We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsong Resort

Save Saved
You added Windsong Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
Windsong Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Stubbs Rd., Providenciales   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #12 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed in a one-bedroom oceanfront suite for seven nights on our honeymoon in October/November 2012. Upon checking in and walking into the room, the very first thing that jumped out and took my breath away was the view. I'm sure most of the hotels on Grace Bay with oceanfront rooms have similar views, so this doesn't necessarily set Windsong apart, but it certainly doesn't hurt. All in all, the experience and ambiance of Windsong were perfect for us.

Room: At 1600 square feet, the suite was almost twice the size of our condo back home, but we wanted something larger than a standard hotel room, and the suite layout made it feel more like a home than a hotel. The bedroom was large with a king sized bed and a walk-in closet with plenty of storage space. The kitchen was spacious and well-stocked with all the necessary cooking implements, which served us well since we decided to cook our own meals for a few nights (more on that in a moment). The highlight of the suite was definitely the living room and balcony. The living room had sliding glass doors on two sides that were able to be opened up all the way to the wrap-around balcony, effectively creating an open-air environment and allowing the ocean breeze and sounds of the gently lapping waves on the beach just yards away to drift into the room. The balcony had access from the bedroom as well, and was furnished with wicker furniture consisting of two lounge chairs and a picnic table with four chairs. This made leaving the room harder since we were able to laze about on the balcony so conveniently. The master bathroom had a large walk-in shower, two sinks, and a separate toilet. There was also a half-bath in the hallway.

Location: First the pro's. Windsong is located a quieter stretch of Grace Bay Beach, west of the major tourist center of the town. This makes it a little bit more subdued and relaxed, with less beach traffic than the more crowded stretches located to the east. The Bight Reef is located literally right off the beach behind the resort. This is an excellent snorkeling spot, with lots of marine life and good visibility. We actually spent three days scuba diving (around other parts of the islands) so didn't give snorkeling in the reef much thought until our last day but we were pleasantly surprised at the abundance of marine life. We spotted a sea turtle and a spotted eagle ray, two critters that eluded us on our scuba expeditions, so we were very excited about that.

The only negative thing about the location is that it is not easy to get into town where the majority of the restaurants/shopping areas are located, particularly in the dark and if you don't have a car. Our first day we were going to try to walk down the beach to the Mango Reef restaurant at the Alexandra for dinner (about a 20 min walk), but were rudely greeted by the waves crashing right up against the stairs at the back of the resort. Apparently this was an after-effect of Hurricane Sandy which had raised water levels in the region and effectively eliminated the beach. By our third day the waters had subsided and the beach was back. Attempting to walk on the road into town wasn't a great idea either; it is not well-lit nor is it well-marked; granted we were without a map and had not yet oriented ourselves to the island, but still, it was not pedestrian-friendly. The beach is fine to walk on during the day; we were able to walk to Regent Village in about 40 minutes, but after dark cabs are pretty much the only way to go unless you have a rental car. Partially because of this and partially due to the costs at restaurants, we decided to cook at the hotel a couple of nights; the hotel offers a daily shuttle at 4 pm to go into town to the Graceway Gourmet grocery store ($8 per person, round trip). As I mentioned earlier, the kitchen had all the amenities we needed to cook, so this ended up being a good option for us. We did end up cabbing into town a couple nights for dinner (about $10 each way). The Somewhere Cafe restaurant, located at the Coral Gardens restaurant next door, is also very good.

Ambiance: The resort was very quiet while we were there. I was a bit surprised, even though it is considered to be low season. The onsite restaurant, JoJo's, didn't have much traffic at any point during our stay (although the drinks they made were excellent, i.e. very strong :) That said, it was therapeutic to be able to sit out on the beach, or at the pool, or on our balcony and listen to nothing but the sounds of the ocean.

