We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many amazing fish and even a sea turtle!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bight Reef

Bight Reef
Providenciales
Improve this listing
Type: Reefs, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An underwater paradise of coral reefs.
Avon, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So many amazing fish and even a sea turtle!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We snorkeled in Bight Reef and saw the most colorful fun fish! We saw lion fish, little "Dori" fish like in Nemo :) We also saw a sea turtle, he swam right next to us. It was breath-taking, really. This is amazing snorkeling.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    74
    28
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Place for a quick visit on Grace Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

A lot of resorts line Grace Bay and this place is very accessible depending on where you are. We were at Beaches, so really 10 minutes down the beach and that was it. The resort in front of the reef I don't think is too happy that so many people come by here. The guard there is not very friendly. For kids it is THE BEST though! If they have a life vest on, they can just hover over the side and see the most amazing wild life. Better than what I saw when I went diving on the Caribbean side of the island! It has to be a CALM day in the water though. Not suggesting to go if it is windy or wavy. Will not see much. PLEASE DON'T TOUCH THE CORAL! First you don't know if it can sting- that happened to me when I accidentally brush on one while diving and I have had a rash for 2 weeks now. Secondly the reef dies by just one touch.
It is a definite to do if you want to experience out of this world diving that costs nothing.
Next door there is a little cafe- pricy, but most food for purchase is pricy on the island.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Ma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Snorkelling the way it should be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The snorkelling is great but go on a very sunny day to see all the fish and coral. You can walk down the beach from any where on Grace Bay beach.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great starter reef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Obviously very accessible (don't need to charter a boat).
Pretty diverse fish population.
Some nice corals.
Interesting inhabitants (rays, turtles, LARGE groupers, lionfish, barracuda, etc).
Sense of preservation - the middle of the reef is protected, with red buoys and thick rope keeping guard - and a marshal on the beach to flag those that venture into the preserved area - nice to see they are trying to keep the reef going/allow it to flourish.
Excellent reef to let newbies/kids gnash their snorkeling teeth. There are tonnes of fish (eg. Parrot fish) within 15 feet of shore, in only 5 feet of water - my 5 year old got to see schools of fish!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ruined by Tourists”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been going to TCI for over 15 years. The reef, although marked off by buoys, has been ruined by tourists....taking coral.....disregarding the marked off areas...it is very sad this has happened!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bight Reef also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Bight Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bight Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.