We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An apartment in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Resort

Save Saved
You added Alexandra Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Alexandra Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Savings NOW
Ranked #21 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Sevenoaks Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An apartment in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

After three days of madness at a Miami wedding my wife and I arrived at the Alexandra resort. We were overlooking the beach and sea from a large third floor balcony of a superb apartment with kitchen-living room, bathroom and bedroom.
The quality of the building is excellent. The location is very difficult to beat. The food on the beach at the Mango Reef restaurant is superb. The beach itself is one of the best in the world. If you look at the color of the water and the sand you will see why.
This holiday week was an eye opener. Loved the place, the island and the people (even Anderson who might just be the funniest barman on the planet).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We are glad that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Alexandra Resort. You did indeed choose the right resort for location, quality and value. Please stay with us again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    258
    50
    21
    8
See reviews for
142
427
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here from Oct 10 - 15th, 2013. It was a short, but very pleasant getaway from the Canadian Fall. Overall, a very good resort where we would stay again. It was pretty much dead when we were there so there was always plenty of loungers and room both at the pool and at the beach - not sure how crowded it can become during the busy season.

The Rooms:
We had a studio room in the Marilyn building overlooking the pool. The room is plenty big for two people sharing. It was clean (twice a day maid service!), modern and the bed was very comfortable. A/C worked well. Amazing water pressure. Plenty of fresh towels. Kitchen has the essentials including dishes, a toaster, a blender (for yummy drinks), coffee maker (with some coffee and sugar provided) and a decent-sized mini-fridge. There was also a washer/dryer which we didn't use but could be convenient. The balcony is quite large and pleasant for morning coffee or afternoon lounging.

The pool:
Fairly large, not heated but water plenty warm. Comfortable loungers all around. Could probably use a better filtration system but really not a big deal. The pool bar was never busy and the staff was quite nice (a special shout out to Reginald who always had an amazing smile).

The food:
The restaurant is quite good with lots of variety. Be warned, portions are enormous! Dinner for two with a drink each ran about 110$ which is on par with other restaurants around. You have got to try the Nutty Coladas - delicious!! Mixed drinks will run out 9$ a piece but they are good quality.

The Beach:
Good size, plenty of chairs and umbrellas. Lots of toys for kids and such available from what we could tell. Towels tended to run out during the day but I think this is because it's low season. You don't need towel cards or to even leave your room number - works on the honor system.

Places you should go close to the resort:

We took advantage of the free bikes on a daily basis. They provided you with a bike lock at the reception - nice touch! Be warned, we did take the bikes out for dinner one night but were later told by an employee that we shouldn't have because there are no lights on the bikes thus making it illegal (oops!!). We used our iphones for light but I can see why this would be dangerous. During the day, there is no concern whatsoever driving along Grace Bay road because there are sideways on either side - very safe.

1) Thursday Fish Fry - starts at 5 pm at Bight park. You can take a cab there (10$ for two people) but you can also walk safely along the beach. If facing the water, turn left and walk maybe 15-20 min (past Coral Gardens resort). You'll hear the music. Great atmosphere, wonderful food and very cheap (20$ pp for a meal). Definitely a must.

2) Coral Gardens Reef (Bight Reef) - again easy to walk to. Well outlined area. We saw some cool things there including a sea turtle and schools of tangs.

3) Salt Mills shopping - maybe a 5 min bike ride away (turn left off princess on Grace Bay Road). The duty free shop across the road from the shopping center has great prices (best on the island).

4) Smith's Reef: A bit further out in the other direction on Grace Bay Road (about 5 KM) but easy to bike (again, there are sidewalks - avoid biking on the main highway!). The reef itself is just beyond turtle cove marina. Beautiful reef (better than Bight) with lots of marine life! Worth the trip out.

5) Gourmet Graceway groceries: Worth getting some snacks, things to make drinks. It's maybe 1km further than salt mills (turn right on Allegro from Grace Bay Road). Very easy to get to with the bikes. Groceries are VERY expensive but less expensive than dining out all the time. We were diving two days so got things for breakfast and snacks. You can also take a shuttle (9$ pp, round trip) from the resort to the main IGA but we didn't feel the need to.

Places to eat nearby (other than Mango Reef which is really good):
1) Bay Bistro: Facing the water turn right on the beach. It's at Sibonné resort (3 down, 5 min max). We had breakfast there and it's very reasonably prices with large portions. Many people told us dinner here is very good. Great views.

2) Mr. Grouper's : VERY good. Maybe a 5 min walk from resort (turn right off Princess on Grace Bay Road). The coconut crusted grouper is to die for. The drinks are cheap and stiff. Well worth the visit.

3) Hemmingway's: At the Sands resort. Good service and good food. Reasonably priced.

We also ate the Coco Bistro (well worth the expense), Bella Luna (in the new pizza garden) and Jimmy's dive bar (5$ mijoto Mondays - do it!) but these are a bit further out. If you want starbucks coffee, you can get it a green bean café close to Turtle Cove.

Overall, this resort is on the small size compared to the HUGE Beaches but it was friendly, very clean and comfortable. It's well located and the bikes make it easier to get around. We had a bottle of wine waiting for us in our room which was a nice touch. We signed up for the newsletter prior to going and received a 50$ voucher to use (paid for some of our Nutty Coladas!).

