We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location best beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Resort

Save Saved
You added Alexandra Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexandra Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2014 Super Savings - Fall
Ranked #26 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
CT
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great location best beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

stayed at Alexandra for 5 nights. we were debating between here and the windsong. very glad we choose alexandra. upon check in our room was ready at 3 pm. we were given rum punch. front desk staff was helpfull and polite although they didnt tell us were spa / gym was or any of the services offered / prices etc. we were given a voucher for the Mango Reef for $150. Our room was fine, clean had microwave, coffee maker, sink, dishes, and washer and dryer. the beach location is why you come here and the alexandra is located on perhaps the best area on grace bay we walked both directions and didnt see a better location. The beach is wider, cleaner and water more blue / clear than any other spot on grace bay and for the price of alexandra you cant beat it. The hotel grounds were clean and nice as well. The pool was big although we did not go in it. the pool swim up bar area was rather run down and they could definately upgrade that and i would have used for sure. the beach chairs and umbrellas were all fine and there is alot of room so your not packed into each other like other resorts we saw. the attendents on beach were helpful and polite. no real beach service for drinks however so if you want one you have to go to bar but its very close. there is a liquor store and small market right at entrance to resort so you can use the free bikes the resort offers to go if you need anything, or walk its very close. Resort also offers paddleboard, snorkeling gear and kayaks free. Mango reef was excellent very big menu great food and desert. has live music 2x per week good for happy hour and sunsets. Also has dine on the beach options were tables are set up right on the beach. davidson was our waiter for on the beach and he was great. i would recommend this location for sure we walked to windsong and was a tiny / rocky beach glad we dodged that bullet. we will be back for sure. would like to see some improvements with pool bar area, maybe some more music at bar, and beach service for drinks but overall it was great. entire staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Alexandra Resort. We are in the process of upgrading the pool bar and hope you will have the opportunity to enjoy in on a future visit. Thank you for your patronage and positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    287
    56
    22
    9
See reviews for
165
476
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Spent one week at the Alexandra Resort in Turks and Caicos and it was wonderful. We opted not to stay at an all inclusive because we didn't want to feel confined to it for the food and drinks. Besides we don't live to eat nor drink. We had a studio with a washer/dryer, kitchenette and balcony with a partial ocean view and complete view of the pool. The food and drinks in Turks and Caicos is very expensive. We recommend if you can pack some instant food like oatmeal, coffee, snacks etc. if you're on a budget. A box of cereal ranges from $6-$12 and it is the small box. If you decide to do some groceries, don't take the shuttle which will cost $9 per person to go shopping. Since, the Alexandra provides bicycles free of charge which has a basket you can bike to the Grace Bay Gourmet which is nearby and know the area as well. Go to the gourmet section and eat the food which is cheap and delicious. The staff will try to convince you to take the shuttle because it is cheaper. You can also purchase your alcoholic drinks at the market (beer, wine, rum etc.) and have drink at the balcony. Once you reach the Seven Star resort on bike make a right and the grocery store is on the left. The Alexandra staff are very friendly and helpful. They arranged everything for us to include the boat tour, taxi, and ATV tour. We took the Caicos Dream Boat Tour which we were able to scuba dive and catch conch which was prepared as meal on the boat. The boat trip was worth it and we highly recommend it. The beach is very clean and beautiful. Thursday is Fish Fry and I strongly recommend you go. Ask the front desk about it. It is a long walk from the Alexandra, however, I recommend you bike or if you take a cab you are charged per person and make sure you have a return ride back. At the Fish Fry you have great music, the locals cook fresh seafood which you can purchase and many tourists from the local resorts gather to eat and dance. You can eat at Mr. Grouper which is a short walk from the Alexandra. Once you exit the Alexandra take a left and at the end of the road (Regents Palm) take a right and it is up the street. The food is cheaper than the Mango Reef. The Mango Reef food is excellent! We enjoyed it! We did the ATV tour. I was not impress with it. The helmets were worn out and the ATV was rusted and old. It really was not a tour, it was more riding the ATV on a rugged road. We enjoyed it but I was expecting riding along the beach. The room was cleaned twice daily. We enjoyed our stay and will return! No more all inclusive for us.

Room Tip: Recommend you have a washer/dryer unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing positive feedback about your stay at the Alexandra Resort and acknowledging that the resort offers great value. I am sure future guests will get good use from your tips and suggestions. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We just returned from our trip late last night. The resort exceeded my expectations! Best was the beautiful beach. The island was also really beautiful with plenty to see and many great restaurants. Definitely rent a car and explore the island. They drive on the left but honestly they only have two main roads and it was very simple to get around. We traveled with two young children 2 and 6. No children's activities at the resort that I noticed even though they advertised a kids club. The kids stayed entertained at the beach most of the time. Lots of watersports. We used the snorkel gear, kayaks, paddle boards all for free!

