We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanyara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amanyara to your Saves list
Amanyara
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Northwest Point, Providenciales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you want to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Amanyara is your place. My wife and I chose a pool pavilion. Each pavilion has its own private deck, garden, and of course the immaculate pavilion itself -which is simply an elegant and functional bedroom suite. The pavilion pool is wonderful. Room service can be delivered to your pavilion at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Essentially, if you want to you can stay in the pavilion and have a terrific getaway with your loved one, it is possible and enjoyable. When you decide, you want to wander out to the rest of the resort, the beautiful beach, spa, snorkeling, sailing, and movie theater provide enough entertainment to keep a person busy, but if you are a person that needs constant stimulation, this resort probably will run its course in a few days.

Other points:

The service from the staff is excellent. From the beach to the restaurant to the management of the resort itself, your happiness is foremost in their mind. That does not mean that everything is perfect -but perfection is clearly the goal of the staff at Amanyara and they are trying to reach it.

The food is excellent. It does become repetitive after a few days, but if you have any special request for food, they are honored. The staff did learn what you liked to drink and would present it to

The walk from our Pavilion was less than 5 minutes to the beach and all other major attractions. Some of the pavilions were probably 5 minutes from our pavilion. So, it was possible to have a ten minute walk to your desired destination. If this walk is too much for you, I would suggest asking for a closer pavilion. In some respects though, this should be expected -given the level of privacy each pavilion provides to you.

There was construction at the beach resort. It was expected to be completed before October but alas it was not. It seems like Off season is when construction is done at Amanyara and if the noise does ruin your experience -probably go at a time when the rates are at their peak.

In conclusion, go to Amanyara if you need to relax, recharge, and experience wonderful food, natural beauty and amazing service. I for one can not wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    24
    17
    12
    4
See reviews for
35
168
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Pros:
-Only 3 hours from NYC, direct flights, no jetlag and no malaria/dengue
-Attractive architecture
-Lovely beach, great for swimming, very close to amazing snorkeling
-great spa
-friendly staff on the beach and by the pool
-quiet, relaxed and relaxing

Disappointments:
-unresponsive service (we asked 4 times to have our room made up with 2 beds not one king, no one knew our names or room number)
-there is ongoing construction-near our room and on the beach club (maybe because we visited in October and they're getting ready for high season?)
-good but unmemorable food at high prices
-very spread out villas/pavilions requiring carts, bikes, or lots of walking
-ugly manmade 'pond view'
-the room wasn't light proof, so hard to sleep in if you're sensitive to light
-small gym, one of the two treadmills was broken

Some of my favorite trips have been to Aman resorts in Cambodia, Sri Lanka, and India. I knew Amanyara couldn't provide the same amazing cultural/adventure setting as other Aman's but had hoped for the same level of service and cuisine. Amanyara is a very nice resort--especially suited to romantic couples. I was traveling with a friend and the open bathroom and way the bed/beds are laid out didn't translate well. I emailed ahead and called saying that we were friends and wanted two beds and the hotel confirmed that, but we were shown to a room with a king. We asked again and were told the beds would be fixed at turn down. When we returned from dinner the bed was still a king and so we ended up waiting and then watching them change the bed into two twins. I wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone aside from romantic couples because of the bed layout. If I were traveling as a family, I wouldn't want to share one of these rooms with a sibling. Overall, it was a nice resort but lacked any Aman magic.

Room Tip: ask for a pavilion/villa close to the restaurants/bar etc to avoid lots of walking/biking/waiting fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

make no mistake...if your are searching for the most luxurious experience in the Caribbean in 2011 then stop searching. we arrived on a Friday afternoon and spent the next 2 days lounging on our private beach sipping toddies and snorkeling in the most beautiful waters on earth. we watched a school of bonefish hunting for dinner in the afternoon sun on the reef right outside the door. the staff were best of class, architecture unparalleled. Utmost in privacy. Never once saw another person while in our villa. Be sure to check out the VIP flyers club on the outbound...a great new service that makes the TCI much easier. They greet you curbside and check you in and walk you straight to the front of the TSA line. A nice beverage in their private lounge and you are ready to board. Well worth the additional cost. All-in in the best Caribbean vacation in the last 10 years....already booked a return trip. Kudos the the awesome management and staff.

Room Tip: ocean pavilion only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The customer service at this resort was the most unbelievably attentive that I am almost regretful that I have experienced something as amazing at this in my lifetime. Our stay at this resort has set our travel standards to a whole new level. We stayed in Pavillion 115 and ever amenity was heavenly. From the privacy to the electronic shades, to the soaking tub to the decor, this was superb. Our own private beach was simply unforgettable and other-wordly. We felt as if we were on our own island with our own private caterer, concierge and attendants. The food, food preparation and service was exquisite. If you enjoy southeast asian influences, this is the best food you have ever had. The tennis courts and service (they had our appropriate size shoes, cooler filled with Gatorade, rackets and balls) was "off the hook". We felt like we were pro's at the Us Open. I could go on and on, but overall, this was the resort and honeymoon of a lifetime and I cannot wait to go back and/or try another Aman resort. They are truly what dreams are made of.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I reluctantly agreed to go here after my girlfriend set her hart on this place after hearing some great feedback from friends and clients. I was not so into spending so much for four days, but I'll try anything once.

