We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Somerset on Grace Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Somerset on Grace Bay to your Saves list
The Somerset on Grace Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% off 5 nights
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Couldn't have been more pleased with my stay at The Somerset! I knew it would be a great week when I pulled in and was instantly greeted with cold towels, drinks, and someone to take all of our luggage. From there it only got better.

I was able to experience both a garden unit and an ocean front estate, and both were incredible. The garden units look out onto a beautiful field that is often used for soccer and croquet, and is also just a stones throw away from the continental breakfast. The ocean estates have magnificent views, and even if on the ground level the convenience to the beach and pool sure outweigh the lack of a spectacular view. The rooms themselves are beautifully furnished and have nice finishes.

The staff are some of the friendliest people in the world.

Lastly, the water sports that the resort offers are where it's at. The Hobies, paddle boards, kayaks, and snorkeling equipment can fill up a whole week on their own. The resort also has a lot of fun activities like the Tuesday night bbq and occasionally a movie night on the field outside the garden units.

Truly a one of a kind resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    55
    27
    15
    6
See reviews for
125
140
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

WOW what a week!!! The resort is simply beautiful and the crystal water and white sand is amazing, pictures do not do it justice!!! The resort is staffed with the best people, Slevonya,Winston aka Snoopi, Dayanna,Alicia,Kay, Mickey and Ronald just to name a few. They always had smiles on their face and always asked if we were having a good time and if there was anything that they could help us with. The resort's location is perfect, shorts walks on the beach to some great restaurants and shopping. Or take a bike ride into town and let's not forget about the great spa at the somerset I had a facial and body scrub and my husband had the massage the best!

We also met some of the friendliest guest in the resort, hanging out with them and just totally enjoying Paradise with our new found friends. Lynn ny

Room Tip: All the villas are beautiful, however we had the villa on the 3rd floor an ocean view which was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I just returned from the Somerset after celebrating my July 4th Birthday! In one word my stay was AMAZING! The property is beautiful with gorgeous villas, an infinity pool, and the most pristine beach that I have ever seen.I especially want to commend the AMAZING staff who went above and beyond to make sure I had a great birthday.I was blown away when a gift basket and personalized birthday card was brought to my room at check-in! The spa and food was also wonderful. A special shout out to key staff:Lachelle, Carmen, Alicia, Clifton, Winston, Katia, Michelle, Leonela, Arlean, the list goes on.All of the staff provided first class service. I can't wait to return for the Lobster fest in the Spring!!! I have told all of my friends that the Somerset definitely is the place to visit for a relaxing getaway with first class service. ---Donna E.from Atlanta

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

What a beautiful resort! A one week stay at the Somerset was the perfect combination of relaxation and adventure. The rooms and grounds are exquisite, the frozen drinks are refreshing and the beach is a little slice of paradise. To burn off some of those vacation calories or spend some time in the crystal blue waters, the resort offers paddle boards, kayaks, and sailboats to take out whenever you please. I stayed at the resort with my friend and her family and I found it to be a wonderful place for families, couples, or friend groups- there is a little something for everybody! I left feeling relaxed, refreshed, and blessed to have been able to spend time at a beautiful resort with my friend. From a girl that knows luxury, this hotel comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: I stayed in a villa on the croquet lawn and it was quiet, spacious, and just a short walk to the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have been to Turks and Caicos several times for the past seven years and I have to say that The Somerset on Grace Bay is the best resort that I have ever stayed at. The location was stunning, the service was great and the amenities were great. If yo u are looking for a vacation with the family on a peaceful island - this is definitely the place!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter, but still have an ocean view on the top floor. We stayed in Cottage 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was a return trip for me. I had been at the Somerset in the winter and was so enamored that I asked for a return visit for our anniversary in June. Back int he winter the staff had talked about the opening of a Spa at the Resort, and I was doubly curious to see how the spa would compete with the others on island (there are a number of world class spas which I have favored) and greatly anticipating the new experience. We decided to try a different service everyday - well I had, my husband was only interested in the massage. The first day I started with a mani/pedi - and it was excellent. The service area for this treatment was on the expansive verandah on the side of the reception building - it was a delightful setting, so refreshing to be outside and not smell the nail polish chemicals. The second day I had a facial, I couldn't pick so I asked the therapist to customize one for my skin - it was amazing, I convinced my husband to try it the next day and he said it was an amazing experience. The next day I had detox body wrap, guaranteed to help with my weight lose attempt, and yes it did work - shockingly - I was a sceptic. The final day both of us had a massage - deep tissue for my husband, and a follow up detox massage for me. The services we received were amongst the best we have experienced any where. The spa is small (two treatment rooms, a steam room and the mani/pedi area)and intimate like the Resort, very well appointed and quite lovely. The weather in June was better than in the winter - balmy days, warm ocean water, and cooler evenings. Reminds me of Tahiti. The staff were just as friendly and welcomed us back - made us feel like homecoming. I can hardly wait to go back - there is a yoga retreat in October I am aiming for and a writer's workshop in November - difficult decision.

