We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Beach Vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Resort

Save Saved
You added Alexandra Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexandra Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2014 Super Savings - Fall
Ranked #26 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Beach Vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend booked us a trip to TCI for spring break... As two 27 year olds just looking to get away from cold Wisconsin we got exactly what we wanted and more! He wouldn't tell me which resort we were staying at because he knew I would spend my time reading reviews on here, so I really had no idea what to expect! We had a studio room which was plenty with an amazing view of the pool and beach and a perfect view of the Sunset from our bed!
Beach was amazing. We stayed for 9 days and the first 6 were calm and hot! 90's on a couple of days! Wind picked up the last few days but the pool area here is well protected from the wind. We would head to the pool/beach around 10 and never had an issue finding a seat at the beach or pool. On windy days they will pull extra chairs out around the pool which was nice because the pool chairs full up quickly. We walked to Bight Reef and tried to snorkel one days but it was quite windy so we didn't spend much time. But even with the rough surf there was still plenty of wild life an amazing coral to see!
Taxis are expensive so be prepared but there are some nice places that require a taxi ride. We relied a lot on the concierge to direct us around but found that we missed a lot of the island the first half of the week because we just went to restaurants within walking distance. Definitely rent a bike from the front desk and ride to downtown Grace Bay. Cute shops, more food/bars, and a nice little 5 min bike ride!
We ate a lot of different and they are quite expensive but definitely worth it to travel off the resort.
We ate at Mango Reef, Hemingway, Bay Bistro, da Conch Shack, Magnolia's, Yoshi's Sushi, and Opus... All great choices and only a few of the options. My favorite was actually Yoshi's because the sushi was great but probably worst service. Couldn't get into Coco Bistro, booked out about a month and a few night Mango Reef was booked too while we were there but if you wait til later to eat dinner you will be fine to get in most places. Not a ton of night life but we did talk to a few cab drivers about it and the Ganesvroot has a DJ and dancing on Fridays, Dannybouys has bands most nights, an there's an island Fish Fry for locals and tourists every Thursday. Talk to your cab drivers... They will give you the best info!
We booked a Snuba trip with Jodi as we have both been snorkeling several times and this trip is highly recommended and sadly our trip was cancelled because it was too windy and wavy. Try to book in advance of your trip because we booked when we got to the island and we had I book it for our last day and no room to reschedule. I heard nothing but good things about Caicos Dream Tours and it left right from our resort so I would definitely recommend that trip for anyone even without going! They went out on the windy days too so less of a chance of a cancel!
This is getting long so overall... Even tho we didn't do much besides sit on the amazing beach and play in the ocean at The Alexandra, it was more than enough fun and relaxation for us!I can't wait to go back to TCI!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Alexandra Resort. We are happy that you enjoyed your vacation and we appreciate receiving your positive and accurate review. Please visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    288
    56
    22
    9
See reviews for
166
476
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Alexandra Resort in Provo, for my husband's 40th birthday. We had never been to TCI and wanted all the amenties of a 4+ star property without the high rates. We chose the Alexandra based on TripAdvisor and VRBO reviews. So glad we did! We rented a studio unit through VRBO. It was excellent -- ultra clean, updated, nicely decorated in Tommy Bahama style, plenty of towels & linens, nice bathroom. The central location on Grace Bay is perfect -- I was afraid the beach area might be overcrowded/touristy but it wasn't at all. The Alexandra grounds are beautifully landscaped and maintained. The common areas are nicely decorated and the staff is super friendly. The resort provides complimentary lounge chairs, umbrellas and towels for beach or pool. The beach is great - soft sand, beautiful water, nice breezes. The pool area is the only reason I can't give a 5 rating -- the pool itself is beautiful, with great lounges and even a swim up bar. We really wanted to relax and enjoy it. But when we were there two large groups of young kids were super loud and played in and around the pool every day. I'm all for families and kids having fun but it was just disappointing not to be able to really enjoy the pool ourselves. Ultimately it's not the Alexandra's fault -- parents are responsible for to making sure their kids are respectful of other guests. But maybe they can establish a "kids" area of the pool, or an "adults-only" time of day? Other than that, our stay was perfect. We met several owners onsite who come back year after year. And we'll be back again ourselves. The onsite restaurant, Mango Reef, is one of the best on Provo -- you know it's great when local residents name it as their favorite! The food is delicious and the beachfront location can't be beat for watching sunsets. Highly recommend the Alexandra! Other Provo recommendations:
Majestic Taxi Service - Leonard, his wife Antonette, and nephew are super professional and helpful.
Snuba Provo - Jody is experienced, calm and assuring. Amazing way to have an underwater adventure without knowing how to scuba.
Sky Pilot Parasail - Professional and experienced crew, modern boat & equipment. Awesome way to enjoy all the different colors of blue in the water!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks for your positive review and we are glad to read you had a great vacation at the Alexandra Resort. Our pool area is normally very quiet so we are disappointed to read that some other families disrupted your enjoyment. Our team will review your suggestion to offer an "adult only" time at the pool as well. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed 7 nights at the Alexandra, 2 families with 4 children aged 7-16 and had a great time. The property is very well maintained, the rooms were spotless and the best bellhop on earth is there ready to make the vacation great. His name is Darren, and he went out of his way to make sure we were taken care of, even though he was already working so hard!
The location is incredible, with easy access to the beach that goes on for miles. We enjoyed some water adventures and loved that the boats picked us up right out at the beach, as taxis are a fortune to travel in.
It was an easy walk to Bight reef and we were very impressed that people are not allowed to swim right over the reef as it is being protected, and there is a representative there to call people out when they cross over into the marked no swim zone.
The food at Mango Reef was good, although they were less than impressive at dinner time, thus the 4 out of 5.
Anderson, aka Mr. Happy, behind the bar offered up great service and conversation, all around a terrific guy.
Our rooms were ocean view, with generous balconies, so beautiful! A great time was had by all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Alexandra Resort. Thanks for the positive review. While the resort does not operate Mango Reef, we want our guests to have an excellent dining experience, so we will share your feedback with the restaurant owners. We will pass along your compliments to Darren. We do hope that you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed on the second floor in a garden view room, but we could still see the ocean. The room was clean and comfortable, but not luxurious. We slept late, so being able to run the a/c fan on continuous to block out any noise (there wasn't any tho) and pull the drapes to keep the room dark - was nice.

