We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at the Alexandra” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Resort

Save Saved
You added Alexandra Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alexandra Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Savings in TCI
Ranked #25 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Christmas at the Alexandra”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We spent the Christmas Holiday at the Alexandra for 6 days/5 nights. The staff was very friendly. We were greeted by Edwin and another tall gentlemen. They were accommodating and very knowledgable. Our room was nice and clean. We stayed in a studio. It had a small kitchenette, which is useful. We ended up buying a few microwavable groceries to save a little money. The only thing I didn't like is the lack of a tub and couch in our room. I kind of expect that in any nice place. The temperature in our room was also not adjustable. The AC was always on 69 degrees. So it was either freezing or hot at all times.

Food....Mango Reef was just ok to me. I had better. But it was convenient. They did not offer room service at the resort and that was a big downfall. And the restaurant closes at 10pm. Too early! When we were at the beach, no one from the restaurant steps away ever came up and asked us if we wanted to purchase a drink or food. I am not used to that. For good local food, I preferred The Conch Shack! Coco Bistro was a nice upscale restaurant and was worth the expense. I strongly advise making reservations.

The Spa....Nonexistent. It was basically a hotel room with a massage table. Absolutely no frills. When it was time for my appt, I rang the bell a few times and no one answered. Went back to the front desk of the hotel and was told that she was probably in a treatment. Ended up sitting outside of the Spa Hotel Room for 15 minutes after my scheduled massage. When the therapist finally opened the door and we got started, the massage was really good. However, we started later than my scheduled appt and ended at the originally scheduled end time. So I was kind of jipped.

Activities...like any resort, you can set up activities with the concierge. But literally, there were 3 things to do. You can snorkel half day, you can snorkel a full day, and one other thing. We like more adventurous activities like zip lining, ATVing, etc. We snorkled half day. The trip was nice and the ocean is beautiful. But there were sharks near where we snorkeled. A few people saw them up close. I didn't. Thank God for that.

Overall, the experience was average. The people are nice. The location was beautiful. But the resort lacked the luxury amenities that I expect for the money spent. If you want to go somewhere where you can just sit on the beach and do nothing all day, go here. But bring a cooler and your own drinks. Don't expect to be served.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    433
    277
    54
    22
    9
See reviews for
156
468
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, MS
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We went to the Alexandra in November for my 60th birthday! Tonya from the Alexandra had rooms selected for my husband and me as well as our friends. We were on the ground floor facing the beach! The one bedroom suite had recently been remodeled with everything new! The staff was very friendly and the resort was kept very clean. We were just steps away from the beach and also very close to their outdoor restaurant which overlooked the beach. We enjoyed walking down to other restaurants instead of taking a car out. The day we arrived the resort had a van that took us to the local grocery to buy our supplies for the week. Everything about the Alexandra was great! A Birthday to remember! Brenda&Robert, Columbus,MS

Room Tip: Tell the staff what your needs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embden, maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This resort far exceeded our expectations. The room was spacious, immaculate, well appointed and our view was spectacular. This resort deserves far better than a three star as noted in some reviews. We very much enjoyed "Arnold " who greeted us on our first day and saw to every detail from start to finish. The other staff was very friendly and helpful as well. The Mango Reef was superb and the wait staff was caring and professional in every way making sure we had excellent food and service. We tried other restaurants but this was by far the best food and value. Thank you for making this a memorable vacation. We shall return!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view studio on the third floor or above is all that you could hope for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I have staye here before, its an excellent location to walk to other places along the beach for dinners etc. The place itself is lovely with a spa, tennis, and gym, the beach is beyond words. the pool is beautiful. Remember this is NOT a hotel, but a condo resort so people don't wait on you hand and foot, but everyone here does all they can to make you happy. Annette and tanya are hands on and helpful. The condos are immaculate. its very friendly and is very new so its not run down or anything. I have stayed next door at the Palms which is beautiful but honestly its all about the same.... its very kid friendly too so that works. mango Reef has excellent food too. You can drive up the road to the IGA for food if u do not want to dine out for every meal as prices on Turks are very high. I love the place and will go back..