Room Tip: Really enjoyed the off season!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Just returned from 5 night stay. The Somerset on Grace Bay is an amazingly beautiful resort. None of the pictures I've seen actually due it justice. Our family of four, parents and two adult children, stayed in a two bedroom ocean view penthouse villa that was extremely spacious, beautifully decorated, immaculately maintained and extremely comfortable from the moment we arrived. The view from the balcony was stunning (although dining table had only 3 chairs, making family game of Bananagrams on the balcony difficult) & perfect for relaxing with a good book. If you don't bring one of your own, no worries. The villa includes a beautiful bookcase complete with books. Also, another huge armoire in the breezeway (one of the many picturesque & relaxing spots on the resort) is filled with a good selection of novels as well as coffee table books which chronicle TCI history and culture. Bathrooms were beautifully done in marble and limestone with separate showers, water closets. Master bath included spacious dressing room and huge soaker tub with air jets. Kitchen was enormous, very well equipped & included Viking appliances. As perfect as the accommodations were, we quickly changed into our swimwear and headed to the most beautifully tranquil beach I've ever been on. (Have lived on Oahu & visited Bahamas, Jamaica, Mexico & Belize--I'd put Grace Bay right at the top). Unlike the mega-resort all inclusives, the beach at the Somerset is sparsely populated & feels like your own private paradise. Plenty of water activities & the beach staff is very helpful. Kayaks, paddle boards, Hobie cats, snorkel gear are readily available & we enjoyed them all, no waiting. Only two restaurants on the property, food & drinks at both were outstanding! Resort is perfectly located, we enjoyed walking along the beach to nearby reef for excellent snorkeling where an unbelievable variety & number of fish & coral can be seen right off the beach! Got great pictures! Quaint little town with other food options & shopping is within easy walking/biking distance so no need to bother with hassle of rental car. Enjoyed a pleasant bike ride into town on nice complimentary beach cruisers. Encountered genuinely friendly local townspeople with many stopping to say hello and welcome us to their island, on our stroll back from dinner one evening. Dinner at Mr Grouper's was rustic atmosphere with absolutely delicious locally prepared and reasonably priced food! Spa is very small & possibly recently opened; however, extremely accommodating as they managed to provide excellent body massages to 3 in our party on short notice the morning we left. This was as near perfect a vacation destination as we've ever experienced. Am a little puzzled by others observations regarding lackluster service. Service is not overbearing nor artificially friendly yet staff was anticipatory & all our requests were promptly & courteously attended to. Would highly recommend this resort for couples, families or girlfriends getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Somerset on Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerset on Grace Bay

Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#11 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#12 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Somerset on Grace Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 4.6 Acres of the world-famous Turks and Caicos beach, The Somerset on Grace Bay is an intimate luxury resort where couples and families alike enjoy treasured times together. The five-star resort features 53 one- to five-bedroom luxury villas ranging from 1,400 to 5,300 sq. Ft. Each with ample living, dining and entertaining spaces and gourmet kitchens equipped with Viking appliances. Two restaurants and bars, two freshwater pools, fitness center, full service spa with in-suite spa services, a range of activities on land and sea, complimentary Caicos Kids Club, and concierge services complement your family vacation, group getaway or romantic interlude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Somerset on Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerset On Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Somerset On Grace Bay Providenciales
Somerset Grace Bay
Somerset On Grace Bay Hotel
The Somerset On Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Somerset on Grace Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.