We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise with all conveniences” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Resort

Save Saved
You added Alexandra Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexandra Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Savings in TCI
Ranked #25 of 44 hotels in Providenciales
West Caldwell, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Paradise with all conveniences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

The Alexandra Resort exceded our expectations on all levels. We just got back from 9 days in Turks & Caicos. This was my 3rd trip there..1st time at the Alexandra. Family of 4 we got a great deal from Sky Auction on this hotel. I was unsure if we picked the right hotel until we got there & knew this was the way to go. We had a 1 bdrm. The "Condo" (more like a condo than a room) wa big with 2 bathrooms, a large all new kitchen - stove,oven,full fridge, dishwasher, washer & dryer in a separate closet. dining table, 2 flat screen tv's. I 'm used to expensive luxury hotels, but I could easily stay here a month. Very clean. Service was excellent too. Every night the cleaning lady came by with clean towels & checked if we needed anything. Daily maid service..excellent. They vacuumed & mopped the floors every day..all the sand we brought in on our feet every day was gone by the next day.Everyone was so friendly. Sonia, the concierge was on top of things.-She booked our conck diving cruise & parasailing & banana boat ride.(We highly reccommend all 3 while you're here) She let us know all about renting a car,restaurants, events etc.
The kids had a blast here. Noone wanted to go home even after 9 days.
The pool was clean..every morning at 6am gueys are outside watering plants, cleaning the pool & getting ready for the day. And not crowded! You almost felt like the place was yours.
The beach was to die for gorgeous.We walked a lot along the beach to other resorts & different restaurants & the beach in front of the Alexandra was the widest & best area along Grace Bay.
Wesley the beach attendant was great. He took care of the guests and anything they needed. He would dig a hole & put an umbrella where you wanted it. The had snorkle gear & kyaks - just sign them out free to use them.
The drinks at the bar were great too & reasonably priced - about $8 - $5 for virgin pina colada. My daughter got one or 2 every day.
The food at the Mango Reef was good. Breakfast was just OK..fresh OJ was great, my kids liked the waffles, but french toast was not great for me. We ate around at diferent places. You could walk to a lot of restaurants in he hotels. Hemingway's was great for dinner (except onThanksgiving - 3 out of our 4 turkey dinners had hardly any turkey & was all fat & awful - like the end pieces of what was left on the turkey..but they appoligized & made good on it in the end). Coral Gardens hotel past Beaches was so quaint for breakfast & some of the best snorkeling afterwards on the island.
Buffet breakfast at Grace BayClub was luxury(we drove there)(We rented a car for 2 days) -as was the Royal Palms -which was like eating on an esate in a french castle.(next door to the Alexandra).
If you rent a car for 2 or 3 days you can eat other places like the Tiki Bar at the Turtle Cove marina.& drive to the Conch Shack & Horse Eyed Jacks in the Blue Hills area which was charming & scenic & fun.
You could walk to the shopping areas - the Saltmills - Just walk to the right along the beach & through the Sands' resort out to the front street make a left & a little walk down is all the shopping & supermarket. Across fron the supermarket is the Avis car rental. They were great there - fast & efficient service..
We booked our excursions & parasailing through our hotel - they use people they trust & that are insured..some of the roaming beach guys that come up to you for boat rides are not insured.The hotel is responsibe for your sefety if you book through them.- They also get 10% commission on bookings- as do the beach guys who are relentless trying to get you to parasail or banana boat.
Get the Dining Guide book & a map at the Reception desk when you arrive to see restauants & menus ( & prices..ouch.) Relax & enjoy being on" Island Time". Driving is on the left. There are no traffic lights.Supermarket prices are high- some things like hamburger meat is same as here though.
Jet Blue lets you check 1 bag free per person..if you consolidate your things into less bags,(you don't need much-( bathing suits & shorts & a few tops) you can pack 1 bag with non pershable food items. We packed snacks & tuna & iced tea mix & bread & P.Butter for the kids. We usually ate breakfast & dinners out & got cold cuts at the market & made sandwiched for lunch which we took on the beach & to the pool.
They have tennis courts too - brought our rackets. Very casual there on the island-went barefoot most of the time.Just Paradise!
Bed was very comfortable..pull out couch not so much, but was fine for vacation. Was nothing like my tempurpedics back home.
..If you have little kids they have nothing for them to do except play on the beach or at the pool . Bigger kids will love the banana boat ride ($30pp) or parasailing ($75pp) The half day cruise trip for conch diving (in a 3 ft high of water reef area out in the ocean)& to Iguana island was fabulous. my kids & my husband & I loved it.