We hit the IGA grocery store for breakfast and snack items. There is a nice small kitchenette stocked with all the dishes you need.

There was also a washer and dryer in our unit!

The on site restaurant, Mango Reef is excellent, and there are several more along the beach that you can walk to within 5 minutes.

It was a little windy a few days, so we sat by the pool, which is protected from the wind pretty well. There are plenty of beach chairs and umbrellas on the beach, but not as many by the pool - but we usually could find two.

We had a late flight, but they wouldn't extend checkout. They did offer a shower room however, which is all we really wanted. They kept our luggage and we checked stayed on the beach for a few more hours, then we were able to shower - it was just another room that had been checked out of but housekeeping hadn't gotten to yet.

The hotel had an attendant at the airport who met us and lined up a taxi. It was $11 apiece one-way and about 20 minutes. Pretty good.

There are lots of water activities - parasailing, snorkeling, etc.

We walked to the shopping area, about 10 minutes up the beach, then through a public access spot to the shops. Not much there other than souvenirs and T-shirts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Congratulations on your rent nuptials and thank you for choosing the Alexandra Resort for your honeymoon. We are pleased that you had a positive experience and we hope you will return for a future anniversary trip. We wish you both many years of happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We - 2 adults and a 22 and 17 year old - just got back from a week at the Alexandra and had an amazing time. I really don't know where to begin. It was easily one of the most relaxing vacations we have ever had. The beach is beautiful and wider than at some of the other resorts. To me the location was ideal. Snorkeling at Bight reef is about a 15 minute walk up the beach. Caicos Dream Tours depart from nearby. There is parasailing offered by a variety of individuals as well as tubing along the beach. The pool is big and inviting. During our stay, the resort was 80-90% booked yet we had no trouble getting chairs on the beach and never stood in a line for anything. The overall vibe is quiet and relaxing. Everyone is so happy. We did not run into one obnoxious guest or grumpy staff member. If you want activities you can find them close by and then come back and relax by the water with a rum punch afterwards.

We had two rooms as all of the suites were booked. I called the resort directly and got great rates that I did not find online. It was an incredible value compared to some of the other resorts on Grace Bay. We were upgraded by the staff upon our arrival from garden view to ocean view overlooking the pool with the ocean in the background. The rooms were clean and appeared to have been recently updated. Each room has a kitchenette with a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, blender and the necessary dishes. The resort offers shuttle service to the local grocery store. I would recommend making a trip soon after you arrive. While there is a great restaurant on site, that is it for food/drink options. If you want a quick snack you will need to go to the bar.

Several restaurants are within walking distance like Hemingways & Bay Bistro. There is a Tex Mex place up the beach by Bight Reef at the Coral Gardens. We even went to a pig roast on the beach one night. Prices are high everywhere but overall the food was great. If you go off the beach, you will need a car or you can take a taxi - which is very expensive. We took a cab to Coco bistro one night but otherwise we ate at Mango Reef and other resorts on the beach. It is possible to bike to a shopping area nearby not too far from the Sands Resort. Otherwise it is a good 30 minute walk on the beach.

