We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware of strong currents ... I almost drowned. Safety measure are urgently needed at this beautiful location.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bight Reef

Bight Reef
Providenciales
Improve this listing
Type: Reefs, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An underwater paradise of coral reefs.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Be aware of strong currents ... I almost drowned. Safety measure are urgently needed at this beautiful location.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I am sure this place is as beautiful as people describe it in the review. My husband and I were going to snorkel that day. I have snorkeled before and scuba dive! For some reason as the weather changed the currents got so strong that the undercurrent dragged me under and almost killed me ... I had to be rescued by another swimmer that was present as I could not get out of the water! Moreover, my husband was also struggling to a point he could not even rescue me at fear of drowning himself.

Unfortunately there are no flags notifying people of the danger and the status of the currents/waves. Since there are so many people/tourists that go there to snorkel that it would be a great idea that a person responsible to protect the corals would have the responsibility to set information of ocean conditions (red flag) and give newcomers advice and tips to stay safe, nit just to avoid the protected zone. This would be a great place for the hotel, authorities, country to have life saving equipment and a life guard on site ... 4 other people almost drowned the very next day according to our hotel staff who were horrified by our experience.

We write this review as two health care professionals hoping to ensure safety, not discourage snorkelling on this beautiful location. we hope this review encourages change to ensure that the goal of ZERO deaths happen at this site.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    74
    27
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Saw more fish here than on the snorkeling trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Lots of parrot fish, lion fish, and many others. Great place to snorkel located at Coral Gardens on Grace Bay Beach.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Reef!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was the perfect reef to snorkel around and was located directly in front of our hotel, Coral Gardens. They have put up floating markers to keep you directly off the reef but you can easily see so many varieties of fish, including the local celebrity barracuda, Elvis!! We say octopus, rays, and even a young turtle directly on Bight Reef and to think we drove and snorkeled all around the island to find the best location right at our resort.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carneys Point, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bight reef was outstanding for snorkeling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just off shore, there is wonderful snorkeling on bight reef. The snorkeling begins in about 3 feet of water and goes to a depth of about 25 feet. On the reef, we saw barracudas, stingrays, lionfish, trumpetfish, angelfish, sargent majors, and tangs! No big waves or strong current make snorkeling here fun and easy!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very close walk from our hotel. Lots of friendly fish that swim right up to you. Sea turtles come between 12 and 2 every day and are in the far left corner of the swim area around the reef (if looking from shore). We saw a barracuda and some friends saw a sting ray! We snorkeled there four times during our trip and the scenery was different every time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bight Reef also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Bight Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bight Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.