Room Tip: We were in 3304 -1 bdrm. directly in front of the pool & nice view of the ocean. Nice view. At n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    436
    278
    55
    22
    9
See reviews for
159
470
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

My son and I travelled to this resort in November 2011 as our yearly get away to the sun break. We were hoping for some typical Caribbean paradise and we were not disappointed. We were lucky enough to have 2 connecting apartments overlooking the beach and the standard throughout was excellent. It's amazing how quickly you get used to waking up each morning listening to the sound of the waves hitting the beach and sitting on the spacious balcony eating your breakfast whilst watching the staff get the beach parasols ready. All the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful and offered advice and help on trips and local amenities. The pool was lovely and not crowded and there is always that fantastic beach on your doorstep. Our apartments were extremely well fitted out with all mod cons and in particular superb showers. We made the most of the beach activities on our doorstep and also hired a car to explore the island. Downsides ? Well there aren't any really. Yes it is a long trip from the UK but we understand that there will be direct flights next year. Yes the locals are laid back but that's part of the charm of the Caribbean and yes it is expensive to eat and do the trips etc so maybe not the place to go on a budget break but if you are looking for a dream Caribbean holiday in excellent accommodation then this resort fits the bill.

Room Tip: Request sea or pool view or sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandraResort, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words about our resort and our island. We will be sure to share with the staff. Your pictures are wonderful - thanks for sharing! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We traveled to Providenciales, Turks & Caicos, for the first time in November 2011 and chose the Alexandra Resort based on reviews from this site and others. We were looking for a "couples getaway" and we found it! What a great resort! The property is gorgeous, well tended to, and the staff is beyond courteous! Everyone we met on the staff was polite, helpful and friendly. We were greeted with rum punch drinks as soon as we arrived and, although US Airways misrouted our luggage and we did not receive it for over 24 hours, the staff made every effort to help us track it and ensure it arrived at the Alexandra and offered to run our bags up to our room. The housekeeping staff kept our rooms very clean and mopped the floors daily (which was great not walking on the floor and getting sand on your feet). We stayed in a studio, partial ocean view room and it had a mini fridge, microwave and coffeemaker. We had to go the resort bar/restaurant for ice but the staff was friendly and willing to accommodate. There were coffee filters in the room but you will need to bring your own coffee (or buy it). The resort has a swim-up bar (very fun to experience but a blended drink will set you back $9). The swimming pool is large and has a narrow area/lane around the outer rim where you swim under two walk-over bridges leading to an area in the middle of the pool which is like a little island where there are lounge chairs/umbrellas. The pool-side lounge chairs are padded, there are umbrellas by each two lounge chairs if you need a break from the sun, and plenty of warm towels replenished throughout the day. The resort has three weekly events. (1) On Sunday, there was a pastry/juice/coffee get together to talk about the resort ammenities and excursions (2) Monday, at 6PM, there was an appetizer/rum punch social (3) Tuesday at 1PM they served conch three ways (along with rum punch again)! All events were very enjoyable. The resort also offers on-site massage services. You can even arrange for a massage on the beach! I had the best massage of my life (thanks, Georgette)! There are two main IGA grocery stores on the island. We recommend going there as soon as possible and stock up on snacks, beverages and food for at least two meals per day as the food prices are high on the island. The resort offers a weekly shuttle (about $10/person) to/from the grocery store to stock up. We ate out once a day and targeted mid-afternoon (when we needed a break from the sun) as our "linner" (lunch/dinner) time to eat. The restaurants were not crowded at this time and we could order from the lunch menu which was more cost effective. The restaurants we tried were excellent (especially the Mango Reef Restaurant at the Alexandra which had the best setting and I had the best lobster tail there that I've had in my life)! We also tried Hemingway's, Baci Ristorante, Bella Luna, Coco Bistro and would recommend all. Coco Bistro had a beautiful ambience surrounded by palm trees in an indoor setting. I also need to put in a plug for a must-visit coffee shop--Green Bean. Not only was the staff extremely friendly, they made mean coffee drinks and smoothies! Hello to Diane and Sam--they made our visit to Green Bean memorable and we ended up going back there on our last day because we enjoyed our experience so much. We also rented a car for the week we were there which gave us a lot of flexibility in the early morning hours to explore the island, to try new restaurants, to go grocery shopping, and get us to/from the airport. We highly recommend the Alexandra Resort and Providenciales for a relaxing, romantic vacation. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The partial ocean view is really a good view! We overlooked the swimming pool and could see the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

