We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bring Teens” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Regent Palms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Regent Palms to your Saves list
The Regent Palms
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Princess Drive, 00000, Providenciales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
A TripAdvisor Member
“Don't Bring Teens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2006

We have just returned from a trip to The Palms and the facility is beautiful. It is a great place for for couples to enjoy a relaxing vacation or for families with little ones who enjoy building sand castles and banana boat rides. My husband and I made the mistake of bring 3 teenagers with us. There is absolutely nothing to do for teens, day or night, but watch MTV. There are no in-room movies to rent, no activities for teens, nothing. They could not even find candy bars (i.e. Snickers, M&Ms). We took the 3 teens to Cancun last year and had the best vacation ever. As far as all the negatives we read about the service on the island, most were untrue. We ate at a different restaurant every night and our food was served quickly and courteously everywhere on the island. Though, in most restaurants it was hard to find a server after the food was placed on the table. Not five star service, but we were not expecting it either. All of the reviews we read beforehand about this being an expensive vacation were true. Expect to spend plenty, all the more reason to leave the teens at home. Finally, construction is going on everywhere so daytime noise is inevitable. Our room was on the opposite side of the hotel from The Palms construction site, yet on 5 days out of 7 the hotel next door had construction going on all afternoon. Which is fine if you are not planning on napping in the fresh air out on the patio. Did I enjoy this vacation spot? Yes. Would I return to Provo or to The Palms? Definitely not.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    237
    71
    47
    32
See reviews for
213
554
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2006

I have alot to say. We just got back form the Palms. Our stay was March 5th to 9th. I was very concerned with the reviews i kept reading....enough so that I contacted the owners of the property and the manager directly. They assured me that my stay would be everything I wanted it to be. It was. My wife and I have been to about 8 other islands in the carib., this is by far the greatest place on earth.
It is pricey, but the island is not cheap. The staff was fantastic. As soon as we landed, Gregory greeted us with the Escalade. We walked into the Palms, had a private greeter give us a tour of the property, and our room. The rooms are awesome, as is the pool.
The people that complain about this place, can probably find fault in anything. We had some issues with our room. Within an hour, everything was fixed.
As far as the help-remember these people live off of tips. If you are nice to them and give them good tips, you get everything and anything you want. If there are no seats at the pool, give the pool help 10 bucks, you get the best seat in the house.
Parallel 23- they just got another new chef-he is great. one of the better meals on our trip. small portions, but good. We ate at Hemingways-good. Anacoanda was good as well.
if anyone wants to fish, go to Gwendolyn charters. Capt. Darren took us out and caught Mahi mahi, took it to the Palms and they cooked it for us and ate it in our room.
We were on the romance pkg. and had no complaints. My wife had spa treatments everyday, and loved it. We both had a hot stone massage-I recommend it.
Have gregory take you to the IGA. That too is pricey, but good for beer, wine and snacks...wine selection is better than I thought and prices were not bad.
Grace Bay is amazing. There are sveral new places to stay...they might be cheaper with similar amenaties...check them out. When we go back, we will stay at the Palms. It will be interesting if they can keep up with the new competition. Right now, you are not making a mistake. be your own judge. If you are looking for fault, you are going to find it anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2006

The hotel and restaurant had a nice atmosphere, but the service was HORRIBLE. The entire island has a very long way to go in terms of customer service. I will not return.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2006

We stayed at The Palms in July of 2005. This is the most beautiful place we have ever stayed. When we first pulled up we were thinking uh oh, this doesn't look good. There is nothing grand or pretentious about the outside appereance but once you enter the hotel grounds, wow! The open air lobby is gorgeous. You are taken on a tour of the grounds by one of the staff then lead to your room. When we walked in to our room, our jaws hit the floor. It was huge, over 1800 sq ft. Marble everywhere. The bathroom was enourmous with dual shower heads and deep bathtub for soaking together if you choose. The bed is sheer heaven with soft high quality linen. The view was phenomenal, we were on the second floor overlooking the pool and the ocean. The balcony had a daybead type lounger and table with chairs, the perfect place to sip your morning coffee. The pool and bar are amazing. Cool clear clean water, plenty of cushioned lounge chairs to nap on. The staff was very friendly if you were friendly to them. We did not run in to any problems with timely friendly service. The food was good, a bit pricey. There were a few other places to eat like Hemmingway's just down the beach to the right of the Palms that were very good as well.
The spa is unbelievable. If you go for a service, you won't be disappointed.
The ocean water was like a swimming pool. There were no waves and it was crystal clear. You could swim out and the bottom be 20 feet below you but yet it looked like you could just reach down and touch it. There is a good reef for snorkeling if you take the kayaks straight out from the hotel. Live coral and lots of fish.
The Palms spoiled us for 4 star luxury. Now every time we check in to a new place, it pales in comparison to our Palms experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2006

We went to the Palms with a group of 38 (reasonably) adult folks for a company get-away. After reading these reviews the day before we left for the trip, I was truly worried about the Jekyl-Hyde nature of the place reflected in them. However...

We had an absolute ball! We had rooms that ranged from suites to construction views, but they were uniformly beautiful. The service was typical Caribbean style - wonderfully friendly, sometimes much slower than we'd get at the Four Seasons here in Philly, but always reflective of the attitude we brought with us. Since we all came to have a good time, it was easy for us to roll with the punches (mostly rum) and just focus on having a good time!