Right next door was Beaches Resort. Their beach was very crowded. Glad we didn't spend a fortune to stay there. I loved that the Alexandra had few guests and was more intimate. Everything was close walking distance between room, lobby, beach, and pool. Plus since this was such a safe and pretty island it was nice not being tied down to an all inclusive plan.

We stayed in the Chelsea building which was best location but the oldest building. Room was great and updated however I missed the washer dryer in the unit. Our luggage did not arrive until the second day of our trip (thanks to United) and we had to use the main laundry facility which was not very convenient. We had a one bedroom unit which had an amazing view of the ocean.

The restaurant Mango Reef was great! Everything we ordered was excellent and the service was also wonderful. Loved the outdoor seating above the beach. For dinner you can eat right on the beach but you must make reservations even if you are staying on the property.

The resort staff were all excellent and very helpful. The concierge was great for planning trips and asking questions. Definitely attend the welcome meeting on Sunday morning and get delicious pastries and useful information. We missed the Cocktail reception on Monday night but wish I had gone since I imagine the food was also great.

My only small negative was that the pool water was always filled with lots of bugs and leaves. Trust me you don't want to spend a lot of time in the pool at this resort since the beach is so amazing but since we traveled with kids they are always drawn to the pool. I guess since the pool was mostly empty all day it did get very dirty and it made it unpleasant to even walk around in it. My kids loved the pool and did not mind the bugs so I know it is probably just me being squeamish about it. Also there were many ants around the resort especially in the pool.

Definitely venture to Chalk Sound and Taylor Beach. They have a wonderful restaurant called Las Brisas which in my opinion was the best food and service we had all week. Also grab some snorkeling gear and go to Coral Gardens which is right next door to Beaches Resort. They have a protected reef which was great with lots of fish and coral reefs to view, best of all FREE!

Also did the undersea submarine for the kids. Saw lots of fish, sea turtles and even a mermaid. Kids loved it. More for kids and non-swimmers though.

Definitely will be returning to this resort and wonderful island in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are pleased that you had an enjoyable visit to the Alexandra Resort. We are glad you and your family were able to take advantage of all of our complimentary watersports activities. Thank you for bringing the issue around the pool to our attention - we are working on addressing it. The resort does have the Pelican Kids Club for children aged 4-10 for $25 per day including lunch at Mango Reef. We would like to confirm that all suites have washers and dryers except the studios and one bedroom units in Chelsea and the studios in Lady Rose. We are looking forward to welcoming back in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a great one week stay in a one bedroom oceanfront at the Alexandra. We had a one bedroom condo with a king bed, huge balcony/patio where we had many drinks and meals, The condo was clean, huge and nicely furnished. The resort is a phenomenal value on one of the best spots of Grace Bay. I walked all over Grace Bay and found Alexandra's beach to be one of the best. Sands and Point Grace a little better b/c of less crowdedness. We made complete use of the free kayaks, boats, snorkel gear etc. The management was so attentive and pleasant to deal with, we did not like our room first (it was stuck in a corner towards Beaches Resort with an obstructed oceanview, they moved us to a fantastic 4th floor room without any hassles. Their weekly Manager's cocktail party is a great way to try Mango Reef appetizers and meet other guests.
Mango Reef food was delicous. Live music of Tues and Fri was nice. The pools were nice except for the ants all around. There were staff all over the resort tending to the garden, maintaining the beautiful landscaping. The Staff I felt were a little shy, while polite but not overly welcoming. Always had to say hi first.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We are pleased to read you had a great stay at the Alexandra Resort. We appreciate your recognition of the value offered at our beachfront resort. Thank you for letting us know about the ants. We will have our grounds team attend to the matter immediately. We certainly hope we will be able to welcome you back at The Alexandra again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsboro, TX
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Alexandra sets on Grace Bay and is the most wonderful beach I have been to. Powder white sand and beautiful water with no seaweed or rocks. We had a Oceanview one bedroom. Caught some nice sunsets while there. The pool looked nice but we spent our time on the beach. Great restaurant at the resort. New York prices on groceries. When every thing is shipped in what else can you expect. Free use of kayaks, paddle boards, and bikes. Take a trip to dive for Conch. The Conch Salad they made for us was tasty, Diving was also one of the best. I had a wonderful Girl's Week with my two daughters. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Second Floor ocean view because there is a sand dune that would block your view if you stay on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous review and we are so glad to hear you had a wonderful vacation with your daughters. We really appreciate your mentioning all of the complimentary activities we have available. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed a the alexandra resort last christmas (dec 2012) and had a really good time. The first thing to know is that the alexandra is not really a hotel, per se, more a condo/time share establishment. But, don't let this put you off. There is no hard sell here and everything runs smoothly. We checked in and had a very nice 1br suite overlooking the pool. The room was very spacious, well cared for, and clean as can be. Very comfy, but don't expect four seasons style amenities. This is a very good 3 or 4 star resort. The beach area is well maintained and we never had problems getting chairs, umbrellas, or snorkeling equipment.

