxuriously wonderful. Huge amount of space for a 1BR. Balcony, dining area, living area, kitchen with all Viking appliances, walkin shower, bath, dressing area and sweet king bed. Special mention must be made of Eliphat at the beach who taught us how to sail! And the entire front desk & concierge staff--esp. Eve & Clarissa. The beach area at the Somerset is crystal clear aqua-blue water!!! There is nowhere we've seen nicer water. We would definitely stay here again!! Comparing Somerset to Seven stars, Regent Palms, Gansevoort & West Bay club--they are all nice but Somerset's rooms are huge by comparison. Almost anywhere is wonderful--go where you get the best deal. On our next trip we hope Somerset upgrades the watercraft to include backs on their kayaks & more than one working Hobie cat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Somerset on Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerset on Grace Bay

Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Somerset on Grace Bay 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset, situated on pristine beach front property, features 53 suites ranging from 1,353 to 5,327 square feet. Each with ample living, dining and entertaining spaces and gourmet kitchens equipped with Viking appliances. The Somerset is infused with a sophistication that is as elegant as it is casual using sumptuous local textures, splashes of bright Caribbean colors and warm washes of cream and dark mahogany. The Somerset is an ideal venue for romantic interludes, family holidays and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Somerset on Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerset On Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Somerset On Grace Bay Providenciales
Somerset Grace Bay
Somerset On Grace Bay Hotel
The Somerset On Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Somerset on Grace Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.