We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alexandra Resort to your Saves list
Alexandra Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Savings in TCI
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Honeymoon trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed on the second floor in a garden view room, but we could still see the ocean. The room was clean and comfortable, but not luxurious. We slept late, so being able to run the a/c fan on continuous to block out any noise (there wasn't any tho) and pull the drapes to keep the room dark - was nice.

We hit the IGA grocery store for breakfast and snack items. There is a nice small kitchenette stocked with all the dishes you need.

There was also a washer and dryer in our unit!

The on site restaurant, Mango Reef is excellent, and there are several more along the beach that you can walk to within 5 minutes.

It was a little windy a few days, so we sat by the pool, which is protected from the wind pretty well. There are plenty of beach chairs and umbrellas on the beach, but not as many by the pool - but we usually could find two.

We had a late flight, but they wouldn't extend checkout. They did offer a shower room however, which is all we really wanted. They kept our luggage and we checked stayed on the beach for a few more hours, then we were able to shower - it was just another room that had been checked out of but housekeeping hadn't gotten to yet.

The hotel had an attendant at the airport who met us and lined up a taxi. It was $11 apiece one-way and about 20 minutes. Pretty good.

There are lots of water activities - parasailing, snorkeling, etc.

We walked to the shopping area, about 10 minutes up the beach, then through a public access spot to the shops. Not much there other than souvenirs and T-shirts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Congratulations on your rent nuptials and thank you for choosing the Alexandra Resort for your honeymoon. We are pleased that you had a positive experience and we hope you will return for a future anniversary trip. We wish you both many years of happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    364
    71
    25
    16
See reviews for
209
583
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We - 2 adults and a 22 and 17 year old - just got back from a week at the Alexandra and had an amazing time. I really don't know where to begin. It was easily one of the most relaxing vacations we have ever had. The beach is beautiful and wider than at some of the other resorts. To me the location was ideal. Snorkeling at Bight reef is about a 15 minute walk up the beach. Caicos Dream Tours depart from nearby. There is parasailing offered by a variety of individuals as well as tubing along the beach. The pool is big and inviting. During our stay, the resort was 80-90% booked yet we had no trouble getting chairs on the beach and never stood in a line for anything. The overall vibe is quiet and relaxing. Everyone is so happy. We did not run into one obnoxious guest or grumpy staff member. If you want activities you can find them close by and then come back and relax by the water with a rum punch afterwards.

We had two rooms as all of the suites were booked. I called the resort directly and got great rates that I did not find online. It was an incredible value compared to some of the other resorts on Grace Bay. We were upgraded by the staff upon our arrival from garden view to ocean view overlooking the pool with the ocean in the background. The rooms were clean and appeared to have been recently updated. Each room has a kitchenette with a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, blender and the necessary dishes. The resort offers shuttle service to the local grocery store. I would recommend making a trip soon after you arrive. While there is a great restaurant on site, that is it for food/drink options. If you want a quick snack you will need to go to the bar.

Several restaurants are within walking distance like Hemingways & Bay Bistro. There is a Tex Mex place up the beach by Bight Reef at the Coral Gardens. We even went to a pig roast on the beach one night. Prices are high everywhere but overall the food was great. If you go off the beach, you will need a car or you can take a taxi - which is very expensive. We took a cab to Coco bistro one night but otherwise we ate at Mango Reef and other resorts on the beach. It is possible to bike to a shopping area nearby not too far from the Sands Resort. Otherwise it is a good 30 minute walk on the beach.