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view if you do not want to spend more money to be directly on the beach, there is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

My husband and I just returned. We had a nice quiet relaxing long weekend at the Alexandra.
We had an Oceanfront one bedroom suite. Room was roomy, we had one half bathroom, full granite kitchen,living room dining room,bedroom,with king bed, and bathroom with shower and tub.doublesink ..the room had a beautiful balcony with sitting area and full dining table with chairs. Rooms were best part of hotel.
Gym was nice clean with all basic machines.
Hotel grounds are well kept and pretty. Pool was clean .could use some background music.
Beach is absolutely amazing!every hotel had same beach !
Hotel staff is there for whatever you need,all you need to do is ASK. But Nobody will offer you anything if you don't. You are kind of left on your own unless you ask for help.
we asked about bikes they had someone deliver bikes for us...fun riding around ..
One negative was we called for shuttle for casino , waited 40 mins and then when it finally came some other guests who had been waiting just a few minutes jumped in and we were left waiting. When we told front reception she just shrugged her shoulders.... Ruined our night!

If you are looking for a quiet relaxing place this is it! If you like more action not for you!
They are opening a new reception area with a little store( much neeeded)I would go back! But not with kids! Not enough to do with kids......

Room Tip: Oceanfront is the way go! Made our whole trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I just returned (Dec2011) from the Alexandra Resort for a short 5-day stay. The Alexandra was a perfect choice for the kind of vacation that we had in mind. Let me start by saying that we had been to TCI before and knew what to expect as far as the limited amount of cultural activities and excursions available (as compared to other destinations) so we were more than content to simply relax on the beautiful Grace Bay for the duration. However, we had to go into the shopping district to pick up gifts before leaving and there are definitely other hotels that are in closer walking distance to restaurants and shops. From the Alexandra, we had to take a taxi to the shpos and golf course because 1) the resort did not offer bikes for use like some other resorts, and 2) there did not seem to be a pedestrian friendly path on which to walk or ride.

The resort was very clean and appeared to be new. When we asked the staff about the age of the resort, we were very surprised to hear it is over 10 years old. I suspect that the resort was built in stages and while the hotel building where we stayed may have been more recently built, we couldn't tell any difference from the outside.

The room (oceanview studio) was clean and very well-appointed, featuring high ceiling, crown molding and modern fixtures. Our TV was an HDMI-compatible flatscreen and the furnishings also appeared relatively new. Speaking of ocean view, while we could see the ocean (and the pool and the restaurant), it was not the "deluxe" ocean view that I was expecting. Not since Waikiki have I been duped in the difference between ocean view versus "oceanfront". That was extremely disappointing! Also, in the studio, there is no dresser to unpack folded clothing. There was also no luggage rack in the room but after speaking with the very friendly staff, that was quickly rectified. Some other items of note that made it a comfortable place to stay was the lighting -there was a task light for everything - as well as a ceiling fan and central air conditioning. The balcony was nice and spacious with two lounge chairs and a dining table with two chairs.

Aside from easy and immediate access to the crystal blue water and white powdery sands of Grace Bay, our favorite part of the resort is the restaurant. My husband is a chef and the last time we visited TCI was a huge culinary disappoinment. The food in various restaurants was mediocre and very expensive. However, Mango Reef at the Alexandra Resort is one of, if not the best, restaurant on the island. We ate there every night - the food was excellent, the prices were very reasonable and the portion sizes were large enough for us to have leftovers for lunch the next day. Reservations are required because the restaurant is open to the public and, being the only beachfront resort restaurant on Grace Bay, it was often crowded with patrons from other resorts who walked down along the beach to get there. There is a prefix menu almost every night - $42 for 3 delicious courses - and live entertainment on Tuesdays and Fridays. Lastly, the service in the restaurant is exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Truly most beautiful beach and white powder sand ( even nicer than Hawaii) . The resort staff were the best . Staff is well trained on what good customer service is all about . Everyone on the island were very nice and accommandating . I have since bought a timeshare there and will be returning every year .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, The Alexandra offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; luxurious accommodations, warm friendly service, amazing oceanfront dining and a bevy of exciting activities. Understated luxury with a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, international cuisine with island flair and so much more await you at this magnificent Turks and Caicos resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.