We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More amazing than I had imagined” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Resort

Save Saved
You added Alexandra Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alexandra Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Savings in TCI
Ranked #25 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Regina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“More amazing than I had imagined”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

My spouse and I just returned from TCI and we stayed at the Alexandra Resort. I saw tons of photos online prior to arriving, but seeing it in person was even better. Our room was fantastic, we rented a studio and the kitchenette had granite countertop, stainless stell micro/fridge, and the most amazing maid service ever. The resident Manager Anette was outstanding in ensuring our trip went off without a hitch. Every staff person we were in touch with was friendly and dedicated to making our stay enjoyable. Cant remember his name now, but the man who took us to our room and brough our luggage to the door was always smiling and so friendly. The resort was clean, right on the beach, has an amazing spa that I enjoyed one day as well. I had the most amazing massage I have ever had in my life there! I was in heaven. Since it is right on the beach we enjoyed a beautiful view of the ocean, and was 2 min from the shoreline of the beach. My only concern was the onsite restaurant (Orchid), it was ok, but nothing outstanding like some of the others we visited. But good food still. Overall, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    274
    54
    21
    9
See reviews for
156
459
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carolina
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Alexandra for our honeymoon and were very pleased. We had an ocean front room on the second floor with a king bed, sitting room, patio and kitchen. We saw pictures of the rooms on Trip Advisor and the Alexandra web site but when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. The room was amazing! It was much better than we imagined and slightly understated in the photos. Frankly, from the pictures we were worried that the bathroom might not be as nice as the other hotel photos but it was excellent. Also, the kitchen was large and the patio was enormous! We spent many nights just sitting on the patio with a rum drink taking in the view. Housekeeping came every day and kept us well stocked with fresh towels. All of the staff at the Alexandra were extremely friendly and helpful (Emily at the office, Ada at the Orchid, and Bernadette with Housekeeping were incredible!).

One of the best things about the Alexandra is the location. Caicos Dream Tours is located right at the hotel so we didn’t have to walk far to go on their snorkeling tour. On a side note, we loved their snorkeling tour so much went twice! Also, many of the prime restaurants are within walking distance (on the beach) although, I do have to say we rented a car which I highly recommend. Grace Bay Auto Rentals picked us up at the airport and we dropped the car off at the airport on the way out (easy).

Places we ate that we recommend:
Caribbean Night at the Sunset Deck (Alexandra)
Hemmingways at the Sands
Bay Bistro located at the Sibonne (we did the special “beach dinner” and it was AMAZING!).
Somewhere Café at Coral Gardens (great southwest breakfast!)
Conch Shack at the Conch Shack

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Stayed at the Alexandra last week in March for our annual mother-daughter trip.
Upon check-in, we had requested a possible upgrade to a one bedroom 2nd floor ocean view from a 1st floor garden studio. We looked at both units in the Prima Donna bldg and decided on the 1 bedroom - the studios are just ridiculously small.

Room 3208: Comfortable and clean. Nice finishes - crown molding, brushed nickel, etc. Modest furnishings, nice artwork, nice but simply stocked kitchen. the couch (loveseat) was total junk. tiny and uncomfortable. the pull-out sofa bed - awful! my mom and i watched TV in the bedroom every night because the sofa couldn't fit 2 people unless sitting up. hardly made the upgrade worthwhile. the bathroom was big and had ample storage and supplies. the shower a bit small and they could stand to put a swivel showerhead as your practically nose up to the glass door. the balcony - great. the view - beautiful.

Location: perfect! it really is a very nice stretch of Grace Bay. we walked both ways and checked out the other resorts and this was a nice piece of property. The resort s uderstated and simple with nice plantigs and geckos galore!

Pool: nice and clean. decent size for the resort. they stock a few floats and noodles etc for the kids. chairs were comfy with real cushions (unlike beach chairs) and umbrellas plentiful. they were doing construction when we were there on a new bldg which was a BIG negative for the pool though. ah progress!

BEACH: perfect! no shortage of chairs - and workers set up umbrellas as needed. tipped him a few bucks every day. was amazed that some imbeciles felt the need to do the 'chair saving thing' every morning - it just sets the wrong tone for everyone on vacation. the beach area is pretty small so there's not really a bad spot on the beach even if you do sleep in a bit :)

Computer Room, Gym and Spa: Free internet access which was a nice plus as verizon doesn't work there. the gym was small- we didn't use. the spa - didn't see. not sure it exists.

Groceries: hit the IGA and stock up on staples. we bought water, bread, coffee, milk, cereal and fruit since we ate out most meals. note: groceries are retty pricey.

