We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We recommend it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alexandra Resort to your Saves list
Alexandra Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Savings in TCI
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“We recommend it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I've heard that many properties on Grace Bay on comparable, but we had great stay at the Alexandra and for that, I recommend it. Beautiful beach, but no real snorkeling on that area of Grace Bay (except for a 15-20 min walk to Bight Reef which is worth doing).

The service was always friendly - from bell man, check in, wait staff, garden crew, etc. The resort has 150 rooms but it never felt crowded or loud at the pool or at the beach. We had a two bedroom suite which was in great shape, bright, up to date and clean. We had friendly reliable maid service.

Great resort for families. We were two families with kids ranging from 3-16 staying for 7 nights. Plenty of beach toys for the kids available (including kayaks, paddle board, sand toys, etc). We stayed on the top floor (5th) of a pool view building which was perfectly fine for us. It was a quick walk to the Mango Reef restaurant, pool and beach.

They have a shuttle that goes to the grocery store every day at 4:30 pm which is convenient. Athough we didn't make much use of our kitchen, you'll still want to go to pick up water, drinks, snacks, etc. In hindsight, we could've saved some money making breakfast each morning (good luck with that!).

Having a washer and dryer (compact) was also a great help (although it didn't deter my wife and 16yo daughter from over-packing ;) ).

Do take the Caicos Dream Tours excursion which I'm pretty sure is associated with the hotel (but at an additional cost, of course). It was great.

Mango Reef restaurant was very good, although service was typically slow as you find in the islands. I'll review that separately.

Room Tip: If not choosing beach front (and it's ok not to in order to save some $), request a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to the Alexandra Resort. We appreciate receiving your positive review and will share your kind feedback with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    359
    69
    25
    16
See reviews for
206
577
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We just returned from a five night stay at the wonderful Hotel Alexandra in Caicos. Our two-room suite had everything we could have wanted and expected. The room was pristine and modern, with beautiful floors, well-made furniture, a fully equipped kitchen, and so much more. My girlfriend loved the bed and kept saying how comfortable it was. I loved the 30 foot private deck with top rated lounge chairs. The Mango Restaurant (on premises) served great food, and you could dine either on a deck overlooking the ocean, on the beach, or in a small dining room. We found the food to be very good. As we had a full kitchen, we went to the local IGA and bought food to cook. The foodstore prices were through the roof: an articoke was $7, tomatoes were $5 a pound, and deli roastbeef was $13. It was all because of the import tax. It may or may not suite you to cook, but it can save you money as the restaurants are pricey on the island. My girlfriend and her friend snorkled with a group that left right from the hotel. My girlfriend brought up a huge conch that the boat crew prepared for her. She was awestruck with the adventure. I stayed behind drinking run and digging the sun. Another day we hired a guide to take us on a tour of other islands...this was great, as we got to North Caicos and went caving, saw flamingos, and ate at Daniel's which served the best conk I've had. He was a hoot, too. As you can tell, we fell in love with Caicos and would recommend it to anyone, except those who want crazy nightlife. If you do, don't go to Caicos. But if you want true beauty, friendly fellow guests, lots of fresh seafood, and a restful, memorable vacation, Caicos is your place. Our guided tour was run by the company Caicu Nanihi and its tour guide, Ben Stubenberg. The tour was a full-day magical mystery tour. It lived up to its claim.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful visit to the Alexandra Resort. Yes, some food prices can be expensive on the island, as with most other Caribbean destinations. Thanks for pointing out that we offer a shuttle to the grocery store, as our guests enjoy the convenience and savings. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Alexandra Resort Mar. 31-April 6 2013. We decided on this property based on the reviews provided on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the room and the property. Beautiful pool and perfect location on the beach. Gorgeous sunsets and turquoise water. The only drawback to the Turks is the price of the food, everything has to be imported as nothing is grown on the island so dinners ranged $140-200 per nite for 2 people. There is no fast food on the island. We felt that the trip was worth the money because it is a very relaxing island. The people are the most friendly and polite of anyplace that we have visited, they truly want you to return again. Great Trip!!!!