When we arrived in (Providenciales) Turks and Caicos, we taxied to the Alexandra Resort and were welcomed with rum punch and friendly smiles from the staff. We stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the pool. We could see the sunsets and Grace Bay from our patio. It was a beautiful suite with a complete kitchen, 1.5 bath w/ shower and tub, washer/dryer, 2 TVs, free internet and the patio with teak cushioned furniture. It was a short walk to the beach where we enjoyed the abundant complimentary towels and comfortable beach chairs and umbrellas. The Mango Reef restaurant provided excellent food and prices were reasonable for the quality. The only improvement could have been the coffee (Starbucks could make a killing here!) We enjoyed the Carribean flavors of wahoo and barbeque pork while listening to NaDa; two excellent perfomers who entertained us during dinner with music and light banter. The best bartender on the island is Donald. He was a delight to speak with and shared many island stories and facts...he kept you thinking which was which while he kept our glasses full. Enjoying drinks at the swim-up bar is one of my favorite memories! Overall, staying at the Alexandra Resort was a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahamasJen, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words about The Alexandra. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We will certainly pass your compliment on to Donald. We are pleased to announce we will be offering complimentary tea and coffee service in guest rooms starting in mid November. We will be featuring the Wolfgang Puck line. Something more for you to enjoy on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

This was my first time visiting Turks & Caicos and it won't be my last! I traveled here for 5 nights (Nov. 14-19) with 3 of my girlfriends (mid-30's). We booked a deluxe suite. 2br, 2 1/2 baths, full kitchen, dining area, living area, washer/dryer and a huge balcony overlooking the pool and partial ocean. It was all new and spotless. The beds were a full. If they would have been queen it would have been so much better. The grounds are clean. The water is the bluest I've ever seen in my entire life!! The beach is beautiful. We ate at Mango Reef on premises a bunch of times and were never disappointed. The gym is tiny but they have the basics. The hotel offers a shuttle ($9 per person) to the IGA food mart.There's a liquor store right outside the resort that you can walk to. The cabs can get pricey so if you think you'll be traveling alot out of the resort, rent a car. It will be cheaper. They drive on the opposite side of the road so it might take getting used to! There is also a small casino a couple of miles away. They'll pick you up at the hotel and drop you back off for free :) Try the half or full day boat tour with Caicos Dream Tours. You won't be disappointed!! I can't wait to visit again next year!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampton bays, ny
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

great spot on the beach. we stayed in a ground floor, garden view, pool view room. nice room, very large-full kitchen, one and a half baths, washer and dryer, pull out couch and nice table and chairs on the patio, which was large. Great A/C and shower. they are a time share/hotel and that's why the kitchen and washer/dryer. we didn't avail ourselves of either but being there only 4 days it wasn't an issue. that's the good thing about the time share/hotel combo. the bad was the best rooms, oceanfront, are not available. we were offered an upgrade for $100 extra a night, to a room with an ocean view, but after looking at it we decided to pass on the upgrade. If it were oceanfront we would have done it but not for a glimpse of the water. All that being said, we weren't there to hang out in the room. But if waterfront is what you are looking for try the Regent Palms next door. big money though.

The hotel is located on a spectacular beach, pure heaven. The water is clear and warm and such a cool blue color. You will never want to leave except to go eat at the great restaurants on providenciales.

The hotel has several bars and a good restaurant that's open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Really pleasant staff all around. Had one disappointing dinner reservation mess up with the concierge and didn't feel they were as helpful as they could have been. Otherwise people were cool and helpful.

Great pool-we used at night and after the beach each day.

We'll return here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We came to Turks and Caicos Islands (TCI) for the first time in 1994, at Club Med (Only a few hotels/resorts were built on Grace Bay, at that time.)
We came back almost every year and stayed at different new hotels/resorts which were opening.
One day, as we were walking on the beach, we saw the Alexandra Resort under construction. We bought a one-week ownership (time-share) in the Chelsea Building. We do not regret. (It has recently been completely renovated (state-of-the art decoration.)
Three other buildings have also been built with full hotel services.
Mango restaurant which was located in another resort on the Island is now part of Alexandra Resort. It is a very good and reasonably priced restaurant. We like to eat on premises once in a while during vacation but also experience other very good restaurants TCI has to offer. Alexandra Resort is a great place to stay. If you come once to TCI, you will probably come back... just like we do.

Room Tip: Rooms on any floor of the 2 ocean front buildings are great. If you stay in the other buildings, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexandra Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Resort

Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Grace Bay Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, The Alexandra offers the dream vacation of a lifetime; luxurious accommodations, warm friendly service, amazing oceanfront dining and a bevy of exciting activities. Understated luxury with a delightful Caribbean atmosphere, fantastic ocean views, powder white sand, international cuisine with island flair and so much more await you at this magnificent Turks and Caicos resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Expedia, Splendia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Alexandra Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Resort Providenciales
Alexandra Hotel Providenciales
Alexandra Resort Turks Caicos
Alexandra Turks Caicos
Alexandra Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.