Cabs: we didn't rent a car. we used one cab driver the entire time - Calvin - who was awesome! His number is [--]. Really reasonable.

the Orchid Restaurant/Sundeck: here's where things take a turn. the food was good but the service made us REALLY apprehensive to order anyhting for fear of wasting the day! we did the Monday night 'Caribbean BBQ' which was basically a pre-cooked buffet. no grill in sight and the food - just ok. they also had the bar TV on and people sitting at the bar during the dinner - that was a big neg.

Service: ok. i held off on this one til last. the front desk is slow - but they try. Housekeeping was great - no issues. However, everyone in the restaurant/sundeck area was utterly useless. there are about 3 people employed with almost no job function. one is a restaurant manager for we don't know what as no one wants to eat there. one is mr. congeniality who does we have no idea what. another girl was milling about every day doing nothing. and the waitstaff (one person) has been there for so long - she is completely complacent about the term 'service'. Granted, everyone was VERY VERY friendly. but we paid a LOT of money to stay there and expected a higher caliber on the service front. we didn't go there to make friends. and we don't want to while the day away shooting the breeze with the help. we want breakfast in less than an hour and we want to hit the beach! it's an egg! how long does it take???? hahahaha

Restaurants: we ate at the Sharkbite for pub-food which was good, Baci was excellent! Plunge at the Regent Palms next door was GREAT for beer, pizza and atmosphere. You'll wish you booked there instead! Parallel 23 at the Regent Palms for a 'nice' (aka expensive) dinner - very nice but overpriced and a little too shi-shi for us. We tried to get into Hemingways at the Sands - it was booked. We hit the diner at the Salt Mills - awesome breakfast! and the Orchid at the Alex when we had to (mostly lunch - which was really good when it finally arrived but not worth the wait -everyone around us complained about the dining service the entire week we were there - it's a signficant problem). The Orchid is also very casual dining - i would recommend adding chair cushions to the folding chairs for the dinner service - jazz it up a bit for the prices they're charging for meals - idon't want to sit on a folding chair for dinner! ha!

Overall: nice, no frills resort. the location is great and the beach fabulous. and the people are NICE and friendly. it is a great place to lay your head but that's about it. i'd give it a 4 - but the service so seriously crimps the resort - even on island time - that i had to knock it to a 3. For the money - you may do a little better elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

We are just finishing a 6 night stay at the Alexandra in Turks and Caicos. We rented a 2 bedroom, ocean front condo. We came down with our 3 children (14, 11, 9) as well as friends with kids the same ages.

The Pros:
The room was really great. Tons of space and very clean. Was great to have a full kitchen and laundry. The property is very clean and well maintained. The beaches are beautiful. Didn't have any trouble getting chairs or umbrellas in the morning. The property was not very crowded so neither pool or beach were very crowded. Towels were plentiful. The staff was very friendly (but not many of them). Jeffrey, the concierge, was awesome...very helpful and has a terrific personality.

Average:
The pool is average. No spa/hot tub. The swim up bar is basically never staffed.

The Cons:
The restaurant on the property is not very good and the service is very slow even for the islands. We went to dinner off property every night and even avoided having lunch on property as the lunch would take 60-90 minutes. The workout room is in a 1st floor converted suite and only had 1 eliptical, 1 treadmill, 1 recumbant bike. They have some weight machines and all the equipment is in good order but the space is small. The spa is basically non-existent as is the reception area which is also a converted room.

Must Do's
Take a charter or join a boat and go snorkeling, dive for conch shells and definitely go to the sandbar/sand dollar island...was the best part of the trip. Best restaurants: CocoBistro, Magnolia, Parellel 23. All restaurants very expensive but most quite good.