Amenities: Although we didn't have a beach due to the surge for the first couple days, the staff was very quick to get the chairs and umbrellas back up after the water receded. As I mentioned earlier, JoJo's restaurant made very good cocktails and it was convenient to have the bar so close to the pool/beach. They also offered a complimentary continental breakfast for hotel guests. It was pretty basic, but that's to be expected with a continental breakfast. You could also order additional breakfast items such as eggs, pancakes, etc. at a cost. Spa Tropique, a local massage parlor with several locations on the island, has a parlor located on the premises. We did a 70 minute couples massage and they did an amazing job. I don't get massages often but this was the first one where I dozed off at a couple different points because I was just so relaxed. I came out feeling fresh and rejuvenated. The rooms all are supposed to have wi-fi connections but I was not able to get onto the network in our room through my laptop or my phone for the duration of the trip. This was a minor nuisance as I wanted to stay as unplugged as possible, but it was a nuisance nonetheless when we were trying to look up info for restaurants, activities, etc. They did have a computer in the lobby available for guest use, and the speed of that connection was very good.

Overall, this is an excellent resort to stay at. The rooms are amazing, the beachfront is beautiful, and the whole environment is very laid-back. If you are looking for an awesome room with a great view, and don't feel the need to be situated right in the middle of the action of town, then I would highly recommend staying at the Windsong. It was exactly what we were looking for on our honeymoon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    618
    161
    32
    8
    10
See reviews for
191
516
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Windsong for four nights in June 2012 for our honeymoon. The first night we stayed in their basic garden view studio - which was small, basic and nothing special. One note - the safe didn't work but when we called the front desk, they immediately sent somebody up to fix it. The next nights we decided to upgrade to their ocean front suites - and OMG so glad we did! Probably the nicest hotel room I have ever stayed in. Amazing view and incredibly spacious. The hotel has a Nice convenient location to the reef for snorkeling which is basically the only other activity to do on the beach other than lounge in the cabana. The included breakfast was also good and reasonable. The one problem we encountered during our stay: the staff during checkin was not very nice or hospitable. The reason we did not upgrade rooms immediately was because the staff was so off-putting and they isn't even offer it as an option. I had to ask for the manager the next day - who then was extremely attentive towards our needs thevremainder of the trip. He basically salvaged the reputation of the resort for us. Overall we were happy with our stay and would recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We, too, had our flights canceled out of NYC but we refused to miss our trip. We rented a car and drove 22 hours straight to make our connection in Miami and I'm so glad we did. The suite is beautiful, extremely clean, and the staff has been incredibly friendly and accommodating. The free Continental was wonderful - fresh fruit, oatmeal, toast, bagels, juice, etc. and you can add two eggs for just three dollars. Even the dinner, though the restaurant (JoJo's) was quiet, was well prepared and very tasty.
It's quiet and the staff does not hassle or bother you. The cost of taxis around the island was costlier than we thought so we stuck to restaurants within walkin distance. I highly recommend.
Also, they have a first rate fitness center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful week at Windsong! The condo was gorgeous and offered top-notch accommodations! We loved our ocean front 1-bedroom suite and really enjoyed the view from our spacious balcony. The staff was wonderful, including the front desk associates and of course Alicia at JoJos (she makes the best drinks)! We enjoyed time at the pool and hot tub and also loved our days at the beach. The snorkeling at the reef in front of the resort was amazing. We loved the intimate setting of the resort and that it wasn't too commercialized. Great location too...easy cab ride to most places (ask for Lige - he's the best cab driver ever!). You can also walk down the beach to several other restaurants (highly recommend dinner on the beach at Mango Reef). Also recommend the conch/snorkel tour by Caicos Dreams. And the food and view at Magnolias is wonderful for dinner at sunset. Lige took us to IGA our first day so that we could get a few groceries to have on hand in the condo. The kitchen is beautiful and it was nice to be able to make our own meals if we wanted to. Windsong also offers complimentary bikes, kayaks and a hobie cat, which was nice.

Room Tip: I'm sure all of the rooms are beautiful but the ocean front view can't be beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the Windsong 6/12. The room was beautiful with modern features. I think the larger rooms have better rooms with ocean view patios (which we didn't have, but still loved the room). The resort is located in a great location near the beach and reef. I wish that the bar and restaurants were open later and had better service and better bar and food menus. Front desk staff were mostly very helpful except for one who was very shy.