This is not a place to meet people, dance, play with your kids, drink a lot or hook up.
This is a place you go to disappear.
The beach-front villas are the most complete and beautiful units one can imagine set on a PRIVATE beach that is to say the least, pristine.

The service is in it's own category all-together, nothing is overlooked or needs to be asked for. The beach staff is cool as hell, they just want you to relax, they have the best office in the world and so consequently share that feeling with you when they interact.

Dan the Guest Assistant and Sven the F&B manager are the folks I dealt with the most and both are among the highest brass in this industry.

Go here

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitestone, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

All the things everyone else wrote here about how great this place is, IS ENTIRELY TRUE! I'm not going to repeat what was already written, just going to add a few things. You know when you look at some websites and the pictures of the resort look immaculate and when you get there, the place is actually worn and run down? This is not the case - Amanyara is exactly as shown on the website.
They really care about their customers and service is their priority. We were picked up by a air conditioned Land Rover, complete with water bottles, cold towels and were offered a menu of music selections for the ride. A whole group of staff were there to welcome us. A personalized tour of the grounds was first on the agenda. they sent us a bottle of champagne upon our arrival. We were here for our honeymoon and one night when we were going back to our room, we saw rose petals along the path to our room - complete with a rose petals on the bed and floor and a lit candle. Very sweet & thoughtful!
Very convenient to have the complimentary snacks and water/soft drinks in the room. Free phone calls.
We had an oceanview room with lounge chairs outside. At night we'd sit outside and shut the lights to stare at the stars - breathtaking.
They don't even step in your room with shoes on!
Our flight was cancelled unexpectedly and had to stay another night (what a great surprise haha). They were very accomodating to us and let us stay in the same room.
When we did leave (sadly) and at the airport - we noticed that they had placed a leather, typed name tag on our luggage for us (I guess we had lost it on the way there).

Nothing short of perfection...we definitely want to go back or go to other resorts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We just returned from a five night stay at Amanyara and we are already planning another trip. We just can't say enough about our vacation.

Little things matter at the five star level and Amanyara gets the details right. We had asked for a private room and that is just what we got. We stayed in an Ocean-view pavilion. Many Ocean-view pavilions are set more in the open and had a clearer view of the stunning coastline, but ours was set back in the foliage with a beautiful ocean view, but a bit more secluded.

Inside the room, there is great attention to comfort and style. The free minibar was stocked twice a day (at the morning cleaning and the evening turndown) and if you asked to have more beverages brought, they were there in less than 10 minutes to replenish. The resort provides sunscreen, after sun lotion and bug spray. The thick towels were plentiful and the spa robes were wonderful after an active day. The air conditioning was highly effective against the tropical weather. There were multiple places around the exterior of the pavilion to enjoy the view, the sun/shade and the quiet. Housekeeping is excellent and utterly unseen -- your room is tidied while you are at meals so you never see the staff .Everything is designed for the guests' comfort and relaxation.

The design of the resort is very organic with the surroundings. Every building is constructed to highlight, enhance or just stay out of the way of the natural beauty of the area. The dining area is designed to give you indoor and outdoor options, so you can stay in the air conditioning or sit on the terrace to enjoy the breeze and the sunset.

The food was great. We took advantage of the dining plan (offered to people who stay 4 nights or more) which includes breakfast and dinner. The prices on the menu were hefty, even by New York standards, but the food was fresh, artfully done and varied. There was a core menu with nightly specials. We also had lunch in the beach club after snorkeling. Again, great view, great service and the fish taco was great!

The service at the resort was excellent. The staff is wonderful- pleasant, helpful and unobtrusive. They remember you -- asking if you want the table you had the night before, bringing your preferred beverages at mealtimes. Meals were served at a relaxed but efficient pace, and always with a warm smile. The charming managers make an effort to talk to you during your visit to make sure that everything going well. Lindsey, the naturalist, lent us binoculars for stargazing. That kind of service is exactly what you expect (but don't always get) from a resort of this caliber.

This resort is not for people who want a boisterous "party" atmosphere. There is no swim-up bar, loud music or "scene", but if you are looking for luxurious, absolutely relaxing vacation or a sexy place to reconnect -- this is the place for you.

Room Tip: For privacy, ask for Ocean View Room 108
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amanyara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanyara

Address: Northwest Point, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanyara 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amanyara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanyara Hotel Providenciales
Amanyara Resort Providenciales
Amanyara Turks Caicos
Amanyara Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanyara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.