We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsong Resort

Save Saved
You added Windsong Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Windsong Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Stubbs Rd., Providenciales   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #12 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Boston
2 reviews
“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

After a week at a family resort, we (us and two young boys) were stranded at the airport by a fireman's strike on Saturday, March 10th with no place to stay. The Windsong, which we had never heard of before, was near 100% capacity but did some reservation magic to find us a suite for two nights. Upon arrival, we quickly realized that we had uncovered an absolute gem. Our suite was almost 2,000 square feet with beautiful tile floors throughout, full stainless kitchen, soaring ceilings, two master suites, and a living that opens to a ocean-side panoramic balcony via fully retractable sliding glass doors on two sides. Views of the beach, ocean, and sunset were simply breadth taking.

If that weren't enough, the service was exceptionally friendly and prompt, the pool immaculate and gorgeous, and food quite good (amazing grouper tacos!). The property also sits caddy corner to a beautiful, fish laden reef (Windsong offers daily snorkel equipment rentals). It is also situated in a prime location on the beach. It’s just a 2 minute walk to the popular ‘Somewhere’ Mexican restaurant which has regular live music and great open bar scene. What a way to be sranded!!

Overall, we loved the Windsong and look forward to returning next time in a less serendipitous fashion. Thank you Windsong!

Room Tip: Get an oceanside suite - worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    615
    158
    32
    8
    9
See reviews for
187
515
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Planned a trip through Expedia and the Windsong was recommended by a good friend. Everything was great from the food to the amenities and the staff. Beautiful beach and pool as well with plenty of seating. I'd go here over the swankier, more expensive places any day of the week.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

My wife and I spent the week of February 19th, 2012, at the Windsong. If you stay there, you'll be greeted at the modest desk with friendly faces by Yadley and Ian. While out at the beach, Charles will seem to work 24 hours a day just to make sure you're experience is carefree. Melly will be attentive to your needs while you relax by the ocean. Our room was beautiful with two balconies that overlooked the ocean. The details of the architecture both interior and exterior spares no minor detail. The windsong uses natural landscape to lead you to the beach, so if you're looking for the perfectly over-manicured landscape, you're in the wrong place!
I'm writing this review nearly a month after our trip. Notice that I still remember the names of four of the staff members. That's because they are so friendly, professional and devoted to making us feel at home and yet made us feel like royalty.
I have no personal experience at any other hotel, but I wouldn't need to look anywhere else for my next stay at Provo!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The Windsong is newer condo-hotel, rooms are clean and spacious, and we found our room to be a great value for the money. It feels more like a condo than a hotel, but the employees were all great and very friendly, and there is fabulous snorkeling directly outside the hotel's beach, truly awesome. We stayed at the Windsong for 3 nights and then stayed at the Regent Palms ($$$$) for 4 nights, but would probably go back to the Windsong for the value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This was our fourth time to the caribbean, but the first to Turks & Caicos. This hotel was the perfect size for us...not too large like some of the nearby hotels (Beaches is HUGE), but large enough to have good service and facilities. The staff was friendly and did their best to provide good service. They get to know your names (and we reciprocated with Charles, Judine, Ian, Yadley and others--thanks guys!). They are so laid back that sometimes I wondered if they were following through with questions and requests, but they did every time.

We had one of the smaller rooms (island view studio), which was basically a decent size hotel room with a very small kitchenette. That's all we could afford, as the larger rooms/suites are very expensive. However, with everyday being sunny, breezy and 81 degrees F, there is very little need to be in the room while awake. We did get a chance to peek into our companion accommodation next door (we shared an outer entrance door), which was a large ocean front one bedroom suite with 2 baths, a kitchen/dining area, living room with pullout couch and a large balcony facing two directions. It did make us feel a bit like the poor neighbors, but hey, we're not as wealthy as most of the other visitors we met at the hotel or on the island. We just feel fortunate enough that we could afford a week at all!

And our room was SPOTLESS and attended to each day. Actually, we didn't need new sheets and towels each day, but we got them. Actually, that eliminated the potential problem of sandy sheet build-up! All in all, the room was perfect! Quiet, and clean. I didn't sleep too well however. The bed was comfortable but a bit creaky...

We went out to dine most of the evenings, but for the other meals, JoJo's was perfect. Not the biggest menu or the best meals that we had, but comparatively reasonable priced and good food. LOVE their jerk chicken. Beer a bit expensive ($6.50 a bottle). Continental breakfast that was included got us off to a healthy start each day, and we occasionally supplemented it with add-ons (eggs, bacon, etc.). Not as good as the breakfast buffet at a hotel we stayed at in St. Lucia, but that was five years ago and $26 a pop!

Our weather was pleasantly boring. 81 degrees F each day with mostly sunny skies. We did get a few sprinkles of rain the first two days, but it didn't last long. The beaches on this island, including the one right in front of the hotel, are everything they are promised to be. The sand is white, fine; the water is warm enough but refreshing; clear and not too rough.

The beach is absolutely lovely. You'll love it.

Excellent wi-fi connection, except for the beach (thankfully!)

We rented a car for one day and that was enough. The beaches on the island are excellent, and so are the restaurants, but there really isn't that much else on the island to visit. And the roads, once you leave the tourist area and main highway, are terrible. Very little in the way of a downtown, few historic sites, one golf course, no mountains, only high end tourist shopping, etc. If you are coming to Providenciales for the beach, relaxation, good food, snorkeling--you've come to the right place. If you want more, look for another island. In other words, we had a GREAT week here, but wouldn't want to spend two months in retirement here.

Just a few nit-picks:

The tipping situation is confusing. All food tabs come with a 10% gratuity added. I asked about this and they said it was a general tip for all the staff in the place. Wasn't so sure how to tip the waitstaff after that.