Room Tip: Larger rooms (suites) are fabulous with a lot of space and large patios. Smaller rooms don't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nicely-appointed suites but somewhat disappointing service. We had booked an island-view 1-BR suite, but were supposed to be upgraded to an ocean-front through the I Prefer program, where Windsong is listed as a participant. However, upon check-in, they appeared to not be aware of the program, nor did they acknowledge/grant the upgrade and other supposed "perks" of I Prefer. The front desk actually commented that we had "a great room and we shouldn't need an upgrade." In addition to the peculiar smells in the corridors leading to the suite area, this was not a great start to our stay.

At any rate, the suite itself was spacious (1 BR + living room + kitchen), though some of the furniture showed wear and minor staining. The A/C in our unit did not seem to be functioning at full capacity, and would randomly turn off before reaching the set temperature. Because the resort is closer to the dunes, there are a lot of mosquitoes around, particularly at Jojo's Cafe (outside near pool). It was quite uncomfortable to eat there, and we ended up skipping the complimentary breakfast the rest of our stay.

One of the pros of Windsong was the reef right in front of the hotel, where you could snorkel. The coral has moderate amounts of fish, but did not have a colorful, vibrant appearance. Much of the central/denser areas of the reef was roped off for preservation. The beach itself is small, with a small strip for laying out, and the tide often lapped up to the sand/dunes barrier.

We were in Provo for 4 nights, but had stayed at another resort the first half of our trip so this (un)fortunately allowed us to make lots of comparisons. Overall, Windsong offers a decent package in terms of value. That being said, there is also a lot of choice in the Grace Bay area so attention to details is a must!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Gorgeous one bedroom suite, ocean view, with all the fixen's. I was super impressed with the top notch appliances. The half bath was perfect for my hubby so he didn't have to wait on me. The staff was very accommodating and surprised us with an upgrade and complimentary champagne for our 1 year anniversary. The complimentary Breakfast was more than expected with presentation a plus. Ian was great as the karaoke host on Thursday night! It was my husband's first time and he made him feel comfortable enough to belt out his version of "Hello" by Lionel Richie. View, view, view... Can't say that enough. Beach right out the door of the hotel, it made me feel like the beach was ours. We feel like we found a hidden treasure in the Caribbean. The staff also gave good directions since there are no street lights, road signs very hidden, and the map from the rental car company didn't really help. There was underground parking which kept our rental cool during the day. Restaurant prices were more affordable at Windsong as opposed to some of the other restaurants that had meals starting at $25. Location was good and close to IGA, which was the supermarket we went to for food, quick eats, and snacks. We figured why waste such a beautiful fridge and stove! IGA even had already prepared meals to heat and serve. Overall, felt really at home, but more of a dream home, in the middle of paradise with friendly lad back people!

Room Tip: Ocean view if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windsong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsong Resort

Also Known As:
Windsong Hotel
Windsong Hotel Providenciales
Windsong Resort Providenciales
Windsong Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales
Address: Stubbs Rd., Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#8 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsong Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windsong Overview A repeat favorite for guests, Windsong is a refreshingly intimate, Caribbean beachfront resort located on Grace Bay and Providenciales’ best coral reef. The resort enjoys exclusive TCI membership in Preferred Boutique Hotels and is a Trip Advisor “Top 25 Caribbean Hotel.” Daily Continental breakfast, WIFI, non-motorized watercraft, bicycles, fitness center, underground parking, and chilled water and towels--both beachside and at the oceanfront pool--are complimentary. Relaxing spa treatments, romantic candlelight beach dinners, Jojo’s refreshing libations and menu selections, and scheduled entertainment delight Windsong guests. All accommodations offer kitchens or kitchenettes and laundry facilities. Selections include 250 sq. ft. -- 4,480 sq. ft. and range from standard rooms, to studios, to exquisite 1-4 bedroom oceanfront and penthouse suites up to 4,480 sq. ft. Additionally, Windsong offers a unique, private oceanfront villa with a trellised oceanfront terrace and private plunge pool. All Windsong Rooms Include:Non-smoking rooms with keyless entryMarble flooring & ensuite baths10’ Ceilings & custom cabinetryPillowtop beds with Hilden linensFrette towels & bathrobesBvlgari toiletriesFlat-Screen/LCD/HD/Cable TVDVD • I-pod docking station • Alarm clock Room-controlled air-conditioningIn-room safe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Windsong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsong Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.