We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alexandra Resort to your Saves list
Alexandra Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Northeast
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We just returned from spending 6 days at the Alexandra Resort. It was our first time staying here but our 6th visit to the our favourite island. We selected the Alexandra for a change of location and were initially nervous we would be giving up the accessibility from our earlier locations. We were pleasantly surprised! Our reception was wonderful with friendly staff to greet us and show us to our room. Our room was a one bedroom, 11/2 bath in building 3 and it had more than enough space for the 2 of us. The kitchen was immaculate and the balcony size was generous with awesome views of the water and the pool. The grounds were well tended to and contrary to reviews I had previously read, the pool was clean and refreshing. The Mango Reef restaurant was great for dinner and we ended up eating there twice which we never do. We purchased groceries for breakfast and enjoyed on the balcony. It is within walking distance to many great restaurants(Mr. Groupers, Bay Bistro). We took advantage of the bikes to ride to the grocery store and for leisure. We also used the tennis courts with equipment provided by the front desk. We have not found a bad spot on Grace Bay beach and the Alexandra provides a wonderful spot with plenty of water sports, beach chairs/umbrellas. We walked to Bight Reef to snorkel in about 20 minutes. The people we met were also friendly and although it is a larger resort, we never felt crowded. We will be looking forward to returning next year!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors provide better views. We were on the second floor and I would not go lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We are very happy to read your positive review, and to learn that you will be staying with us again on a future trip - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    359
    68
    25
    16
See reviews for
206
575
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Once again this year our two week stay at the Alexandra Resort exceeded our expectations. We have been coming here for over 13 years and it continues to get better every year. Besides the true “Beautiful by Nature” of the island, the staff is what really makes this resort stand out from all the rest. When we arrived we are greeted with a great big smile and hug from Arnold the bellman, along with Latisha Smith, Resort Relations Manager always does what she can to make sure your stay is perfect and Matilda our housekeeper always does an outstanding job!! It is always just like coming home … Thank you to all of the Alexandra Resort employees for making us feel at home. See you next February!!!

So if you are looking for an excellent place to go, be pampered, and relax on one of the best beaches do not look any further than the Alexandra Resort!!!

Room Tip: The Chelsea building is a true beach FRONT property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We were so pleased to welcome you back again to your "home" in Turks and Caicos. We genuinely appreciate having the opportunity to continue being of service. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We just returned from 9 days in Turks & Caicos. We stayed at the Alexandra Resort and it was absolutely wonderful. Within walking distance of many restaruants and activities. The reef is close for snorkling. We had a 1 bedroom 1 1/2 bath condo and had plenty of space. We weren't in the condo that much, we spent most of our time either by the beautiful ocean or on the balcony. It was very large and quite relaxing. We walked the beach everyday and even rode bikes from the resort to town a few days. We ate at several different resorts and the sunset at the Somewhere Cafe is a must. What a view. The beach was never crowded and there were plenty of chairs and umbrellas for everyone. The staff was very nice and offered alot of great information on tours and getaways. We had an amazing time and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your positive review and we were so happy to be a part of your positive vacation experience. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The only reason this place gets 3 stars is that it is not my "cup of tea". The resort itself is great, our family room was absolutely stunning and super large (about 1000sqft or over). The staff was incredibly great. They upgraded us from regular one bedroom into a bigger room once we were there because I did not like the first room-- with no additional charge. We stayed for a week. The restaurant is also great for dinner, just ok for breakfast.
I do not like big resorts for a reason, it's full of people, it lacks intimacy, and in my opinion defeat the purpose of going to a beach vacation, which should be as close to nature as possible. That was my first time in a resort like that, and I chose it based on reviews, indeed, it's hospitality and location is perfect. The prices are also reasonable in comparison to the other resorts in the area. We has a car so we almost did not stay in the resort, and explored the island.