Overall, a fantastic experience with a wonderful staff in a beautiful setting. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted that you had an outstanding vacation and it was our pleasure to be of service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a fantastic week at the Alexandra and I would highly recommend it for families with children that are infants or todlers. Our son is only 1 1/2 so we were looking for convenience and amazing beach, both of which the Alexandra provided. We had a 1 bedroom suite facing the water. The room was a bit musty at first but it got better, or we got used to it. Most of the staff was fantastic and Al, the Concierge, was very helpful with recommendations and reservations. The restaurant is excellent as well. This is not a full service resort or ideal for young kids. Beaches next door may be better for families with children, 5+.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We are pleased that you had a positive experience at the Alexandra Resort. We offer families with children of all ages a terrific alternative to all inclusive vacations. For readers with children between the ages of 4 and 10, please note we recently introduced the Pelican Kids' Club, which offers children the opportunity to enjoy supervised crafts, games, pool and beach excursions, plus lunch at Mango Reef, all for a very affordable price. Parents can also enjoy some quiet time on their own, such as a trip to our on site Spa Sanay, playing golf at Provo Golf Club with our discounted green fees offer, or enjoying the best of Grace Bay and the resort's complimentary non motorized water sports and pedal bikes. The Kids' Club is open from 9am until 1pm. Due to its increasing popularity, advance recommendations are recommended. We appreciate your positive feedback and will share your compliments with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Alexandra Resort is a group of buildings that house condominium and time share units that are rented out. The accommodations are fine. We had a king size bed in a smallish bedroom, with a kitchen/living room combination that had a queen size sofa bed. The appliances and finishes were nice but not lavish and my wife and I stayed there with our teenage daughter.
The beach is quite beautiful. The sand is as fine as I've ever experienced and the water was just beautiful. The only shade on the beach came from hotel umbrellas and there were no palm trees or other vegetation to sit under.
The Mango Tree Restaurant served breakfast, lunch and dinner. We had a nice lunch there but the dinner was not very good, came out cold and didn't match the dinners at other restaurants nearby although it was similar in price.
The staff was first rate and very helpful. We found that everyone we met on the island was friendly and helpful. In our many trips to the Caribbean we often find ourselves uncomfortable with the attitude of the local population and the often abject poverty of the people. In fact, we stopped going to the Caribbean a number of years ago for that reason. One does not experience this in Providenciales. The island seems relatively prosperous and the people are lovely. We felt comfortable riding bikes around and traveling outside of the hotel.
One complaint about the hotel is that they do not offer any hotel activities. The concierge will set you up with a para sailing experience, a trip through the mangroves on a kayak and similar trips, but there's nothing to do at the "resort".
There are several nice restaurants nearby. Two that you can walk to along the beach are Bay Bistro and Hemingway's. All the food is priced similarly and, I'm sure, inflated during the high season (as is the cost of the rooms). Every Thursday there is a fish fry in one of the parks on the beach. About 5-6 local restaurants set up stands and sell their food at a fraction of the price of food at the tourist restaurants. On the night we went, people seemed to come from all over the island and included tourists and local and it was fun.
The island is small and easy to get around. The taxis, however, are costly. The taxis to and from the fish fry, a trip of less than 10 minutes, cost $42 round trip for three of us ($7 one way for each of us). That was more than dinner cost. And there were four other people sharing the cab with us. Each person was charged $7. I think that being a taxi driver must be very lucrative for 6-7 months a year. We met one driver who lived in New Jersey and went down to Providenciales to work during the winter.
The room was clean, the people were very nice but for the cost of the room I would have expected more from the resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Alexandra Resort and for sharing positive feedback about the resort and our team. We are pleased to read that you had a great vacation and enjoyed the destination. You are correct that we do not offer organized activities for our guests, but we would like to acknowledge that guests can enjoy complimentary use of the large swimming pool, exercise room, tennis courts, pedal bikes and non-motorized water sports on site. We also offer Spa Sanay, Caicos Dream Tours excursions desk and departures directly from the resort, as well as a Concierge service to help organize local activities. World class snorkelling is just a short walk down the beach, and live entertainment is featured at Mango Reef twice weekly. Our younger guests (ages 4-12) also enjoy attending Pelican Kids' Club. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us in the future. For your next visit we would be pleased to arrange a host of activities for you prior to arrival, as there is so much to see and do here, and it is our pleasure to help you explore and discover the Turks & Caicos Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, The Alexandra offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; luxurious accommodations, warm friendly service, amazing oceanfront dining and a bevy of exciting activities. Understated luxury with a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, international cuisine with island flair and so much more await you at this magnificent Turks and Caicos resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.