Room Tip: Try to book an oceanfront room we were upgraded to one per our request via email 1 wk before the tri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We will share your positive feedback with our team, as they work hard to provide exceptional service. Yes, some food prices can be expensive on the island, as with most other Caribbean destinations. On your next visit, please check with our Concierge as he can assist you in dining some value-priced restaurants on the island that offer great food. We also offer a value-priced B&B menu with Mango Reef, which helps reduce some dining costs. We hope you still stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just got back from a 5 night stay at the Alexandra Resort and was extremely impressed! First, when you get to the airport there is a rep from Alexandra there to greet you and make sure you get a taxi with the correct fare to the resort. Once there, you're greeted by very friendly folks, rum punch, a cold towel, and a very easy check in process. We were then helped to our room and given a full brief of all the amenities the resort had to offer as well as how to get to the local grocer. We had a huge room with a full kitchen fully equipped, living room, bedroom and two, yes two, bathrooms. One of the best parts of the room is the balcony that spans the entire length of the suite with a six person patio table and two lounge chairs. We spent lots of time out there with cocktails watching the sunset on the ocean, just perfect. The other great part of the room was the cleaning service, OUTSTANDING. They visited twice a day, every day and left the whole place spotless. No sand on the floor, nothing, it was superb and they are very thorough.
We hopped on the resort's bicycles and headed down to the store to grab makings for breakfasts, snacks, and drinks. The trip was too fun and being on a bike aways makes you feel like a kid again. The beach was beautiful, with bountiful chairs, towels, umbrellas, and sea toys (kayaks, paddleboards, etc.). We ate at Mango Reef our first night in and they seemed to be a little overwhelmed by the crowds and were not clear on our reservation. After speaking with a few folks, they found us a great spot though and we had a fantastic dinner. Taxis are plentiful, but you can also walk to several great places right on the beach, such as Somewhere on the Beach, our favorite restaurant spot on the island, and the Coral Gardens reef where you can snorkel right off the beach and see tons of fish, turtle, and growing reef. Just a great spot all around!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful visit to the Alexandra Resort. We appreciate receiving your positive reviews about our service and housekeeping standards, and we are delighted that you enjoyed using the complimentary pedal bike service. We look forward to hosting your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a beachfront condo room. It was clean and had a full kitchen, and we especially liked the very large lanai and view of the bay. The attached restaurant, Mango Reef, is very good, but there is NO other source of food - no gift shop, no snacks, no vending of any kind. Water is perfectly safe to drink, maybe metallic tasting. For groceries you can take the shuttle (daily at $11/person) and we wished we had done that the first day as the restaurant is expensive. We had a lot of error messages when we tried to book excursions frpm home - never got a confirmation of any kind - but had no problem when we got there. Only non-motorized water sports are available directly on the beach, which we liked since it protects the reef and it's very peaceful.
There was a duo performing during one night, but it was "easy listening" type of music. There was no other evening entertainment on site. IWe booked scuba and snorkel excursions. If we returned we get away from th resort more and sample other parts of the island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to the Alexandra Resort. We appreciate receiving your positive review. Please accept our apologies about the issue you encountered trying to arrange excursions with our concierge prior to arrival. We are addressing the IT issue and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Yes, food costs on the island can be expensive, so we are pleased that you took advantage of using the grocery store shuttle. On a future visit, please also consider our value priced B&B menu, an optional add on available with Mango Reef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I just returned from an amazing week at the Alexandra. We agree with all of the other reviews about the beautiful beach, turquoise water, friendly staff, clean rooms, and comfortable beds. We stayed in room 4402 studio. We had a queen size bed which worked fine for us, but there are studios available with king size beds upon request. We never had a problem finding chairs on the beach and we enjoyed using the bikes, kayaks, paddle board, and snorkeling gear available to guests. The Alexandra is a short walk or bike ride to shops and restaurants or cabs are available too. We really liked eating dinner on the beach at Mango Reef at the resort. The Mango Reef is expensive but it seems most places are pretty expensive for dinner. We really liked Bay Bistro and Le Bichon du Village for dinner as well. We hope to return to Turks and Caicos and take our kids along next time. We will definitely stay at the Alexandra again. We looked at several other resorts and the Alexandra was our favorite. There are many other nice hotels, but they are much more expensive and we liked the laid back, friendly feel of the Alexandra. Exceptional resort!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay at the Alexandra Resort. Yes, dining can be expensive on the island, as it is at most other Caribbean destinations. On your next visit, please consider the optional value-priced B&B menu available at Mango Reef. Our concierge would also be happy to help you enjoy great food at some other local eateries that offer affordable dining choices. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Spring break vacation at the Alexandra Resort was everything I expected. Most reviews talked about what a great place this is and it is all true. The beach is great with plenty of chairs at any time of the day. The pool was great as well, we spent very little time there as we spent more of our time at the beach but I though it was a good place to relax. People have different opinion about the bar service. It did not bother me at all that I had to go to the bar to get my drinks or the fact that there was no music playing.
The food at the Mango Reef was great, the Dominican Paella was very good.
For those traveling for the first time, pick up the magazines they have in the front desk. There is good info on the Island and places to eat outside the hotel. Food in the Island is expensive but there are several grocery stores you can walk, bike or take a taxi to get all the supplies you may need for breakfast and lunch. Make reservation at any restaurant you may want to have dinner, most restaurants will not have table available for walk in.
The airport is small, very small so give yourself enough time to get through security as there is only one scanner.

All in all, I had a great week with my two kids and wife at the Alexandra.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive review about the Alexandra Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit, and we appreciated the great travel tips you shared with other readers. Thanks also for pointing out that the music was not playing at the bar. Normally there is music, so we will address that matter immediately with Mango Reef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#21 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, The Alexandra offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, amazing oceanfront dining and a free daily activity program. Guest can also take our complimentary shuttle to our two on-island sister resorts to enjoy their dining facilities. The Alexandra provides a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, and activities and amenities including Pelican Kids' Club, complimentary non motorized water sports, tennis courts, free use of pedal bikes, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.