If resort is your thing, or you go with kids, I guess it is place great for you.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We very much appreciate your acknowledgement of the many positive aspects that you noted about your stay and respect the fact that our resort was not suited to your personal preferences. It sounds like you had a great vacation and we were pleased to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The rooms felt more like a motel or a college dorm. The restaurants are not run by the resort and service was almost nonexistent. The only upside was the beautiful beach but again, poor service and no security. Another guest had to step in to assist when a local man was harassing female sunbathers. We How bad was it? We checked out after the first night and made other arrangements for our week long stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
We are extremely disappointed to receive your review, particularly since the description you shared does not match our resort. All of our spacious suites feature large decks or patios, stainless steel kitchen facilities, feathertop beds with Egyptian cotton linens, flat screen TV's and much more - amenities and facilities not typically found in motels or dorms. The resort has been assigned a four star rating by a number of industry respected on-line travel agents and wholesalers who independently inspect and evaluate the resort. The property could not earn a four star rating from these organizations if the facilities were as you described. There is only one restaurant on property (you noted there was more than one.) We have a full security staff working 24 hours a day. We do hope that you enjoyed the accommodations that you moved to, and that the rest of your visit to Turks and Caicos was a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I think we may have found us our own kind of paradise here! My wife and and I decided to book this vacation as our daughter's first international experience. We stayed in mid-February for my wife's birthday. We couldn't have had a more perfect time. Having traveled to other beautiful destinations with prime beaches, (Aruba, Jamaica), it's hard to describe to someone who has never experienced the vibrancy of the colors in Turks & Caicos. The ocean is by far the nicest we've ever encountered, and pictures don't even capture the full beauty of it.
We met Olivia at the front desk and immediately fell in love. She treated our daughters, who are 6 and 9, as her sisters. She would call and just want to chat with them, always greeting them with warm hugs. Our girls cried when they had to say goodbye to her. She was amazing! As was the rest of the staff. Everyone was very pleasant and accomodating. Getting beach chairs and umbrellas was never a problem, and we decided that the beach in front of the Alexandra was the nicest. Mango Reef, the on-premesis restaurant was very good and convenient. However, our unit had a kitchen and we mostly ate breakfast and lunch in our room, on the patio, overlooking the ocean. Groceries are expensive, but expected when everything has to be imported. While on the beach, you can take advantage of kayaks, SUPs, snorkeling equipment, and the like. One day I met a new friend, Kameo, who works at the resort. He has to be the most chill, friendliest guy there. Anytime I saw him he wanted to know if we were enjoying ourselves, how our girls were doing, and he just gave off such a great vibe. Thanks for making our time special! Some advice- wear sunblock-lots of it! Don't forget to check out the surrounding restaurants. Our favorite was Grace's Cottage. If you need a taxi anywhere, ask for Gloria's. Our driver's name was Cordy, and he was a great guy. The only issue we had the entire trip was the airport. We sensed they are having growing pains, so be prepared for a bit of chaos. The airport staff is patient, and they assure you you won't miss your flight, but it was a bit of a hassle nonetheless. All-in-all this place was perfect for our family; we are already planning our return trip. The resort never seems crowded and none of the guests were obnoxious, loud, or over-the-top. It's just a very relaxing spot that I'm sure you'll enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
We appreciate receiving your positive review, and we are thrilled to learn that you are already planning to stay with us again on a future visit. We will share your kind feedback with the team. Yes, the airport is indeed under renovation and this work should be completed by late 2014 - hopefully just in time for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have been staying at this resort for over 10 years and have seen the island develop over the years. It has become more commercialized but as also given us more things to do over the week. Have never had a bad day weather wise and the food and restaurants are amazing. A definite place to go if you are looking for a great getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
We truly have appreciated your patronage over the last 10 years. Thank you for continuing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#21 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, The Alexandra offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, amazing oceanfront dining and a free daily activity program. Guest can also take our complimentary shuttle to our two on-island sister resorts to enjoy their dining facilities. The Alexandra provides a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, and activities and amenities including Pelican Kids' Club, complimentary non motorized water sports, tennis courts, free use of pedal bikes, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.