Limited tea selection (no green or decaffeinated black teas)

No Ginger Beer! How can you be a hotel in the caribbean and NOT have ginger beer

Kayaks and Hobie cat are complimentary, but you have to pay per day for snorkeling gear. I can see a deposit but a $10/day charge seems ridiculous.

Water should be readily available and not $3 for a small bottle. The tap water is not too tasty and you need to drink a lot to avoid dehydration in the warm, dry environment.

Shade: Very little shade (no palm trees on our beach). The umbrellas are small. The "huts" they have are nice, but they need to make them more available or provide more of them. We found that some people "claimed" them early in the day with some of their stuff, and then were gone for most of the day. There should be some way to evict people if they aren't using them for an extended period of time. However, the beach is NOT crowded so it's a pleasant stretch of sand in general.

I wish there was another, shaded, common area toward the beach for hanging out in the evening.

Even with the yellow flags for service on the beach, sometimes the staff noticed, but sometimes not. I guess we were spoiled by the red flags at another resort we've been to. There it was flag up, waiter within one minute...

No ice buckets or ice machine. Why not?

I understand the larger suites have refrigerators with filtered fresh water dispensers. Our small suite had a smaller refrigerator without that, and the tap water isn't very tasty.

Room Tip: Just pick the best room you can afford, but if you can't afford more than the minimum, you'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

It is rare for a resort to actually match all the features that appear on its web site, but Windsong actually does. This place is beautifully situated, immaculately landscaped and maintained, and comfortable throughout.

What struck my female companion and I the most was the friendliness of the staff, who to a person were warm and welcoming. They actually reached out to be helpful, many times not even needing to be asked. We got on a first name basis with many of them.

The beach is magnificent -- ample beach chairs. I have traveled all over the Carib and I have never found a place with such a prolific and complete coral reef right of the beach. Entirely child/family friendly --- a great place for learners new to snorkeling.

Excellent quality of food and meal service couldn't have been better. Very attentive staff.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. The less expensive rooms have no view, but that is right around the corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Just got back from a week at Windsong and it was as wonderful as what (most) reviews here have said. We had a big, cozy suite with an amazing balcony facing the ocean. The floor-to-ceiling doors slide open on two sides, so even when inside you can enjoy the beautiful warm weather and sound of the waves. It's a small, intimate resort - the staff are very friendly and helpful.
We had breakfast at Jojo's every morning - it's perfectly adequate (yogurt, granola, fruit, english muffin, bagel, toast...pastry was my favourite!) and add-ons are reasonable. We went grocery shopping at the IGA ($10 / 2 people each way, 5-7 minutes away) and made lunches in the suite - eating on the balcony as the kids napped. Groceries are pricey, but they have a surprisingly decent selection of things (eg. Chinese cabbage & organic chicken nuggets). We ended up ordering supper most nights as we have two small children (16 months and 3.5 years old) and found eating in easier. The food selection and quality was surprisingly great - sushi, thai, italian. If the restaurant didn't deliver, we sent a taxi to go pick it up.
The pool is nice - almost no one was using it while we were there, so we had it all to ourselves the few times the kids wanted to go in. We spent most of our time, however, at the beach, which is wonderful. Beautiful sand, clear water - every spot is good. It's safe to leave things, not super busy and no one bothers you (selling stuff, etc.) Since we're up early, we managed to get one of the three canopies every day for the kids. The snorkelling is excellent.

Suggestion one: we rented a jeep one day (about $130) and drove around the island - it was well worth it. Check out Sapodilla Bay on the south side (about 15 minutes from the hotel) - a gorgeous, quiet beach that is perfect if you have small kids as it's shallow and clear. "Mark the Jet Ski guy" who hangs out there convinced us to try La Brisas (2 minutes away) rather than the Conch Shack which he swears is "a tourist trap." While hesitant, we checked it out and it was wonderful. The food was very good and the view was excellent.

Suggestion two: Coco Bistro for supper. Good food, friendly service, great atmosphere. Be warned: portions are huge.

Have fun!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windsong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsong Resort

Also Known As:
Windsong Hotel
Windsong Hotel Providenciales
Windsong Resort Providenciales
Windsong Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales
Address: Stubbs Rd., Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Providenciales
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#8 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsong Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windsong Overview A repeat favorite for guests, Windsong is a refreshingly intimate, Caribbean beachfront resort located on Grace Bay and Providenciales’ best coral reef. The resort enjoys exclusive TCI membership in Preferred Boutique Hotels and is a Trip Advisor “Top 25 Caribbean Hotel.” Daily Continental breakfast, WIFI, non-motorized watercraft, bicycles, fitness center, underground parking, and chilled water and towels--both beachside and at the oceanfront pool--are complimentary. Relaxing spa treatments, romantic candlelight beach dinners, Jojo’s refreshing libations and menu selections, and scheduled entertainment delight Windsong guests. All accommodations offer kitchens or kitchenettes and laundry facilities. Selections include 250 sq. ft. -- 4,480 sq. ft. and range from standard rooms, to studios, to exquisite 1-4 bedroom oceanfront and penthouse suites up to 4,480 sq. ft. Additionally, Windsong offers a unique, private oceanfront villa with a trellised oceanfront terrace and private plunge pool. All Windsong Rooms Include:Non-smoking rooms with keyless entryMarble flooring & ensuite baths10’ Ceilings & custom cabinetryPillowtop beds with Hilden linensFrette towels & bathrobesBvlgari toiletriesFlat-Screen/LCD/HD/Cable TVDVD • I-pod docking station • Alarm clock Room-controlled air-conditioningIn-room safe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Jetsetter, Amex, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Windsong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsong Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.