We would recommend this resort without hesitation!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your thorough review. You shared some great travel advice with other TripAdvisor readers. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we hope you will stay with us again in the future. Even if you visit during peak season, you will always find plenty of space and a beach lounger at the Alexandra Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Although the Alexandra is not as luxurious as other hotels on the island, it is a very nice hotel. The rooms are clean and well kept. The pool area and the beach are kept very clean. They offer bikes you can take out and explore the island, paddle boards, kayaks, and snorkeling equipment. The restaurant was one of the best that we ate at on the island and dinning on the beach was magical.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for acknowledging the value we offer to our guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the various amenities at the resort. Please stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Shopped around for the best hotel price and location and the Alexandra Resort was definitely the winner. It came down to either Alexandra or Sands and they were close enough to each other that I wanted to save the extra $50 a night at Sands for dinner instead.

The hotel is next door to Beaches (all-inclusive) so it's a bit further from town than say Seven Stars. But they have bicycles for guests to use and we took full advantage of them! They gave us 1 free shuttle pass to the market but we found it more enjoyable to just ride our bikes to there and put the food in the bicycle baskets.

The hotel is directly on Grace Bay which is a stretch of beautiful crystal clear water and white sand. Free paddle boarding, floaties, snorkleing, kayaking, umbrella chairs! We took the hotel snorkel gear down to Coral Gardens which was about a 20 minute walk to the left. Tons of people snorkeling down at Windsong and Coral Gardens Hotel. We wanted to bike there but walking on the beach is easier and safer.

In the hotel room: kitchen with everything included (silverware, plates, cups, pots...etc). we left the dishes in the sick one night and they cleaned it for us too. The room also had a washer/dryer unit so make sure to bring your own detergent (our room didnt have any).

The AC was off night one when we got back and we thought it was broken. The maintenance guy came and found our balcony glass door was not completely shut all the way. It has to be shut and pushed to the side in order for the AC to properly work.

Wi-Fi access was good and convenient.

TV has Showtime and a lot of other channels.

Say Hi to Arnold and Al next time - they're great!

BTW, couldn't edit my Mr. Grouper's review but THEY DELIVER! So if you're tired of eating Mango Reef, call Mr. Grouper's to deliver that coconut crusted Grouper! We heard them taking delivery orders when we went there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We appreciated receiving your positive review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowood, Mississippi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Alexandra is a nice resort that delivers what I expected for the money. Everything (food, service, accommodations) is just shy of 5 star quality. They have snorkeling equipment, kayaks, SUPs, rafts, all available at no charge. The overall condition of the equipment was average. Any island activities are available through the concierge and you can be picked up right on the beach (snorkeling cruises, parasailing, etc). The condos are well appointed and roomy. You can walk to the beach, pool, restaurants in 2-3 minutes from anywhere on the property. The Grace Bay beach is phenomenal and lives up to its world class reputation. Enjoy!

Room Tip: You can not see the ocean from the rear buildings unless you are on the 4th or 5th level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We appreciate receiving your positive review. We price ourselves on offering the best beachfront resort value on Grace Bay Beach, so we are pleased to read that you feel you received value for the money you paid to stay at our four star resort. Please stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I spent eight nights at the Alexandra Resort from September 16th thru September 24, 2013. This was our first time to the Turks and Caicos. We stayed in a studio room with a balcony on the fifth floor overlooking the pool and having an ocean view. The room was perfect for us. We loved the fact that it had a washer and dryer! The room was clean and we were so thankful for the great air conditioning. The staff was fantastic and made you feel right at home. The grounds are lovely and we could not ask for a more beautiful beach. Mango Reef Café, the restaurant on the property, had delicious food and great service. We loved the bar too! Mikey the bartender was fabulous and Shelly who worked at the restaurant and bar was fantastic too. We would definitely stay at the Alexandra again.

Room Tip: We loved our view from the fifth floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Check in went smooth. Loved our oceanfront one bedroom condo. Kitchen was a great plus since food on the island is very pricey. Service here is great. Pool is dirty, they do not clean it regularly.. Bugs floating around. Olivia at front desk saved me..I was locked out on my patio one morning and she walked out of office. I called her and within five minutes she had maintenance here to let me in. Taxi is expensive but they have bikes to ride to shopping and restaurants close by. Bikes are free. Beware if you get sinus or migraines..front office is constantly spraying deodorizer! Smells great if you do not have problems..otherwise, not good. Grocery is close by and a taxi comes every day for a grocery run, 9.00 round trip. Worth it! The beach is amazing. Turquoise water and no waves to knock you down. Sand is like powder.......overall, loved the place.. Oh, restaurant has great service and food. Dined there twice..

Room Tip: My condo was a one bedroom oceanfront with kitchen..perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation and your visit to the Alexandra Resort. We are very concerned to read that you found the pool to be dirty. We normally receive exceptional reviews for our housekeeping standards and grounds maintenance. We will immediately investigate and address any issues that may have occurred with our daily pool maintenance program. We are glad that you enjoyed our customer service, daily grocery store shuttle and use of the complimentary pedal bikes. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales
Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#19 Romantic Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, The Alexandra offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; luxurious accommodations, warm friendly service, amazing oceanfront dining and a bevy of exciting activities. Understated luxury with a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, international cuisine with island flair and so much more await you at this magnificent Turks and Caicos resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Amex, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.