Net, if you prioritize a great beach, a really nice room and clean property, this is a good property to consider. If you want a lot of services (restaurant ,bar, health club, spa etc.) i'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Stayed at the Alexandra for the week March 20th to 27th. Very nice resort - large pool with fresh towels (used for the beach right in front as well) and friendly and courteous who were helpful without being obtrusive staff. Everyone working there seemed to truly want to assist tourists in having a good time! The 1 bedroom studio we were in had a full kitchen and was a pleasure to live out of. The IGA/Graceway stores are well stocked (but pricey, like most things on the Island), and as noted above, a rental car makes life very easy (once you get used to left driving - rotaries = look right, drive left...). The beach in front of the resort is amazing, the neatest colour and warm water, and just down the beach is the Coral Garden reef where the snorkelling is superb. The dining at the Orchid (onsite) was good - nice Monday night buffet of Caribbean specialties, good lunches - the Jerked Chicken pasta is super! We also ate supper twice just east on the beach at Bay Bistro - the lamb is superb! What can you say - a perfect spot with a very nice resort and very attentive staff - we'll be back, soon we hope!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed at the Alexandra resort on the island of "Provo" in Turks & Caicos, for the week of March 13, 2010. We rented a VRBO #139243, a unit in the Prima Donna building #3210. It was a 2nd floor corner unit. It was a studio with a kichenette, no stove. But had a little frig, microwave, toaster, blender, dishes, glasses and a small sink. It was $199 a night plus a cleaning fee of $75. It was perfect for us. It said it had a king bed, but it was a queen and the mattress was soft, but ok. It highlighted the fact it had "upgraded furniture", but truely is was wood furniture like we have at home. No big deal. I didn't see the other units, but island furniture would have been fine too. It was clean, no bugs, no dust, no mold in the bathroom. The water pressure was weak, but ok for us. The frig needed the freezer defrosted, it was pretty bad. They did have ice cube trays so we didn't have to get ice from the bar, as others said they had to do. The closet was big and we had a washer and dryer in the unit too. We bought groceries at the IGA, so we had breakfast and lunch in our room most days. Always ate on the balcony, only table we had, but was perfect. We could see the pool and ocean. This resort is nice and quiet. There were always pool lounges available, and beach chairs. There were always big soft beach towels available too. They had pool toys and sand toys for the kids to use and a small pool for toddlers. The restaurant was quiet, never crowded. We ate a few breakfasts, one lunch and a dinner. Food was excellant and you could eat on the beach/bar area too. Very relaxing. Service was good and attentive. If you ate at the restaurant (the Orchid) and lived at the property, you got a 10% discount.
We had no problems checking in when we arrived and they took us(with luggage) on a golf cart over to our building. Whenever we needed a cab for a ride to a restaurant for dinner, you just called the front desk and within 1/2 hr it was there. Check out was smooth too. Every day was 2 for 1 drinks in the bar from 4-5 pm. That was fun. They had a 'manager's complimentary breakfast each Monday. They explained all the specials for the week, the snorkeling tours right on the beach, etc.. very low key, no pressure and good food. The Monday night caribbean cookout was very good. It gave us a chance to sample foods we may not usually eat or order. It was priced right at $25 each too. I am a picky eater and I loved it. The whole island was quiet, uncrowded, friendly and safe. We walked down to the grocery and shopping area a few time (about 20 min). We went snorkeling at Coral gardens, 10min down the beach almost every day. (we had our own gear). I would recommend it to anyone.
We ate at Hemmingways (the Sands) 3 times, Magnolia (in Turtle cove, a cab ride needed.) sunsets were gorgeous. We even order pizza from Pizza Pizza one night. It was good and delivered right to our door. The only Beach area that was crowded was Beaches. it is an all-inclusive a few doors down to the West. Good for kids. But our resort was good for kids too. They all drive on the left, so we didn't attempt that. But I heard that Grace bay car rentals is the best place to rent from. We walked past them.
There isn't alot of shopping, no bargins, no deals. They are not known for any thing special. We only bought a few t-shirts. Food was the best, but alittle expensive. They do have a casino, but we didn't go. I have a horse, so I went riding with provo ponies. It was the best. I suggested it to another couple and they went a few days later and loved it too. The horses are well taken care of and very gentle, even non riders have fun. We swam in the ocean and galloped the beach. You don't have to gallop.
We had a wonderful time and will go back some day. By using VRBO, it was about 1/3 less for resort room rental. They also have 1 and 2 bedroom suites that have full kitchens. I saw one and it was beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed here the last week in February. Our room was a a spacious studio and it was so pretty!
The balcony was a terrific respite during the rainy days and the lovely evenings.
The room was immaculate and new towels were delivered every evening.
Everyone on the staff was friendly, very helpful and so pleasant.
Breakfast was easy and good, Ada was very sweet.
The pool deck was great, very comfy chairs and a swim up bar.
The even had rafts to float on.
The beach was immaculate and the Sunset Deck was a great place to end the day.
We loved this hotel and felt welcomed from the moment we arrived. We felt ourselves shift into vacation mode as soon as we were greeted at the reception desk.
We look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, The Alexandra offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; luxurious accommodations, warm friendly service, amazing oceanfront dining and a bevy of exciting activities. Understated luxury with a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, international cuisine with island flair and so much more await you at this magnificent Turks and Caicos resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.