We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pirate's Cove

Pirate's Cove
South West of Providenciales, Providenciales
Improve this listing
Type: Outdoors
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

It takes a while to get to it and you need a good jeep as the road is really rough leading up to it, but it's defnitely worth the treck. It's beautiful, natural and untouched. Never thgouht I'd find a spot like that in the Carribean. There were no other people there for an entire day when we went. Stunning spot.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile

We went exploring today and found the pirate cove. Very cool, but it took a little work to get to. You have to drive a ways to get to the end of the island and there were a couple of times we were afraid that our little rental was going to bottom out on the craggy roads. Eventually we abandoned our car and walked the rest of the way in. The path is not well marked. It's more like a well worn rocky cliff than a path. When we got there we passed an older gentleman who had been fishing that afternoon but no one else was out there. The ladder looked like it might have had a few loose steps, but we risked it anyways. It was very cool to see the carvings from 1841 and pretend we were pirates from back in the day. There isn't much to do once you are there and there certainly are no gift shops. If you are interested in doing some exploring and don't mind climbing around on some rocks I highly suggest you seek this place out. There are some spectacular views!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubenacadie, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

The road to Pirates Cove is very rough, very rough! SUV 100% sure is needed! But the beaches and view is amazing! Be safe, go with numbers it is secluded and do not bring or leave any valuables in vehicle, and do not lock vehicle, windows could be busted out to get in! No need to pay for windows on your trip!

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Secluded paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We stumbled upon Pirate's Cove by luck and it was spectacular. The shallow waters were crystal clear, warm and calm. A little trail takes you up to the cliff, can be tricky, definitely need proper shoes. From the top of the cliff we saw eagle rays swimming around, so we got our snorkel gear and went for it. Strong current around the point but well worth it. Eagle rays, lots of fish, great coral and rock formations.
Pirate's Cove was completely deserted, we had the reef and beach to ourselves. Look out for the eagles and their nest!
Perfection!

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Shopping and food...Quaint shops and scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Gift shopping, spa's. good food . Quaint caribbean plaza...We enjoyed the afternoon there. Good value on local jewelry. Good shops for beach supplies i.e. snorkel gear flip flops etc..

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate's Cove also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Pirate's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirate's Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.