We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quite Thanksgiving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alexandra Resort to your Saves list
Alexandra Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lovely quite Thanksgiving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had yet another great vacation on Grace Bay, Turks and Caicos.
This time we stayed in The Alexandra Resort. This was the week of Thanksgiving so very different from our February visit. So so quite. The resort was very very quite in fact the whole island was quite.
The Alexandra was very nice,friendly staff, excellent rooms,( nice stainless steel appliances and granite work tops ) really nice food at the Mango Reef restaurant. ( we ate both lunch and dinner there during our stay at some point )
Would we go back ? Yes for sure.
I would recommend hiring a car to get around, restaurants are not really within walking distance and the grocery store is a good distance away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Alexandra Resort for your Thanksgiving getaway. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the quiet relaxation that has made Turks & Caicos such an exclusive destination. Renting a car is definitely conducive to seeing all of the island, but for guests that choose not to hire a car, we do offer a daily shuttle for a small fee to the grocery store, and at least five very good restaurants are no more than a 10 minute walk away along beautiful Grace Bay Beach. We wish you a happy new year and thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    359
    69
    25
    16
See reviews for
206
576
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Overall, the Resort is good, but there is a very huge difference between the standard of the rooms. Deluxe garden view rooms are small and only have small queen size bed. Luxury ocean view and ocean front studios are very big and comfortable (king size bed). In some minor details you can notice that the resort is not a world class resort.
Location is very good. The beach is excellent and it is walking distance from supermarkets and shops (20 mins). Mango Restaurant is a very good option for lunch time.

Room Tip: Deluxe garden view rooms are small and only have small queen size bed. Luxury ocean view and ocean f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay at the Alexandra Resort. We pride ourselves on offering excellent value for a beachfront resort on world acclaimed Grace Bay Beach in exclusive Turks and Caicos - thank you for sharing that observation with other readers. Our garden view rooms are slightly smaller than ocean view rooms, but still very spacious at 363 sq ft, and a 96 sq ft deck or patio. We wish you a happy holiday and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANSING
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was my first experience at an island resort and I would consider this location again on my next visit to TCI. Initially I had trouble with the room temperature; however, when a staff member came to the room and explained the door sensors, I had no difficulty for the remainder of the trip. Most of my encounters with staff were very pleasant and found them to be helpful. I was on the second floor and had no problem with noise from surrounding rooms. My room was very clean and comfortable. I ate three meals at the Mango Reef and felt the food was very good and the pricing was comparable to other surrounding locations. My check-in experience was very smooth and pleasant; however, at check-out the staff member would not provide a final receipt showing my final balance. Upon arriving home my credit card statement matched what I expected.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Happy holidays and thank you for staying at the Alexandra Resort. I am pleased to learn you had a pleasant vacation. We will speak with our front desk agent to learn why a final receipt was not provided, as that is our normal practice. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Turks and Caicos again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed for 5 days at The Alexandra. The room was cleaned every day, fresh towels were delivered to the door every night, and everything from the grounds to the pool to the beach were all well cared for and clean. The staff were all super friendly at all times, and very informative. They have free wifi all over the property, so internet access was never an issue.

Al, the concierge, is very well versed with the local excursions and dining, and we highly recommend his orientation. It's not one of those 2 hour "let me sell you something" things that happens at a lot of timeshares or resorts...it truly is an informative session with a guy who has a pretty good sense of humor and can keep you engaged while informing you of what's what around the TCI.

The only complaints we had were:
1. We ordered a deluxe ocean view room through our travel agent. What we got was a garden/pool view with the ocean in the background, if you walked all the way out on the balcony. Not a huge deal, and probably more of an issue to take up with our travel agent, but calling it an ocean view is a little misleading...as the last time I upgraded to an "ocean view" room at a resort in the Caribbean, it was a true "ocean view".

2. The air conditioning left a little to be desired on the upper floor where we were. Luckily, we weren't there most of the time, so at night the fan and the breeze coming in the open balcony door cooled off the room quite nicely. The air worked, just to be clear. But, whenever we would return during the day, the temp never went under 76.

Other than that, this place is on one of the best strips of the beach in Provo. Barely any kids (they were all down at Beaches) and there was never a strain to get a beach chair/umbrella/etc. The Mango Reef restaurant that is on site is pretty good and reasonably priced. The pool was always clean and the swim up bar is a nice touch.The staff were all over-the-top friendly and helpful. Coral Garden's reef is only a 15 minute walk down the beach (and free) for some decent snorkeling. We had a great time, and would definitely come back to the Alexandra again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Alexandra Resort for your recent vacation. It was our pleasure to be of service. We will certainly have maintenance inspect the air conditioner and we will also take your comments regarding the classification of our guest room categories under advisement for future marketing efforts. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were at the Alexandria for a wedding during Hurricane Sandy and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They gave us a great rate for the time we were stuck in Turks and Caicos and made our trip as wonderful as they could. The rooms were beautiful and very clean. Tasha Pratt and the staff behind the front desk were fabulous and wonderful to work with.

Thanks for a great trip under trying times.

Catherine Devine

Room Tip: the one bedrooms looking over the pool with an oceanview were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We are pleased that you chose the Alexandra Resort for your vacation and sorry to learn it was during Superstorm Sandy. It was certainly a trying time for everyone and we are glad we were able to make things a bit easier for you. Please visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed 12/1-7 and had a wonderful time. On the first day I discovered I had left my curling iron home. For me a disaster. We took the 4:30 shuttle to the IGA grocery store where I thought maybe they would have one. I was told I could go to another store not too far from them. Mentioned one the way back and the driver Calvin stopped for me which was much appreciated. What a wonderful human being. We rented from VRBO and had Unit 3307 a studio which was perfect for 2. The unit was very clean and had a nice view of ocean and pool would highly recommend. Mango Reef Restaurant excellent. Two waiters were exceptional Davidson and Anderson. All in all we had a great time.

Room Tip: You don't need ocean front ocean view is great Try to be on the third floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your positive review about the Alexandra Resort. Our team really appreciated your kind feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My girlfriend & I were very happy with our 5-day stay at the Alexandra Resort. The beach was very beautiful and quiet. The pool was just as nice but groups often converged in the late afternoon and were loud & drunk!. We ate at the Mango Reef restaurant a few times - loved the Fresh Tuna Roll! Our room was in the Prima Donna overlooking the pool with partial ocean view. The bed was very comfortable but no dresser space. Cleaning service was excellent and very friendly. The front desk was fantastic and we were very happy with their help, especially from Edwin. The spa was excellent and was exactly what we needed that afternoon. What we were disappointed with was no hot tub! We also felt that the staff (restaurant, beach) could have been more friendly. They were not rude but we got the impression that most of them didnt like their jobs.

Overall, a very pleasant stay and I would recommend this place to anyone travelling to Turks and Caicos.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your positive review and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit. We are disappointed to learn that Mango Reef did not meet your expectations. While we do not operate the restaurant, it normally receives terrific reviews. We will share your feedback with them. Please visit us again as we continue to offer new guest amenities and services. We appreciate your suggestion of offering a hot tub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#21 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, The Alexandra offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, amazing oceanfront dining and a free daily activity program. Guest can also take our complimentary shuttle to our two on-island sister resorts to enjoy their dining facilities. The Alexandra provides a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, and activities and amenities including Pelican Kids' Club, complimentary non motorized water sports, tennis courts, free use of pedal bikes, and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.