We stayed from Saturday until Wednesday, played on the beach, made a scene at the bar pool (and bought plenty of drinks for the folks sitting near our party), and had dinners in the hotel, at Da Conch Shack and at the Caicos Cafe - all wonderful! No, not gourmet fare suitable for Le Bec Fin, but good and island-appropriate food, served with a smile and a laugh when one of us reacted to the peppery flavors.

I guess it's theoretically possible to have found only the GOOD service folks as the 38 of us wandered through the place, and the really "nasty" ones others encountered hid out whenever we were around - but I suspect the truth is in the attitude we all brought to the place, and how that might compare to the attitudes and expectations others bring. We came "knowing" we were going to have a good time at a beautiful place in the islands, and we had just that. We were open to the TCI experience, knowing it wouldn't be the same as staying at the Ritz in Manhattan; whatever bumps came up were just shrugged off as we relaxed in the beauty of the day.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2006

I’ve stayed at most of the resorts on Provo and I can say that the Palms is a great pretender. In all fairness, and beds are terrific and the rooms are OK, but the service is abysmal. From the minute you pull into the dirt parking lot you know that the Palms is a rip-off. We were yelled-at by the staff to move our car so as not to block his garbage cart. Also, our toilet plugged-up and the staff is pretentious and unhelpful. They gave us the wrong room key and after a long hike back, they had the nerve to say that we put it in wrong.

The Parallel 23 restaurant wins the award for the biggest turd in all of Provo. They offer doughnuts (yes doughnuts) as a dessert, all for only $36, a rip-off by any standard.

It’s OK for $300 per night (other guests complained that the Palms gouge people, charging widely varying rates for the same room) and our visit to the Palms was a nightmare.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2006

We recently stayed at the Palms. Reading all of the reviews made us nervous about our stay. Keep in mind that 10 years ago the Turks and Caicos did not have any black top roads or running water! So could there really be a 5 star hotel...not yet! The rooms and grounds around the hotel are very nice. Pool is beautiful and beach is perfect. Food at the pool bar is ok, its a pool bar so expect pool bar food! Prices are high, but if you are spending $1000 for a room then I don't think they are going to have $1.00 Budweiser on draft. Our experience with the people from the concierge to the shuttle drivers to the wait staff were all very friendly. Kindness goes along way, they have seen enough NYers with attitudes to know when to back off. Someone mentioned about the lack of food for breakfast...I guess all you can eat fruits,breads,eggs,sauage, bacon,french toast,potatoes and made to order omelet's must not be enough from 7 to 11am! Like always I would recommend checking other places to eat, we had great meals at other places just a short walk down the beach. I will say service around the pool was very poor. For this kind of money I would assume there should be non-stop service, which there was not. The Palms and most of the new hotels being built are very nice homes that are used for hotel rooms. People own these and then rent them out in a hotel type setting. I think this is why the prices are so high, the homeowners do not want their crib being rented out to a bunch of spring breakers. We did go into the pool view room and it is very nice. Don't spend the money on a snorkle trip just walk down the beach to the coral gardens, we saw plenty there for free. 2 turtles and 2 sting rays and tons of fish. Get to know the shuttle drivers they are more than willing to drive you to the IGA or other places to pick up some supplies. But take as much as you can with you, we forgot an underwater camera and it cost us $30 at the hotel. Last thing the dreaded construction...we had a garden view and a construction view. Was never much of a problem, most of the time you are by the pool or ocean and can not hear a thing. Unless you sit on your deck and smoke cigarettes all during the day, it will not be a problem. I would recommend checking out the Somerset which is were the construction is coming from, it should be open in the summer maybe, looks very nice! In and out of the airport was smooth as silk. Don't rent a car, not much to see. Enjoy the Palms, but if a $11.00 pina colada is going to upset you then stay at the Beaches hotel...now that is a dump!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Regent Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Palms

Address: 16 Princess Drive, 00000, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#15 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Regent Palms 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps away from the flawless white sands and sparkling sapphire waters of Grace Bay - one of the most beautiful beaches in the world - The Regent Palms Turks and Caicos is ranked among the Caribbean's finest hotels, and the top hotel in the Turks and Caicos. Boundless ocean views at our Grace Bay resort from stylishly-appointed rooms and suites ensure peace and tranquility while world-class amenities; including a 25,000 square foot spa and state-of- the-art infinity pool, promise rest and relaxation. A well-equipped Fitness Centre, together with water sports and tennis cater for more active guests and a dedicated children's' club provides fun and excitement for our younger guests. A level of style and comfort that sets new standards Unforgettable luxury at the heart of one of the Caribbean's most glorious beaches comes as standard at the The Regent Palms Grand Resort and Spa. Whether you opt for a guest room with infinite views of the ocean or landscaped garden or prefer to spread out in one of our spacious penthouses, you will discover a level of style and comfort that sets new standards for the Turks and Caicos. All guest rooms feature hand-tufted king-size bedding, high-speed Internet access and cable television while a number of luxurious suites also boast a washer/dryer and a full kitchen complete with Viking appliances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Regent Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Palms Hotel Providenciales
Regent Hotel Providenciales
Regent Providenciales
Providenciales Regent
Turks Caicos Palms
The Regent Palms Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Regent Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.