Note: The hotel runs a shuttle service to a local grocery store, so a rental car is not needed. We never used a taxi and had most of our meals in the apartment. The lunch place at the hotel (forgot the name) was quite good and reasonably priced.

Tip: we didn't care for the snorkeling adventure offered by the hotel, but to each his own. We ended up looking for (and finding) nice reefs near the hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were very nice and had either pool or ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing positive feedback about your stay at the Alexandra Resort. For the interest of other readers, please note only 32 suites are dedicated for timeshare owners. The rest of the suites on property accommodate resort guests. You are correct that we do not strive to be a luxury hotel – our goal is to be best beachfront resort value on Grace Bay Beach. I believe we have added quite a few amenities since your visit with us last year. We offer a full range of resort amenities including a large free form swimming pool with swim up pool bar, complimentary use of tennis courts, pedal bikes and helmets, non motorized water sports, exercise room, plus we have Spa Sanay, Caicos Dream Tours excursions desk on site, and our new Pelican Kids' Club. We do hope you will visit us again soon so you can experience all these upgrades for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Alexandra Hotel in Providenciales for a 25th wedding anniversary celebration. We picked this hotel randomly. It sounded like it had a great beach (which it did) and most of the reviews were positive. And everything was great. The greeting, the trip/location from the airport, the free bikes, the free kayaks, paddleboards, snorkeling equipment, the service, the rooms were clean and well equipped (no need to overpack, washer and dryer in unit!). But if we look past ourselves, which my husband and I did, we found something extraordinary about The Alexandra Resort: Our 2nd day on the island we noticed the overwhelming amount of stray dogs. Islanders call these dogs "potcake dogs." Since my husband and I are dog lovers, it became quite depressing driving around "paradise" seeing the suffering dogs. I felt an enormous amount of guilt spending thousands of dollars on a vacation when these dogs have nothing and suffer not only from hunger and God knows what diseases but thirst as well. They are often hit by cars and left for dead (if the impact didn't finish them off). We made a visit to the potcake center in Ports of Call and spoke with the director and were just dismayed at how many strays they estimate there are. It is a serious problem and it doesn't appear that there are any laws in place to stop the breeding and disease amongst these potcake dogs. We, of course, made a donation as well as spent much of our time driving around (in both a car and on bike) feeding and watering these little creatures. The turn around moment for us (what lifted us from our depression) was when the director told us about a program they are putting together. They have dozens of veterinarians and technicians coming from the states in October and they will be spaying and neutering as many dogs as they can trap and release. These vets and techs are doing this for free. When asked where the vets will be staying? We were told the Alexandra Resort! They are providing the lodging! We were so impressed! It validated that we, most definitely, made the right choice with our accomodations. I would gladly stay here again, not just because it's a wonderful resort, but because it's run by wonderful people who think past themselves. Kudos to you Alexandra Resort, your owners, your staff and to the wonderful people at the Potcake Center. You are all awesome people to give of yourselves so unselfishly. We will gladly recommend this hotel....Again, not just because of their charity but because of their great accomodations and service. By the way, when you go, you'll surely meet Darren. He's a wealth of knowledge and goes above and beyond to assist all guests. I hate to point out just Darren because I didn't meet a single employee (and there are MANY, no lack of employees to cater to your every whim) that didn't go above and beyond. And they're ALWAYS smiling! It certainly turned out to be a better trip than we thought it would after that 2nd day there and we both agree, we were so glad to spend our 25th anniversary celebrating, both at the Alexandra, and serving these little helpless creatures. When you go, take the shuttle to the grocery store (@4:30PM I believe) and don't forget to pick up a bag of dog food or treats. The prices at the hotel, the stores and the restaurants are understandable. It IS an island after all and everything has an import tax. What the Alexandra does is offer you A) A mini kitchen with dishes, microwave, sink and fridge to offset that expense, B) a ride to the grocery store to get groceries (which are...surprise!...expensive) and C) enough of a variety at the restaurant on site (Mango Reef) that you never have to eat the same thing twice! I'm missing the french toast already. And the great beach that you never have to worry about finding a chair at!

Room Tip: Chalk Sound is a must...don't give up...You will find a spot to park and enjoy. My husband even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Our team was thrilled to read your kind comments. Congratulations on your milestone anniversary! And thank you so much for joining us in support of the local “potcakes” and their plight. We will post more information on our Facebook page about the October program, so please do follow us there. We will share your comments with Darren and the rest of the staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, The Alexandra offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; luxurious accommodations, warm friendly service, amazing oceanfront dining and a bevy of exciting activities. Understated luxury with a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, international cuisine with island flair and so much more await you at this magnificent Turks and Caicos resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.