Overall, a fantastic experience with a wonderful staff in a beautiful setting. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted that you had an outstanding vacation and it was our pleasure to be of service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a fantastic week at the Alexandra and I would highly recommend it for families with children that are infants or todlers. Our son is only 1 1/2 so we were looking for convenience and amazing beach, both of which the Alexandra provided. We had a 1 bedroom suite facing the water. The room was a bit musty at first but it got better, or we got used to it. Most of the staff was fantastic and Al, the Concierge, was very helpful with recommendations and reservations. The restaurant is excellent as well. This is not a full service resort or ideal for young kids. Beaches next door may be better for families with children, 5+.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We are pleased that you had a positive experience at the Alexandra Resort. We offer families with children of all ages a terrific alternative to all inclusive vacations. For readers with children between the ages of 4 and 10, please note we recently introduced the Pelican Kids' Club, which offers children the opportunity to enjoy supervised crafts, games, pool and beach excursions, plus lunch at Mango Reef, all for a very affordable price. Parents can also enjoy some quiet time on their own, such as a trip to our on site Spa Sanay, playing golf at Provo Golf Club with our discounted green fees offer, or enjoying the best of Grace Bay and the resort's complimentary non motorized water sports and pedal bikes. The Kids' Club is open from 9am until 1pm. Due to its increasing popularity, advance recommendations are recommended. We appreciate your positive feedback and will share your compliments with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Alexandra Resort is a group of buildings that house condominium and time share units that are rented out. The accommodations are fine. We had a king size bed in a smallish bedroom, with a kitchen/living room combination that had a queen size sofa bed. The appliances and finishes were nice but not lavish and my wife and I stayed there with our teenage daughter.
The beach is quite beautiful. The sand is as fine as I've ever experienced and the water was just beautiful. The only shade on the beach came from hotel umbrellas and there were no palm trees or other vegetation to sit under.
The Mango Tree Restaurant served breakfast, lunch and dinner. We had a nice lunch there but the dinner was not very good, came out cold and didn't match the dinners at other restaurants nearby although it was similar in price.
The staff was first rate and very helpful. We found that everyone we met on the island was friendly and helpful. In our many trips to the Caribbean we often find ourselves uncomfortable with the attitude of the local population and the often abject poverty of the people. In fact, we stopped going to the Caribbean a number of years ago for that reason. One does not experience this in Providenciales. The island seems relatively prosperous and the people are lovely. We felt comfortable riding bikes around and traveling outside of the hotel.
One complaint about the hotel is that they do not offer any hotel activities. The concierge will set you up with a para sailing experience, a trip through the mangroves on a kayak and similar trips, but there's nothing to do at the "resort".
There are several nice restaurants nearby. Two that you can walk to along the beach are Bay Bistro and Hemingway's. All the food is priced similarly and, I'm sure, inflated during the high season (as is the cost of the rooms). Every Thursday there is a fish fry in one of the parks on the beach. About 5-6 local restaurants set up stands and sell their food at a fraction of the price of food at the tourist restaurants. On the night we went, people seemed to come from all over the island and included tourists and local and it was fun.
The island is small and easy to get around. The taxis, however, are costly. The taxis to and from the fish fry, a trip of less than 10 minutes, cost $42 round trip for three of us ($7 one way for each of us). That was more than dinner cost. And there were four other people sharing the cab with us. Each person was charged $7. I think that being a taxi driver must be very lucrative for 6-7 months a year. We met one driver who lived in New Jersey and went down to Providenciales to work during the winter.
The room was clean, the people were very nice but for the cost of the room I would have expected more from the resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Alexandra Resort and for sharing positive feedback about the resort and our team. We are pleased to read that you had a great vacation and enjoyed the destination. You are correct that we do not offer organized activities for our guests, but we would like to acknowledge that guests can enjoy complimentary use of the large swimming pool, exercise room, tennis courts, pedal bikes and non-motorized water sports on site. We also offer Spa Sanay, Caicos Dream Tours excursions desk and departures directly from the resort, as well as a Concierge service to help organize local activities. World class snorkelling is just a short walk down the beach, and live entertainment is featured at Mango Reef twice weekly. Our younger guests (ages 4-12) also enjoy attending Pelican Kids' Club. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us in the future. For your next visit we would be pleased to arrange a host of activities for you prior to arrival, as there is so much to see and do here, and it is our pleasure to help you explore and discover the Turks & Caicos Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just spent the week of spring break at the Alexandra and had a wonderful time. The resort was very nice and the staff could not have been more nice. Everything was well maintained, clean and service friendly. There were much more expensive places to stay on grace bay beach but anything beyond the Alexandra was really a waste of money. I would highly recommend this place for anyone. My only warning would be to be careful of the taxis. It should not be more than $11 per person from the airport. We booked "deluxe" transportation through the concierge because we were told we would need 2 taxis for 4 people and since we didn't know what to expect we booked the deluxe at his urging - costs $130 one way. Now that we know we will NEVER do that again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive review about the Alexandra Resort and we are pleased that you had a great vacation. Our team really appreciated the kind feedback you provided about their service. We look forward to hosting your next visit. We do wish to clarify that the airport transportation was reserved by your travel agent, and not directly with our concierge. Our team is aware that all taxi services on Providenciales are provided in vans - we would never tell a guest that a taxi could only accommodate two passengers. Al, our concierge, has been providing concierge services for resort guests since 2008. He has checked his records regarding the arrangements that were made for your visit and he indeed received direction to book the VIP transport SUV from your travel agent. On your next visit, please feel free to make all arrangements directly with Al, and he would be most pleased to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We recently got back from Turks and Caicos and couldn't have had a better trip. The Alexandra was an amazing resort. The beach was beautiful, warm, and had a great beachside staff who would help us to set up our chairs and umbrellas on the beach. The hotel had a fairly small collection of water equipment. The paddle boarding was very popular there and sadly, they only had one paddle board. They had plenty of boogie boards, though, and they had a kayak which was also nice. On the hotel's property was a restaurant called 'Mango Reef.' Besides one small slip up with our order, the food was delicious and the staff were very friendly. Our room consisted of a master bedroom, master bathroom, living room (the couch pulled out into a bed), a dining area, a kitchen, and a half bathroom. The whole resort staff was great and I hope we can come back soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We appreciated receiving your very kind review. Thanks for choosing the Alexandra Resort and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I recently spent five nights at the Alexandra Resort on Grace Bay, and my overall takeaway is that it is an average resort. It is evidently a mix of hotel, timeshare, and condo units, but we booked it like a regular hotel. The pros: the beach at the Alexandra is rather deep and wide compared to the beaches of some of the other properties on Grace Bay; the Mango Reef restaurant on the property is rather good and quite popular; the wireless internet worked well in our room and on the beach. The cons: the property seemed a bit dated and unimpressive; the workout facility consisted of a few weight machines, one elliptical, one bike, and one rather old treadmill all crammed into what appeared to be a one-bedroom unit on the back of the property; our room was not particularly lush or well-appointed; the bathroom was TINY. Granted, we stayed in a ocean front studio because that was all that was available on those dates, but the layout of the room really made it seem cramped. Overall, I think the Alexandra is probably a good value, but there are nicer accomodations on Grace Bay that in hindsight I wish we had investigated.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Alexandra Resort. We appreciate the positive aspects of the resort that you described in your review - we do indeed occupy one of the best stretches of Grace Bay Beach and offer excellent value for a four star beachfront resort. We are very sorry to learn that the resort did not meet your expectations, particularly that our 550 square foot oceanfront studio was too small. We continue to introduce new services and amenities, so we do hope that you will consider the resort again for a future visit and that next time we will have available one of our spacious one or two bedroom suites or perhaps our four bedroom penthouse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#22 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, The Alexandra offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, amazing oceanfront dining and a free daily activity program. Guest can also take our complimentary shuttle to our two on-island sister resorts to enjoy their dining facilities. The Alexandra provides a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, and activities and amenities including Pelican Kids' Club, complimentary non motorized water sports, tennis courts, free use of pedal bikes, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.